We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Jersey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“The only place to stay in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent 4 nights here as part of our honeymoon, so we treated ourselfs to a superior room for a little extra. The whole experiance of staying in the Banks Mansion we loved from the first minute, the friendly & welcoming service from the excellent staff.. the ""Full Service" option is a great idea... free coffee, tea, and drinks including wine & beer from 4pm, and the tasty to die for Dutch cheese & salami trolley that's wheeled out at 5pm... to enjoy in the foyer of the old bank in the sofa's and arm-chairs, with plenty of quality magizines to enjoy.
Our room itself looked over the main street, with big double doors that opened right up. A lovely en-suite bathroom with rainhead shower head was next door. The bed was very comfortable, with the all important pillow menu. The room also had a double wardrobe with a safe inside, large writing desk & complementry mini bar with soft drinks, water etc which was re-stocked on a daily basis.
The hotel is excellently situated right in the middle of Amsterdam on a corner of a main street with tram line & one of the main canal's of the city.
Breakfast is served in the basement with so much choice of food in a buffet arangement, with 2 helpfull chefs on hand to cook your eggs as you like them. Also complementry newspapers are available.
Just a perfect stay, and a place we will be back to someday..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

How wonderful that your honeymoon at Banks Mansion was a great experience for you! It is a good choice to stay in our Executive Canal View room, great bed, great pi great view, a the possibility to use a rain shower and the bathtub. Good to read that you have enjoyed the proximity of the hotel to many great hotspots, bars and restaurants of Amsterdam! A huge ‘Thank you’ from our chefs of the live-cooking breakfast restaurant for the compliments about the breakfast!

We are looking forward to have you as our guest again, so we can make sure that you will have another perfect stay!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    236
    48
    22
    16
See reviews for
111
675
79
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool / London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Do not look anywhere else to stay

The drinks are free, the breakfast is 10/10

The room ( 7) was fantastic

The service is 10/10

The internet is free

10/10

We have been Amsterdam many a time and stayed at vatious standard hotels. When we found Bank Mansions we knew we wouldnt stay anywhere else again and we havent

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear guests.

How great that your second stay was a good as the first one and above all, it is great that you have taken the time again to write such a fantastic review. We appreciate that very much!

We are already looking forward to your third visit at Banks Mansion!

With sincere and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend for a City Break to Amsterdam. It is on one of the canals, and it has a tram stop to Central Station near by. The staff were great. De Decor is mixed Edwardian/ Art Deco. The nice thing was that they had a free open bar in the reception and coffee machine area where they served caked; cheese and biscuits. And a full bar in the room with a decanter of Gin; Whisky and Vodka and all inclusive in the price. The breakfast was great, lots of selection and nice quality. It feels friendly when you are there, people milling round in the bar. Prices were moderate considering what it included. They were also very helpful when I had a slip and had to call a doctor and get him to the hotel. Overall very pleasant and I would definitely recommend it and stay again. The lift is rather slow, so be patient.

Room Tip: Canal side rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Each review written by one of our guests is very much appreciated! It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the atmosphere here in the hotel. I am very glad to see that we have been able to assist you with finding a doctor to come over and help you.

We hope to welcome you again here at Banks Mansion and that there will be no need of a doctor that time!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Banks Mansion in a canal view deluxe room. The room is "smallish" but was adequate for the two of us and our large suitcase -- if we were staying longer, we probably would have wanted a slightly larger room. The hotel itself is well-taken care of, the free drinks (alcohol and soft drinks) were wonderful when coming back from a long day of sightseeing, the WIFI worked wonderfully, and the included breakfast has been one of the better breakfasts I've had in Europe -- even including made-to-order omelets, eggs, and European-style crepes. It's in a good location, walking distance to the Bloemenmarkt as well as the Hermitage (or even the Museum of Bags and Purses right down the street), and it's easy to catch a tram or canal bus tour to other locations. The staff were quite helpful, checking us in early and also arranging tickets for a variety of museums, etc. All that said, I can only give it a "Very Good" because of the smaller size of the room vs. the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,

It is wonderful to read that you have enjoyed the different facilities offered by Banks Mansion. The Living is the central point of the hotel which gives you the opportunity to enjoy a well deserved drink and/or bite after a long day in the city! Therefore it is good to read that you made good use of it! The Guest Relations Officers will do their very best to make sure that you will have everything you need for a careless stay in Amsterdam!

We are looking forward to welcome you again sometime here at Banks Mansion.

Wtih warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Banks Masnsion is well located to walk to all the major sites in Amsterdam.The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, breakfast is very good although I am not keen on machine made tea and coffee, the rooms are of moderate size ,clean well appointed with really comfy beds and good linens.Public areas are in need of a re-furb and lift is a bit tempramental. The lounge or "home" area with free drinks -hot ,cold and alcoholic- and snacks in the afternoon is a great idea and the hot chocolate with Baileys was very welcome on a snowy December day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,

What a wonderful review on your stay here at Banks Mansion. Reading such a review brings a big smile on the faces of the Banks Mansion Team! The tempramental lift will receive a thorough renovation in January. We are looking forward to have you try the lift again during a possible visit in the near future.

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed at Banks Mansion for 7 nights on a personal business/holiday trip. It was awesome. Although the rooms are not big they are very comfortable and stylish. I have not slept so well away from home for a long time. The concept of this hotel, with breakfast, mini-bar, and food and drinks in the downstairs "living room" included in the room rate was also perfect for me. There was hardly a need to go out for a drink at night. This meant that the total cost of the trip was actually less than it would have been in a cheaper hotel without Banks Mansion's facilities. The location also suited me but I can imagine that the closeness of Rembrandtplein with its occasionally rowdy nightlife is not to everybody's taste. Also, although there are a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, there are only a few good ones. For really good and reasonably-priced food you do need to venture further afield. The hotel staff could not be faulted. I will definitely return here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first and third floor have large French windows which would be an advantage in summ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,

I am very satisfied to read that you have slept so well away from home here at Banks Mansion. It is very important to us that the guests here at Banks Mansion sleep well. Besides sleeping well the guests relations officers are there to make sure that your stay is one to remember!

We hope to be able to welcome you again in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Banks Mansion last month. While we did enjoy the living room concept and the generous breakfast, the hotel, itself, is a bit on the average side. The room was of a decent size, but not overly generous. The bathroom was also decent, but not anything as luxurious as some of the other reviews might lead you to believe. The hotel is a good, but not a great or luxury option; the bed, in particular, was not very comfortable. The hotel location is convenient to many of the tourist attractions, and our room was on the top floor, overlooking the canal, providing a lovely view. But, the location is on the fringe between the noisy tourist district and the more sedate, upscale district. Any closer to the tourist district, and the location would have been a definite negative. The living room is very fun, and we enjoyed the happy hours. However, some guests took advantage of the free food and beverages, making for a bit of an unpleasant experience and not quite as relaxing as it could be if "free" snacks were not at stake. Ask for a room facing the canal, and be sure to go into the more residential districts for a nice dinner and glass of wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Banks Mansion. We are very happy to read that you have had a good stay here in Amsterdam. I am glad to see that you made good use of the convenient location of Banks Mansion to go and explore all the touristic highlights!
We are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future and try to allocate you in a different room with a more comfortable bed. Maybe you could also make use of the pillow menu offered in the room, to see if one of the other pillows is more suitable for you.

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.