We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Unique and Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Banks Mansion's way of differentiating itself is what they call all-inclusive. What this actually means is no charge for Internet, a very full breakfast, mini-bar, coffee in the room or lobby, or drinks in the room or lobby. This includes wine, beer, and hard liquor. We have never seen this before, nothing even close in an urban, upscale boutique hotel. To put this in context, I worked most of my career in the resort industry and we have stayed in hundreds of hotels in dozens of countries. The lobby area is set up as a living room to encourage guests to hang out. A nice appetizer serving in the late afternoon reinforces the concept. All in all a great concept, more like a cruise than a hotel. The room was spacious and nicely finished. The bed and linens were comfy and top quality. The service standard was truly exceptional: the very hard to achieve combination of high efficiency with warmth and friendliness. My hat is off to the manager. Almost forgot to mention that the location is fabulous. It is on the most upscale Amsterdam canal within walking distance of major sites and tons of restaurants and shopping. All in all, you could spend a lot more and get a lot less in a hotel. Hard to imagine a better choice in Amsterdam. We spent five nights and it was not long enough.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guests,

What an enormous treat to read you review. Nothing but positive notes on your stay at Banks Mansion. Thank you very much for taking the effort of writing this. How great that you have enjoyed all the great features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept, which you have never experienced before in any of the hotels in the world you have worked for or stayed in.
How relaxing to read that you agree the beds and linen are comfortable and of top quality, for a perfect night sleep.
Overall a big ‘thank you’ from all the staff of Banks Mansion for all the great compliments toward them; we are delighted to hear that you believe we achieved in the combination of high efficiency with warmth and friendliness. These words make us love our jobs even more!

We are already looking forward to be welcoming you again in the near future!

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    952
    245
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
109
663
76
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a 5 nights stay at this hotel. Room was a bit small and was a deluxe room (#104) but had everything we needed. Despite being in a corner, we didn't have problems with noise. The all inclusive system was very pleasant and convenient. There is an ice machine in the floor which we used a lot to cold the beers. If you prefer, you can have other types of drinks, such as prosecco, wines, brandy, whisky, cokes.... either on the ground floor or in your own room. All drinks are freely served with choices of cheeses and other kind of apetizers. The front desk people are very nice and helpfull. The location is magnific, close to everything. The hotel is right in the middle of the Dam plein and Van Gogh Museum, so you can go to everywhere just walking. There is several trams very close to the hotel and a fantastic japanese restaurant crossing the street. The weak point is the breakfast. At least for brazilians, who are not used to eat bacon, mushroom, sausage, smoked salmon and eggs for breakfast, there are few healthy options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Brazilian guests,

It is fantastic to read that your enjoyed your stay so much and that you have written this fantastic review about it! Thank you for taking this effort. We are happy to have given you this great hospitality experience. It is also great that your enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many great restaurants, museums and many other world renown hotspots of Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed all the complementary drinks and appetizers in the Living, as well as in your canal view room. We hope you have enjoyed our daily fresh fruit for breakfast!

We are looking forward to be of service again during your next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With warm & kind regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Mother/Daughter trip May 6 - May 12, 2013. Arrived at 9am to a fantastic staff, who informed us there would be a slight wait for our room (check in wasn't until 3pm), settled us into "The Living" where we helped ourselves to the coffee, soda, water, beer, snacks, etc until the room was ready..at 10am!!! WOW! That doesn't happen very often! ALL of the staff were pleasant, helpful, and cheerful..they really seemed to love their jobs, and I feel that my Mom and I had a better experience due to their eagerness to please. Excellent location to trams, city center, restaurants, and city sites! The rooms are European in size (smaller than American hotels), but well equipped, and very, very clean. The food in the breakfast area was amazing, with hot breakfasts cooked to order, as well as the amazing meats, cheeses, breads, and croissants! Cannot recommend this hotel enough...it's more expensive than some, but the overall experience was well worth it. I could go on, but...this was a special treat for my Mom, and the Banks Mansion did not let me down!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher, canal view room away from the main street to avoid the tram sounds at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Mother and Daughter guests,

Reading you review created a giant smile on our faces. This makes being of service to our guests great! With our full-service concept and the care and interest of our staff we are striving to make you feel at home, while you are on vacation; it sounds like we have achieved this during your visit as a special treat for Mom! It is a joy to have given you the ultimate total hospitality experience at Banks Mansion!

We hope to be of as much service to you, when you visit us again in the (near) future.

With warm regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

13 - 15th May 2013

My husband and I had a two night,three day stay in Amsterdam. Arrived early and the room was ready, reception staff were lovely, really helpful and pleasant. The hotel is in an excellent location with trams just along the road and everything within a short walk.
The room was very comfortable, lovely hot shower after a day of sightseeing. Fridge with complimentary drinks, safe and a choice of pillows. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and the freshly made scrambled egg was spot on!
The lounge area was great and because of the location of the hotel when we started to flag in an afternoon you could pop back and put your feet up for an hour and have a drink, use the free wifi and have a nibble or two before you set off again.
On last day, flights were not until the evening, hotel more than happy to look after our bags until later that day. The staff also said to carry on using the lounge area, which was nice.
Would highly recommend this hotel, it is worth paying a little bit more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guests,

How wonderful to read through your review! Thank you so much for that! It is great to read that you enjoyed our special concept, the “home, away from home” concept! With all its features, just to give you as a guest the feeling like you are at home; all the complementary drinks, as well in the room as in our Living, the cheese table, the pillow-menu in the room, free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel and the use of iPads!
Thanks a lot for your kind words about our reception staff, it is their pleasure to make your stay a memorable one!

We would be very grateful to welcome you again at Banks Mansion the next time you will visit Amsterdam.

With warm and kind regards,
Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World Traveller
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A very good central Amsterdam hotel, right on a busy corner. Good double glazing so no real noise problem if you keep the windows closed.

Get a room overlooking the canal and away from the main street if possible,

Overall excellent service, clean rooms and helpful staff. All to be recommended.
Pricey (as all centre city hotels are), and the rooms are quite small, but perfectly appointed.

Well worth a stay if you want a central city position. I also stayed at the canal house which was away from the busy main roads, and I must admit this suited me much better as a very light sleeper. But Banks Mansion must be congratulated on their excellent customer service !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate it very much that you have taken some time to write these great complements for us! It is a treat to read that you have enjoyed the location of Banks Mansion, your room with double glazing overlooking the beautiful canal of the Herengracht and the service of our Guest Relations Officers and the Housekeeping Staff who made sure your rooms were clean every day. Every day we do our utmost best to help our guests enjoy their stay to the max; so we are very grateful to hear that you have enjoyed our customer service!

We hope to be able make you experience the total hospitality experience of Banks Mansion again during your next visit in the (near) future.

With indulged and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a 2 night/3 day break in Amsterdam staying in the Banks Mansion Hotel. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and thought the staff were lovely, particularly Nancy at reception and the lady who cooked your eggs at breakfast time! The staff were all friendly and welcomed you with a smile when they saw you. The hotel is in a good location, close to everything, which makes it great to walk about and take in all the sights. (eg 20 mins walk from central station, 15 mins walk to the musem district, 10 minute walked to the Jordaan district, 20 min walk to Ann Frank house etc). The breakfast is good with a nice choice of breads, cheeses, meat, fish, cooked eggs etc. The complementary drinks in the lobby of the hotel is a nice concept too after a tiring day of walking around. My only tip would be to take ear plugs with you as the hotel is situated on a busy road with trams passing outside. However, earplugs did the trick and we were not disturbed by the traffic! Would recommend this hotel and would come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guests,

We are happy to have given you this fine experience in, thank you for writing a review about it! It is a treat for us to read that all the aspects of our hotel were joyful to you; the smiling and caring staff, the complementary drinks in the Living as well as in your room, the breakfast buffet as well as the live-cooking in the breakfast restaurant and the location in the middle of the centre.

Thank you for the outstanding compliments towards Nancy and the lady who cooked your eggs, these are received with great honor!

We hope to be able make you experience the total hospitality experience of Banks Mansion again during your next visit in the (near) future, with earplugs!

With indulged and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early May, very good experience. Staff was super helpful, made reservations and recommendations, had a nice packet of materials for us upon arrival. Room was fairly compact but adequate (room 206), corner room overlooking both the canal and the street, fairly small but perfectly adequate bathroom. Very quiet, great bedding. Breakfast is included, as are drinks and snacks in the evening, even had gin, etc in the room! Free decent wifi. Great location, one block from Flower Market and Rembrandt Square, midway between museum district and Jordann/Anne Frank House. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for you lovely review. It is joyful to read that you have enjoyed the proximity of Banks Mansion to all great hotspots, squares and museums of Amsterdam. Our Guest Relations Officers are always happy to help you with making reservations or providing any other service to make sure you can enjoy Amsterdam to the max! Next to that is it great that all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept were appealing to you; the complementary drinks in our Living as well as in your private mini-bar and breakfast service in our breakfast room with live-cooking.

We hope we can be welcoming you again when you return to hotel Banks Mansion in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Estsher Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.