We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a lovely hotel to stay at. The area is delightful and the canal side setting is very pretty. Staff are all very friendly and helpful. The charming receptionist phoned housekeeping to see if we could get our room early and we were able to get it around 13.30.

The room was pleasant and the complimentary drinks are nice to have, especially the water/soft drinks. We didn’t use the spirits in the room but enjoyed the Nespresso coffee.
We were in a room on the top floor as our request for a quiet room on a high floor was met in full. It was quiet, although you could open the window and that made it a bit noisier with trams down below.
The lounge concept is great. I loved chilling there with a cup of tea or coffee and a magazine, and again later for wine and cheeses. We had our own ipads so didn’t use the hotel ones, but loved having wifi. Used the hotel computer to book and print out tickets for the Rijksmuseum.

Breakfast in the basement was very pleasant – again staff were lovely and always asked if we would like something more before breakfast ended. I loved the dark breads – rye etc and the cumin cheese.The room service is sushi so don’t expect the normal burgers/club sandwich type of menu.

Lots of nice traditional type bars around eg Café Heuval on Spiegalstraat and Café Mulder on Weteringschans near the Heineken brewery and Café Zwart on Spui.We also liked Myrabelle on Vijzelgracht. Just a few mins from Rembrandtplein for more touristy bars.

We have been to Amsterdam every year for the last 11 years and this was the first time that we didn’t bother to go into the centre/Dam Square/red light district. Visited the Museum Willet-Holthuysen just down from the hotel on Herengracht which we enjoyed. The Hermitage is also close, but we will save that for another trip.

Loved the atmosphere on Sunday, which was a lovely sunny day, and all the Amsterdamers who had boats seemed to get them out and were having lovely picnics (many with champagne) on the canals

All in all we enjoyed this hotel enough to rebook for next January!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very, very much for your great review. How enjoying to read all the good things written about Banks Mansion. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed all aspects of our full-service concept; the Nespresso coffee in the room, wine and cheeses in the Living, the local breads and cheeses in the breakfast Kitchen and the WiFi all through the hotel. And it is great the read that you have enjoyed the proximity to many great hotspots in Amsterdam! The Hermitage is definitely worth visiting next time you are in Amsterdam, and maybe you will have some great evenings in the bars you mentioned again in January!
One more big thank you for your great review; we are already looking forward for next January to welcome you back!

With kind and warm regards,

Esther Boers

General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    953
    245
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
109
663
76
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Me and my best friend spent a night at Banks Mansion and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is well located near the canal ring, museum district and Rembrandt Square.
We chose the hotel as we were looking for somewhere in the heart of the city, with a touch of luxury and that is exactly what we got.
We arrived early, before we could check in, but the staff were very helpful and let us leave our bags in the luggage area, so that we could spend the day exploring the city.
When we returned, our luggage had been taken up to our room.
Ludwig on the front desk explained that the bar in the lounge area was complimentary.
There was a wide range of beverages including tea, coffee, wine, beer, spirits, soft drinks, as well as light snacks of cheese, salami and bread.
The room was spacious, with a fantastic bathroom, toiletries and a waterfall shower.
There was also complimentary cognac, whisky and gin in the rooms as well.
Breakfast was a delightful buffet, a great choice of bread, cheese, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, and freshly made omelettes and eggs cooked to order.
While the hotel is a little more expensive than some of the other hotels in the city, it is well worth paying a bit more given that it is in easy walking distance from all of the tourist attractions and the service is second to none.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Amsterdam, and I would stay here again on a return visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear guests,

We appreciate your lovely review! Thank you for that! It is great to read that you have enjoyed you stay and all its features at Banks Mansion! The complementary coffee, tea, soda’s, liquors, beers and wine in out Living. But also the snacks, cheese, sausages and complementary candies in this area. We are very happy hearing you say that you would recommend this hotel to any one travelling to Amsterdam, then we have succeeded in our mission!

We hope to be welcoming you again in the future!

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Situated in a lovely area near the canal ring. Very easy to get everywhere - Rembrant square, flower market, but not so close to the chaos of Dam Square. Loved the concept of a complimentary mini-bar and donwstairs bar. Very civilised. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear stylish guests,

We are very grateful for your review. Thank you for all the complements and it is very good to read that you have enjoyed so many of the features of our home, away from home concept.

Thank you for the recommendation to others and we hope to be of service again when you return to Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our first time in Banks Mansion. It has a great location and friendly service. The hotel has a special system where drinks and snacks are included. We were upgraded to a Suite which made our stay even nicer. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The Suite or Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guests,
Even a few sentences can already enlighten our day! It is joyful to read that you have enjoyed the location and features at Banks Mansion. A big thank you from all of our staff, we appreciate the compliment about their friendliness.

How great that the free upgrade to one of our suites has even added more value to your stay.

We hope to be of service to you again when you visit Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Banks Mansion is in a central area within the canal district halfway between the train station and the Heineken factory. It is a block or so from the popular Rembrandt square as well as the flower market. Although it is close to all these things, it also has a quiet homely feel to it.

The Banks Mansion prides itself on its all inclusive offering. They have an exceptional breakfast served in the morning with a station to make omelets and any type of eggs you would like, pancakes. They have sausage and bacon and meats and cheeses as well as different fruit. You also have all day access to as much beer, wine and liquor you would like in the main lobby and free drinks and snacks in the rooms as well. The drinks in the mini bar being free was nice. snacks are fairly limited in the room. They also have three different types of liquor in the room. I believe it was cognac, gin and vodka. In the evening they also put out a meat and cheese platter in the lobby. They also have a computer with a printer available and iPads scattered throughout the lobby for use my guests.

The room was great, clean and comfortable and they had a great rain shower in the bathroom with a steam option from a vent in the shower. It was unique and another great small thing about the Banks Mansion.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful at all times and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest of Banks Mansion,

Reading your review gives my colleagues and me a big smile on our faces. It gives us happiness to read that you have enjoyed all the different features which are part of our full-service and “home-away-from-home” concept. Our most important target is to make a guest feel as special as possible, and we are happy that we did for you!
What a great compliment towards all staff of Banks Mansion, thank you for this gratitude! We hope to be welcoming you once again when you visit the great city of Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

All about location and excellent service. The hotel is located in the canal ring and 50 meters from the tram stop. Very easy to achieve with luggage from central station.
The staff is amazing. They try really hard to get all you need. I had a problem with a flight that was cancelled and they helped me a lot. I'd like to thank Paul and Ludwig in special.
I stayed in a canal view room (403). Very good option , good bed, quiet and great view.
The reception room with drinks and some food served all the time was a great plus. Excellent breakfast, also.
The only minus in my opinion is the bathroom. The water pression is not so good and it is pretty dark. Hard to shave with so little light.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you with the utmost gratitude and sincere appreciation for your great review. It is wonderful for my colleagues at Banks Mansion and myself to hear that you have enjoyed the stay to the full potential. A special thank you from Ludwig and Paul for your compliments towards them.

It is joyful to hear that you have enjoyed our full service concept: The open bar, the snacks and the live cooking in our breakfast restaurant.

We hope to be of service to you again, when you attend Banks Mansion in Amsterdam for you next visit.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend trip. The hotel is in a central location and very easy to get to via tram (with luggage) and walking distance from all key attractions.
The complimentary drinks were a nice change to pricey hotel bars and the living area was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and better than other hotels where we have paid considerably more.
The only small negative was the size of our room - with only a double bed it was a bit on the small side however this would not put us off staying again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this clear and great review! We appreciate you taking the effort and time to write something about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is great to read that you have enojyed so many of the features of our hotel. Due to the fact that we are a monumental building we are not able to rebuild much of the rooms, so some rooms may have different shapes and sizes than other rooms.

When you come back to Banks Mansion, we hope we can give you another great experience!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.