We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great stylish hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location, great stylish hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Situated in a lovely area near the canal ring. Very easy to get everywhere - Rembrant square, flower market, but not so close to the chaos of Dam Square. Loved the concept of a complimentary mini-bar and donwstairs bar. Very civilised. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear stylish guests,

We are very grateful for your review. Thank you for all the complements and it is very good to read that you have enjoyed so many of the features of our home, away from home concept.

Thank you for the recommendation to others and we hope to be of service again when you return to Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    881
    229
    45
    21
    16
See reviews for
97
607
72
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is our first time in Banks Mansion. It has a great location and friendly service. The hotel has a special system where drinks and snacks are included. We were upgraded to a Suite which made our stay even nicer. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: The Suite or Canal View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guests,
Even a few sentences can already enlighten our day! It is joyful to read that you have enjoyed the location and features at Banks Mansion. A big thank you from all of our staff, we appreciate the compliment about their friendliness.

How great that the free upgrade to one of our suites has even added more value to your stay.

We hope to be of service to you again when you visit Banks Mansion.

With kind & warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Banks Mansion is in a central area within the canal district halfway between the train station and the Heineken factory. It is a block or so from the popular Rembrandt square as well as the flower market. Although it is close to all these things, it also has a quiet homely feel to it.

The Banks Mansion prides itself on its all inclusive offering. They have an exceptional breakfast served in the morning with a station to make omelets and any type of eggs you would like, pancakes. They have sausage and bacon and meats and cheeses as well as different fruit. You also have all day access to as much beer, wine and liquor you would like in the main lobby and free drinks and snacks in the rooms as well. The drinks in the mini bar being free was nice. snacks are fairly limited in the room. They also have three different types of liquor in the room. I believe it was cognac, gin and vodka. In the evening they also put out a meat and cheese platter in the lobby. They also have a computer with a printer available and iPads scattered throughout the lobby for use my guests.

The room was great, clean and comfortable and they had a great rain shower in the bathroom with a steam option from a vent in the shower. It was unique and another great small thing about the Banks Mansion.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful at all times and I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else when I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear guest of Banks Mansion,

Reading your review gives my colleagues and me a big smile on our faces. It gives us happiness to read that you have enjoyed all the different features which are part of our full-service and “home-away-from-home” concept. Our most important target is to make a guest feel as special as possible, and we are happy that we did for you!
What a great compliment towards all staff of Banks Mansion, thank you for this gratitude! We hope to be welcoming you once again when you visit the great city of Amsterdam and Banks Mansion.

With sincere and kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

All about location and excellent service. The hotel is located in the canal ring and 50 meters from the tram stop. Very easy to achieve with luggage from central station.
The staff is amazing. They try really hard to get all you need. I had a problem with a flight that was cancelled and they helped me a lot. I'd like to thank Paul and Ludwig in special.
I stayed in a canal view room (403). Very good option , good bed, quiet and great view.
The reception room with drinks and some food served all the time was a great plus. Excellent breakfast, also.
The only minus in my opinion is the bathroom. The water pression is not so good and it is pretty dark. Hard to shave with so little light.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you with the utmost gratitude and sincere appreciation for your great review. It is wonderful for my colleagues at Banks Mansion and myself to hear that you have enjoyed the stay to the full potential. A special thank you from Ludwig and Paul for your compliments towards them.

It is joyful to hear that you have enjoyed our full service concept: The open bar, the snacks and the live cooking in our breakfast restaurant.

We hope to be of service to you again, when you attend Banks Mansion in Amsterdam for you next visit.

With kind regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend trip. The hotel is in a central location and very easy to get to via tram (with luggage) and walking distance from all key attractions.
The complimentary drinks were a nice change to pricey hotel bars and the living area was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and better than other hotels where we have paid considerably more.
The only small negative was the size of our room - with only a double bed it was a bit on the small side however this would not put us off staying again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for this clear and great review! We appreciate you taking the effort and time to write something about your stay at Banks Mansion. It is great to read that you have enojyed so many of the features of our hotel. Due to the fact that we are a monumental building we are not able to rebuild much of the rooms, so some rooms may have different shapes and sizes than other rooms.

When you come back to Banks Mansion, we hope we can give you another great experience!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This Hotel was was just wonderful.
The location could not be better. It is a comfortable walk to almost anywhere in the City you wish to go.
The lobby is cozy and comfortable.
It is a great place to gather at the end of the day.
The Hotel Staff are outstanding and extremely help and accommodating.
The rooms are modern and spotless.
They are on the smaller side, which is what one would expect from a European city Hotel.
Breakfast is included in the rate and there is a very good variety from which to choose.

Room Tip: If you are not used to city noises or are a light sleeper, do not take a Canal Front Room. In fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the effort of writing one. We are happy that the hotel was joyful to you and that you liked all the features of our ‘home, away from home’ concept. Your compliments about the hotel staff are received with great smiles on our faces.

We hope to be welcoming you again in the (near) future.

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there last autumn . Perfect location, very effective all over service, clean and modern, well equiped .The concierge services are knowledgable and they also sell tickets for various atractions, which makes life easier .The breakfast is mostly satisfing and the free coffee/tea /beverages in the lobby is more than welcome. Also the idea of free minibar is genious.The price is not cheap but definitely not overpriced for the quality . Loved every moment and shall be back on our next visit in Amsterdam.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther B, General Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Wow, you have created huge smiles on our faces by writing this amazing review. Thank you very much for these great compliments about many of these great features that are part of Banks Mansion’s ‘Home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks in both the Living as in your private mini-bar, the ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant, the free use of iPads, hispeed wireless internet, Nespresso coffee machines and amazing rain showers. These were only a few parts of the concept!
We have printed out your review and all my colleagues would like to thank you for all the writings!

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion, to make your stay as great as your last one!

With warm regards,

Esther Boers
General Manager Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list