We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just stayed 7 nights at the Banks Mansion -- two on my own and then 5 with my husband. It's a fabulous location -- walking distance to everything and on a lovely canal street. Our room (the x11 line) was very well sized; an L shape with one arm the bedroom area and the other holding a desk and chair, reading chair with lamp and wardrobe. We asked for a quiet room and so, those look out the back over rooftops. The all-inclusive was very nice. Great to come back after a long walk and have a glass of fruit water (or coffee, tea, beer, soft drinks, liquor....) and a snack. Drinks and dried/fruit nuts in the rooms also complementary. Internet service (included) was easy to access and consistent. Breakfast had so many choices I never was bored. The staff is very nice and put us on to a good day trip (Waterland on-off bus for 10 Euros) and some good restaurants (though they don't always suggest, some people do). Unless you want a very formal hotel, I don't think you could do better than Banks-Mansion.

Room Tip: Ask them specifically what you want (I wrote an e-mail to them) and they'll give it to you or te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very, very much for writing this great review about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is absolutely wonderful to read that you have enjoyed your full-week-stay with us so much; the quiet and well sized room, the full service concept with the drinks and snacks in the room and the Living and WiFi all through the hotel. And how nice to hear that you never were bored in the breakfast room with its live cooking; enough choices for seven mornings!
It is great to hear that you have enjoyed the Waterland area; it is a nice countryside area close to Amsterdam, and very easy to explore by bus!

Thank you again for your lovely review, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,079
    276
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
788
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel has a number of things going for it like the location and free stuff as others have said. Staff could not have been better like helping with a room request or with restaurant suggestions. I just expected a little nicer looking place for $340 a night. It was a bit worn and needed a face lift. As I have not stayed in other Amsterdam hotels perhaps I'm not being fair but the three hotels we booked in Germany were all nicer and cheaper. You're paying a premium for the location I guess.
Speaking of paying a premium, DO NOT plan on getting some laundry done at this place. It cost us over 100 euros (twice what the river cruise folks charged us) to get some items cleaned. A T-shirt was 5.75 euro & a nightgown was 9.00! We had no choice as we were in need of the service. Come to find out there is a cleaners out the front door to the right less than a block away.
When I checked in I requested a room in the back as I thought the street noise level might keep us awake. They were happy to comply and it was a very quiet room. I think they only have two per floor so request it early.
We were arriving from Germany by car and I had the smart idea of dropping off my wife and the bags at the hotel before taking the car back to the Avis office a few blocks away. Dumb idea! It was the first nice day in a while and the entire town was out walking, biking, sailing, driving or otherwise hanging out. I'd have to say those few blocks were the worst driving experience of my life. Just take the car back to the airport and take a cab.

Room Tip: Get one in the back off the street and off the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you much for your review over your stay with us. We appreciate when guests take the time to tell us about their stay and we are happy to hear that the you felt that the staff took care of you. That is something that we pride ourselves at in our hotel, making our guests feel as comfortable and at home as possible so that they can focus all their energy on relaxing in our Living area with the complimentary drinks and appetizers in the bar whilst making use of the free Wi-Fi.

The interior décor of the Banks Mansion is inspired by the American architect Frank Lloyd Wright and the Dutch architect Berlage. We understand that taste is very personal and thank you for sharing your views.

Guests in our hotel can make use of our laundry service by handing in their laundry in the morning and having receiving it back in the evening to their room. Our sympathies that you felt that way about the laundry prices, however, our prices are based on benchmark prices for Amsterdam hotels. But of course, the more items one hands in for laundry, the higher the price will be.

As a hotel located in the heart of Amsterdam, all our windows are equipped with double-glazed windows so that the sound pollution from the surrounding city will be minimal.

We thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel for your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

After travelling in to Amsterdam by train from the airport we decided to walk to the hotel as it was a beautiful afternoon. This took about 20 minutes and we found the hotel easily even though it was our first visit to Amsterdam. The building is very attractive from the outside and the area it is in, the grachtengirdle, is lovely. The canals are lined with georgeous canal houses and warehouses that have been converted into appartments, shops, bars, restaurants museums etc.
We entered the hotel to be greeted by the very friendly staff on reception, who speak perfect English like everyone else who we met while there. We were quickly booked in and then given a quick tour of the 'Living' area and an explanation of the hotel's 'Concept'. We were in room 410 and found it to be a decent size and very comfortable. We were on the side of the hotel so only had a partial view of the canal, but the room had everything you could need and the bed itself was extremly comfortable, there is also a pillow menu. We received a call from reception asking if everything was ok and were pleased to be able to say yes.
The hotel's concept is that everything is included in the price of your stay. The wonderful breakfast buffet, with eggs cooked fresh for you by the two lovely ladies with the frying pan. The decanters of whisky, gin and cognac in your room, the contents of your mini-bar, hot drinks are available from a machine in the 'Living' area all day, you can help yourself to cold water, soft drinks and beer from the fridges all day. There are also sweets, chocolates and biscuits out all day. At 4pm the wine is put out for you to serve yourself, then at 5pm a trolley is brought out with various cheeses, salami and pates etc. Along with the various spirits available the temptation is very strong to stay in the hotel all evening, but there is so much to see and so many lovely restaurants, bars etc in the area that this would be a shame. We really enjoyed our three night stay and would return here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are very grateful for your review! Thank you for the compliments towards the staff; the ‘two lovely ladies serving breakfast’ and the ‘friendly staff on reception’ were happy to hear your lovely words. It is great to read that you have enjoyed so many features of our home, away from home concept; the breakfast buffet with live cooking, decanters and minibar in your room, drinks and appetizers in the Living.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of Banks Mansion; which made it easy for you to explore the city. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Thanks again for your great review!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Quick check in followed up with a phone call from reception checking if we were happy with everything. Room was a good size and very clean. Had gin, whiskey and cognac free in our room. Also soft drinks and beer in the fridge. Good coffee machine too. Tea and chocolate would have been a nice touch too. Only negative point is we were on the street side so could here traffic and trams although it did stop around midnight. Bed was quite comfortable and pillow menu nice touch. Complimentary cheese and wine at 5 each night was great with a good choice of cheeses and drinks. Reception was a chilled place to hang out, have a drink and use the provided iPads.
Breakfast was delicious with freshly made eggs and an excellent choice of foods. Location was central between Dam Square and Rembrandt Plein.

Room Tip: Street room had traffic noise until after midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for this great review! We appreciate it very much that you have taken the effort to write about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is nice to read that you have enjoyed the many features of our ‘home, away from home’ full service concept. The phone call to the room after check-in, the complementary drinks in the Living and in your private mini-bar, the comfortable beds and extensive pillow menu, all the fresh local products at our ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant and the free use of iPads during your stay!
We would be happy to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the near future, and please give us your preference of a quiet room then, so we can do our utmost best to give you one of the more quiet rooms!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

great location, friendly service, cousy athmosphere and perfect details. breakfast includes everything you can wish for, rooms are nice with a big beautiful bathroom and bathtub. all included works well: wifi, breakfast, minibar and snack at lobby. we'll come again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guests,

Already reading the heading of your review made our day! We really appreciate your short and snappy, great review. Thank you for taking the time to write these great words. We would be happy to welcome you back in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good location. Various worthy restaurants within short walking distance. Wide assortment continental breakfast. Most comfortable beds we've encountered. Friendly desk and room services provided rapidly. Lounge area with coffee, juices, beir, alcohols, and cheese spread (various times of day) was an excellent benefit. We will return here to be certain.

Room Tip: request high floor as street is quiet noisy especially on weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed many aspects of our ‘full-service concept’ like the complementary drinks in the Living, thought the beds are most comfortable and visited some great restaurants close to Banks Mansion.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights along with two other couples - plenty of accolades from the group. Very personalized check in followed by call to room to make sure everything was OK. Housekeeping to laundry service - perfect. Serve yourself Happy Hour with complementary drinks and appetizers. Hot buffet breakfast, white tablecloths, eggs cooked to order and pancakes. Front desk handled concierge services (restaurant recommendations and reservations top notch) along with tickets to local museums and canal "bus" boats. Great location with quiet, air conditioned rooms. I would definitely stay here again. Only one caveat - the water temperature in the large shower in our room was a bit erratic and showering required a degree of caution.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Already reading the heading of your review made our day and reading your review cheers up all my colleagues and myself even more! It is the goal of all the staff at Banks Mansion to provide our guests an ultimate unlimited hospitality experience. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed all aspects of this hospitality provided – by Housekeeping, Breakfast staff and Guest Relations Officers providing Concierge services at the desk. Thank you very, very much for writing this great review!

We will be looking forward to have you again as our guest at Banks Mansion!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.