We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Banks Mansion is a winner. It's situated in an ideal location for walking everywhere. The most unique part of the hotel is its amenities. The included breakfast is incredible; there are eggs to order rather than the pasty scrambled eggs you get as part of most hotel breakfasts, extremely thin pancakes cooked in front of you that are "to die for" - more like crepes than the thick pancakes in the U.S. - fruit, a variety of breads, yogurt, cheese, herring or smoked salmon, cereal, juices, and breakfast meats. You select the type of coffee you want from a magical machine that does it all - regular, espresso, cappuccino, etc. The other amenity is the free appetizers and drinks. At 5:00 there is a table in the lobby filled with delicious cheeses and meats, as well as a selection of drinks that include wine, prosecco, beer, liquors, soda, juice, and sparkling and plain water - not to mention candies, sweets, nuts, chips, and salsa. After a long day of sightseeing, it was delightful to return to the hotel to snack and drink and discuss the day's events with other guests. While we were there, there was a contest regarding the best hotel in Amsterdam, and the Banks Mansion was one of three finalists. Several of the guests, including us, posed in special T-shirts, and ended up as part of a poster advertising this event.

The hotel staff are young, charming, and most knowledgeable about their city. They went out of their way to be hospitable and helpful.

The only problem I had with the hotel, and why I only gave it a 4 rather than a 5, was the lack of light in the bedroom. It was very difficult to apply make-up in the bathroom as there was only one small "high hat" above the sink. The bedroom had many lamps, but even with all of them on, the room could not be illuminated properly. There was also only one piece of tiny soap in the bathroom each day, rather than one for the shower and one for the sink. When I asked for additional soap, it was brought to the room immediately.

Our room, 310, had two extremely comfortable twin beds and the most cozy feather comforters. Even though our room overlooked a busy street with trams and buses, the windows kept the noise out. Our large windows opened up for a side view of the Herengracht Canal, which is lined with beautiful, elegant townhouses.

We had friends staying at the hotel with us and they loved it, as did all the other guests. I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guests,

Thank you very, very much for your great review! It gives us great joy to read that you, your partner and friends have absolutely enjoyed all features of our full service concept – the breakfast including the live-cooking, all appetizers and drinks in the Living, the cheese table during the afternoon and evening in the Living, to name a few – you have described it all just perfectly! We are sorry to hear that you thought the room was not illuminated properly, but we are happy to hear that you did like your room regarding the view, bedding and quietness.
Thank you once again for your willingness to help us with our Dutch Hotel Award campaign! We can proudly say that we have achieved the Silver Award of the Dutch Hotel Award 2013 – thanks to all our supportive guests!

We are happy to have given you a great stay, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
784
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you really want to enjoy Amsterdam, this is the perfect place. Just near the canal you walk directly in the lovely "Nine Streets" area with its special stores and nice terasses. You can rent the scooter of the hotel and see all the parks and different hot spots. If you want to take a rest, you can go for a pitstop at the lobby of the hotel and have a drink and something small to eat. All service of the hotel. THE perfect hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guests,

It is absolutely great to notice that you took the time to write this review, a year after you have stayed with us. We are absolutely grateful to hear that you haven’t forgotten about Banks Mansion! Thank you very much for that! We have changed our scooters into special wooden bikes by now; hopefully you will visit Amsterdam again in the near future, so you can experience a typical Amsterdam bike ride on our wooden bikes.

We are looking forward to be of your service again !


With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We just checked in, but i must say everything has exceded our expectations. The staff could not be more accamodating. The location is perfect. The amenities included in the room price are on par with a five star hotel. Thrilled we chose the Banks Mansion

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear thrilled guests,

We are delighted to hear that you already wrote a review just after checking in! Thank you for your great compliments regarding your exceeded expectations, the staff, all the amenities included in our ‘full service concept’ and for rating us a five star hotel!

We hope you have enjoyed the continuation of your stay, and we would be happy to be of your service once again!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Amsterdam and I ended up getting to stay in this amazing hotel with the canal right beside the hotel. So charming. The location is perfect. Totally central just around the corner from the floating flower market. You can easily walk to the major museums. Lots of cafe's within walking distance. The staff is excellent. Breakfast is included both cold and hot items. Also beer, pop, wine and hard liquor available in room and in the lobby at no charge :) coffee maker in the room for when you first wake up. Also appy's served in the lobby starting at 5pm. The hotel even has a DVD library that you can borrow from and watch in your room on the DVD player which is provided. The hotel is expensive but comparable to hotel prices in Europe and well worth the cost.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear enthusiastic guest,

What a wonderful review! You just made our day! This review totally explains our full-service concept; we are absolutely delighted to hear that you have enjoyed all the aspects of it!

We are truly looking forward to your next stay at Banks Mansion.

With warm & kind regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and loved it

The hotel is gorgeous, rooms are fantastic and the service is amazing.

All drinks are inclusive (which is a welcome addition)

I would love to stay here again, but it is a bit more pricey than our normal hotels for weekends away

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Honeymoon guests,

Just a few words made us smile from ear to ear! Thank you for this great short and snappy review. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your honeymoon at Banks Mansion. We hope to be welcoming you again in the near future – maybe for an anniversary!

With warm regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Banks Mansion hotel is well located in the city canter at Herengracht. You can explore all the hot spots from there walking in no more than 20 minutes.
I is a corner building at a lively area with quite some traffic, but the windows are well isolated so the noise is not disturbing. The problem is to find a parking. Probably like anywhere else in Amsterdam parking is really an expensive issue. For one day you spend 45 € for parking in the street and it is the same on weekends. The hotel doesnt offer any reserved parking or any help.
Inside the hotel is charming, the lobby is equipped with comfy seating and a bar that is at self service and without extra payment and it offers all brands of liquors as well as wine and coffee and tee. No cheap junk as you would expect in a inclusive one but really good stuff. In the afternoon they offer a variation of cheeses and sausages with bread, a good starter before going out for dinner.
The service is friendly and fast. The rooms are absolutely 4 star, nothing to complain. Even the minibar is included and you find a plate with Gin, Whiskey and Cognac in your room, as well for free. we didnt even touch it, by the way...
One minus i the breakfast room in the basement which is for sure due to the small building sizes in Amsterdam. But this has been neutralized by the lady preparing any kind of eggs in the front cooking. It is really a pleasure to watch her cooking...and the result is gratd.

All in all a great place, a bit pricey but thats everywhere in Amsterdam...

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a higher floor and possibly not towards the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very, very much for taking the time to write this review. It gives us happiness to read that you have enjoyed all the different features which are part of our full-service and “home-away-from-home” concept; the high quality brands liquors included. Parking in Amsterdam indeed is expensive, but we would be happy to order a less expensive ‘Valet Parking’ for you next time you will be in Amsterdam, or we can show you the P&R parking places just outside the city centre, where you can park your car for just a few euros, including a ticket for the public transport to come back to the centre. Thank you for the nice compliment for our ‘lady’ in the kitchen preparing your fresh eggs every day, we will share your kind words with her!

We hope to be of service to you again during a next visit! We are looking forward to it!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed in the same room as Regina F and would agree with majority of what she says. However the hotel may well have taken note of her comments about healthy breakfast options as there was a plentiful supply of muesli, yoghourt, fresh fruit salad and pieces of fruit. They also cook fresh omlettes, scrambled or fried eggs and french toast all of which is very tasty. The view over the Herengracht from our room was delightful especially as trees were shedding their blossom onto the canal. The hotel is situated on the so-called Golden section of the canals and they are indeed worth strolling along just to marvel at the different styles of houses. Look out for the old houses that lean forward to allow goods to be lifted to upper floors via the hooks at the top as the staircases are too narrow to use for this. The hotel is also literally a couple of minutes form Rembrandstplein with the wonderful sculptures in the middle and the flower market.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guests,

It is very enjoyable to read that you really have experienced Amsterdam – you know about the Golden section of the Herengracht, the old houses with the hooks at the tops, you have seen the wonderful sculptures at the Rembrandt square – it gives us great joy to hear you have had such great time! And of course we are also delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We indeed listen to our guests, to get to know what they like about Banks Mansion, but also to hear what they would like to add to our service; we always are working on improvements!

Thanks again for your great review. We would be happy to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the near future!

With warm and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.