We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel Owners ranking Banks Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lewes, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Owners ranking Banks Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We rented two rooms for three nights. I flew in my 18 year-old daughter from D.C. to Schiphol as a surprise for my wife and oldest daughter. The Banks desk was very kind and accommodating for my personal request to keep an eye out for her and give her an early check in if possible. (Check out is 12 so this could be problematic. We know, believe me!) My youngest is an experienced traveler but flew in early that morning while we arrived in the afternoon from Barcelona. I knew she would be tired and it was her first trip to the netherlands. They were waiting for her and allowed her to check in at noon when the room was ready. It was clear they also coordinated with her on her surprise. It was a beautiful moment that could have been easily mucked up by a careless front desk.

The hotel's location speaks for itself. The staff was attentive and very polite and friendly. I met the owner in the elevator who immediately enquired as to how we liked the hotel. You have to love that. I never write reviews and I'm going to cut this one short. It's a terrific place run by great people. We will definitely stay there again. As a hotel designer I would have laid our bathroom out a tiny bit differently but that's about it. Most renovations in other hotels I would tear out and do over. The Banks Hotel got it right. You should stay there. The owner has also created an excellent value for the overall guest experience. That's my review.

The negative reviews I've seen are clearly outdated. One traveler tip for light sleepers from a Dutchman is try to stay off the lower floors, (0 & 1 European). The city is still working on the tram lines occassionally. If you're a New Yorker, forget about it! You won't hear a thing. It is the heart of one of the worlds great cities. There will be street noise.
Scott & Donna, owners of a #1 Tripadvisor ranked boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Amsterdam is loving it's trams right now. Bring earplugs if a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Wow! What a great review on your stay with your family here at Banks Mansion! We are very happy that the surprise organized by you for your wife and daughter worked out just fine! It is the goal of our Guest Relations Officers to make each stay of each guest one to remember! It is very satisfying to so many loving words in your review,

We are looking forward to welcome you and your familiy in the near future!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    345
    65
    28
    19
See reviews for
187
1,008
97
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Banks Mansion is probably my favorite hotel in the world. I think that they are just the tops of service, above and beyond any hotel I've ever been to. The front desk staff is superb. We have stayed in Amsterdam before at a very snobby hotel which made us continually think "Do we look like we're poor? Why are they treating us like we're slobs?" Banks Mansion was the complete opposite. Located right on a canal and within a very quick walk to loads of restaurants, shops and things to see, it's the perfect tourist jumping off location.

Highlights:
Open everything. Open bar in each room (holler!) and 24/7 in the hotel lobby (holler!). Coffee and tea, sodas and beer. Cute little snacks during the day (biscuits and biscotti, adorable little chocolates another time we popped in) and the highly prized 5 pm cheese. Sitting by the fire, eating cheese, sipping prosecco and eavesdropping on the Brits sitting near us, sigh... that's just lovely. Also, breakfast in the morning was lovely. Meats, cheese, fruit, eggs (prepared right in front of you!), more coffee based beverages. All included.

Our room, 408, was a deluxe double when I booked it on Expedia. It said that it didn't have a canal view, but joy of joys, we totally did!

One last note: I mentioned very briefly to one of the front desk guys that we were celebrating our anniversary and the next morning there was a handwritten note and a tray of chocolates in our room. Stop it. You guys are just too cute.

We will stay here each and every time we return to Amsterdam. You should too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for all your loving words in your review! The Banks Mansion team always strives to make your stay one to remember! The concept of the hotel is to experience a "home away from home" and therefore personalized service is one of our main goals. It brings great joy to read that you believe that Banks Mansion has gone above and beyond any other hotel!

We would love to welcome you once again into our "home away from home"!

With warm regards,

Joost Visser
Sales Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Banks Mansion.We had a room overlooking the front corner which was pretty
quiet. The room was a good size, very clean, lovely bedding and bathroom with bath and separate shower.
The breakfast room was well laid out with a comprehensive buffet, and a lovely lady who would cook eggs and
pancakes for you. Bacon was how I liked it, well done but not hard.
The all in concept was great. Breakfast, WiFi included; a free bar area with comfortable seats, great cheese
trolley in the afternoon, and decanters of spirits (which we did not use) plus soft drinks in the fridge, and a coffee
pod machine all in the room.
Location was central with trams outside the hotel and restaurants and bars within walking distance. Taxis could be ordered and were prompt.
But the hotel was matched by the staff. All were charming, friendly, nothing was too much trouble,
knowledgable.
A memorable stay, endorsed by the other couple we travelled with.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your amazing review,
We are very pleased that you took the time to give us this positive feed-back.
It is so good to hear that you enjoyed our ‘Home away from home’ concept with in all the extra’s like; complementary drinks in the Living, the cheese table witch you can use during you next stay . the drinks in your room, free WIFI internet in the hotel, free use of a i-Pad 2 and breakfast with life cooking.

Thank you for the compliment about the staff, we are always happy to help you and tell you everything about Amsterdam.

I Hope we can welcome you in the (near) future.

With warm regards,

Bonne van der Laan
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have just returned from a three night stay at Banks Mansion. We had booked an Executive Room and requested an early check in because our flight arrived at Schipol early morning. The hotel had said that they would try to accomodate us and when we arrived we were told that since there were no Executive Rooms available for early check in we were being upgraded to a suite for the duration of our stay at no additional cost. We were checked in by Paul who continued to give us great service and advice for the rest of our stay, as did all of the other members of staff, whether on the front desk or in the breakfast room.
The hotel is really well situated in the middle of just about everything a tourist would want to visit. Apart from getting to and from the airport/main station we walked everywhere.
Breakfast was pleasantly presented with a good selection of items and and hot food on offer.
The policy of no charge for internet, in -room mini bar and open bar in the lounge area is refreshing. I know that ultimately this is reflected in the price (there is no such thing as a free lunch) but it just makes life pleasant.
In conclusion a highly satisfactory stay and I would happily recommend Banks Mansion for a stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the superb review! We really appreciate the effort of writing one about the good experience you had at Banks Mansion. A huge thank you for the compliments to me and my colleagues! These kind of reviews is why we put all so much effort and fun in our work! It is goods for us to read that we have made you happy with the free upgrade to our supreme room, The Suite! This room has all the luxury of the other rooms, topped off with a whirlpool bathtub, phenomenal views, enormous size bed, a private living room and many more!
It is a treat to read that you have enjoyed you stay and all its features at Banks Mansion! The complementary coffee, tea, soda’s, liquors, beers and wine in out Living. But also the snacks, cheese, sausages and complementary candies in this area. Not to forget the breakfast with one of our chefs live-cooking eggs, omelets and pancakes for you!

We hope to be creating another indulging stay for you during your next visit, we are looking forward to it!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

First things first as ever. This hotel was not excruciatingly expensive, it is central and the staff are so damned nice about everything it makes you feel truly loved. I can almost not speak highly enough about it.

It is a city hotel, and so you have only breakfast at the hotel or room service. Not a problem as there are 'about' a zillion restaurants less than a ten-minute leisurely stroll away.

The hotel is clean, comfy, quite stylish and has everything you want. I think that's really the main thing - It has what you want.

You want a free minibar - Check. You got it.

You want a free all day bar downstairs with tea and coffee? - Check. You already got that.

You want complimentary cheese biscuits wine and tasty morsels every afternoon in the cool lounge at 4.00pm? - Check. You already got that too.

You want a tasty breakfast with everything fresh or cooked to order? - Aye. Present and correct.

How about some of the best coffee you ever had in the morning? Yup.

A set of decanters in your room, topped up daily, to drink from as you wish - You already got that too - You even have a natty little capsule coffee machine in your room.

Friendly unoppressive staff who are only too happy to make recommendations for restaurants, and then phone up and make the bookings for you? Sir, yes sir.

You see, there's no huge extras bill when you leave the place - Ours was about £30 for some laundry. *shrug* We usually cane the extras everywhere else and then regret it.

In Banks Mansion we have a hotel that driven by a desire to make you happy as a person, not to cover you with dripping excess and oily charm. I would go there again without hesitation.

It's clean, central, funky (some of the carpets are a little too funky for my retinas) generous spirited and good value for money. Didn't want to go. Ever.

Top hotel. Really. The Amsterdam vibe is alive and well.

Do you want a little more? You do? Well you're a tough one to please.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Wow! Creating huge smiles on our faces by writing this amazing review; Check!

Thank you very much for these great compliments about many of these great features that are part of Banks Mansion’s ‘Home, away from home’ concept; the complementary drinks in both the Living as in your private mini-bar, the ‘live-cooking’ breakfast restaurant, the free use of iPads, hispeed wireless internet, Nespresso coffee machines and amazing rain showers. These were only a few parts of the concept!
We have printed out your review and all my colleagues would like to thank you for all the writings!

We are looking forward to welcome you again at Banks Mansion, to make your stay as great as your last one!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Banks mansion is really central and in walking distance to most sights.
Breakfast is really good with a big buffet and a chef that does fresh egg dishes – therefore it can get a bit smelly.
The rooms a quite small and not the most clean I have ever seen ... the duvet had stains on it.
And now the extras: drinks and cheese and sweets and coffee for free in the lobby!
You can also rent bikes which is quite expensive ...
The overall style is typical American, woody and tacky and NOT stylish.
The hotel can be really expensive on some weekends and maybe you would expect nicer rooms for that.
Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We truly appreciate your review, so we can continue to improve our service. It is great to read that you have enjoyed the breakfast so much! Isn’t it great that you can smell the fresh bread and eggs when you enter the breakfast restaurant! Thank you for the great compliment about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, they really appreciated that!
It is really unfortunate that you experienced the rooms as not so clean, we are always doing our utmost best to have the rooms sparkling clean, our apologies for this one rare event.
The durable hard wooden Bough Bikes of Banks Mansion are not the same price as bikes at regular rental places, but then these bikes are quite unique, there are only about 25 of these bikes among the about 1,5 million other bikes in Amsterdam!
It is a pity for us to read that you did not like the Art Deco design of Banks Mansion. Of course style is always a matter of personal preference. This design, inspired by great architects as Berlage and Frank Lloyd Wright, is though appreciated by many of our guests.

Thank you again for the extensive review, we hope we can show you during another visit the true value of our hotel.

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great Hotel both for business and leisure. Free drinks both in room and hotel bar. The service is friendly and proactive. It was the first time anybody has called from the front desk to check that everything was ok with the room 10 min after check in. Free Internet, possibility to borrow iPad and free movies. Sometimes it can take time to get a taxi in the morning so ask in advance.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear guests,

What a good way of starting our day, reading your review! This is were we do if for, thank you! We were happy that you have enjoyed the aspects of our full-service concept so much! Not only the complementary drinks and snacks, but also the free Hi-Speed internet and the use of iPads in the hotel!
Concerning your remark on the taxi’s, unfortunately we are dependant on the amount of taxi’s available in the city. When it is busy in the morning or when it is for instance raining than unfortunately it can take a little longer to get a taxi directly. To indeed prevent this from happening it is advisable to book a taxi in advance.

We are happy that despite of the slow taxi’s, you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion and are looking forward to be welcoming you again.

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,828 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#5 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.