We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Bank Mansion as it was centrally located and within walking distance to everything.

We got a room overlooking the canal, with a open double doors and a small balcony. The only problem though was the mosquitos. We left the doors open the first night and the room became riddled with them. We asked reception for some mosquito spray but they had none and directed us to the nearest supermarket. We searched high and low before we found some a few days later and this them resolved the issue.

The hotel is an all-inclusive hotel. Breakfast and mini bar are included in the room rate. The mini bar is topped up daily. And at 6pm there are drinks and cheese in the foyer for the guests all inclusive. What a great idea!

Apart from the mosquitos we enjoyed our stay here. The room and bathroom was on the small side. But this is normal for Amsterdam. Our room overlooked the cabal which was a bonus. ANd the all inclusive breakfast and drinks made for a very pleasant stay.

If you stay don't open the windows.

Room Tip: Don't open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guests,

First of all, we are happy that your stay was a pleasant one and that all the parts of the full service concepts of Banks Mansion were surprising but satisfying to you! It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed the complementary breakfast, drinks in the Living room as well as in your private mini-bar, the cheese and sausages in the afternoon and the canal view rooms!

We sincerely apologize that we could not have solved the problem with the mosquitoes for you right away. Normally it should be our first priority to solve this problem for you because we have spray for this available for the rare cases of mosquitoes in the room.

We hope we could be of even more service to you during a next visit at Banks Mansion. We are striving for a total hospitality experience for our guests.

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
784
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from a stopover in Amsterdam(2 nights)Banks Mansion was a perfect place to stay .
The staff were very helpful friendly and went out of their way to give directions. Amsterdam is a great city and we will come back. We hope to stay at Banks Mansion again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for the clear and nice review! It is good to read that the great city of Amsterdam has been a welcome place for you and that Banks Mansion has been a part of this! The goal of our Guest Relations Officers is to make you have the total Banks Mansion experience, part of this is to be of service of our guests for the maximum amount as possible. We are happy we have achieved this during your stay.

We are looking forward to you next visit to Amsterdam and Banks Mansion in the (near) future.

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountainside, New Jersey, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am not going to repeat what all of the other reviewers have said about all of the included amenities and great location of this hotel. I agree with everything that has been said and, in fact, I would really question whether the reviews were written by friends or guests because they are all so excellent!! They are all true. Take it from me as a first time guest, I experienced first hand what Banks Mansion hospitality is like. My husband and I were on a vacation when, after 4 days in Amsterdam, he became ill and was in the hospital for the next 4 days. The front desk staff--Nancy, Kirsten, Paul, Jacqueline and Mariano--offered to do anything I needed. I was treated with genuine kindness and concern. I truly appreciate all that they did for me from the faxes, phone calls, calling a doctor, to the surprise goodies, and bouquet of flowers I found in my room.

My husband and I have travelled a good deal throughout Europe and have never experienced service of this level. Kudos to Banks Mansion. I will certainly recommend Banks Mansion to my friends and family and will return here when we come back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A room facing the canal is quieter and prettier than facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear guests,

First of all, we hope your husband’s health will be better soon! Thank you, from all my colleagues and myself for all the great complements. Our goal is to have our guests experience the most and genuine service as possible. Even if an unfortunate case as yours has happened. We are happy to read that we have achieved this during your visit.
Our Guest Relations Officers are not just here for you as receptions, they always try to get one step further for you, all this to make you enjoy the total hospitality experience of Banks Mansion.

We hope we can welcome you at Banks Mansion in better circumstances for a next visit and make your stay an even more wonderful one!

With warm and kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Banks Mansion Hotel in July from a Monday evening through Friday morning. The hotel is located on the corner of a major street and a smaller street right across from a lovely canal. The staff was friendly and our only little tiff was the fact that we had to lift our luggage up approximately 8 steps to get to the lobby, without help from the staff.

The "Living Room" - Common Area:
The "living room" was indeed comfy and inviting with complementary drinks (beer, water, juice, coffee, tea, liquor, wine) and snacks (nut mix, cheese, grapes, sausages, cookies, etc.) There were also 2 computers and a printer available for use with no complications as well as plenty of magazines and an ipad to use for browsing the internet.

The Room:
Our room was very nice and clean. It was standard-size - not too small as European rooms tend to be. The bed was really comfortable and heavenly and we slept very well. We were even given the choice of different types of pillows for our comfort. The bathroom had a black and white design with a medium sized glass shower stall. We had free access to the internet as well as to a free mini bar stocked with water, beer, juice, soda and a nut snack mix, and a bed-side offering of Gin, Brandy and Whiskey in a trio of glass bottles. Also we didn't drink any of the beer, the water really came in handy and allowed us to go out and tour the city without having to buy any water on the street.


Breakfast:
Breakfast was provided daily from 7am - 10:30am and included a varied offering for a European breakfast - granola, yogurt, cereal, eggs, bread, meat, cheese, bacon, pancakes, etc. Drinks included grapefruit juice, orange juice, milk, tea, coffee, etc.


High Praise:
The Banks Mansion Hotel is very centrally located and we were able to walk to all of the must see area and tourist attractions in Amsterdam. I highly recommend that when you visit Amsterdam, that you stay at the Banks Mansion hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guests of Banks Mansion,

First of all we would like to thank you for the lovely and extensive review!
Banks Mansion is located close to many Amsterdam hotspots, but also museums and great restaurants are close to the hotel. We are happy that the features of our full-service concept have made your stay a good one! The complementary drinks in our Living Room as well as in your own private mini-bar in the room, the all day snacks, a cheese and sausage table, free wireless internet, an office centre with printing facilities and not to forget the breakfast restaurant with ‘live-cooking’!

I hope we can welcome you once more at Banks Mansion in the near future!

With sincere regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager hotel Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at the Banks Mansion for a whole week with our 1 year old daughter and were very satisfied with our stay. The entire reception staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet very nice and most importantly, the hotel's location excellent. There are free drinks in the lobby and the mini bar and wi-fi. What's not to love?!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Guests and little guest,

We appreciate your recommendation of hotel Banks Mansion! Our Guest Relations Officers thank you for the compliment about their friendliness and helpfulness! It is great that you have enjoyed all aspects of our hotel; the live-cooking breakfast restaurant, the complementary drink in both the Living as well as in the private bar in your room, the wireless internet throughout the hotel and the great accessibility of the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you and your daughter for a next visit at Banks Mansion!

With kind and lovely regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations hotel Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Yorks, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Fantastic Hotel, great staff, great breakfast and great location! Didn't see another hotel that would have fit the bill in quite the same way. Don't hesitate to book, it's fab!

Amsterdam is such a busy place, take comfy shoes and keep an open mind. All good fun!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your fantastic compliment! It is wonderful for us to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of our hotel. The great proximity of Banks Mansion to great places to visit in Amsterdam and the “live-cooking” breakfast restaurant with the newest and freshest products!

Don’t hesitate coming to Banks Mansion for a next visit, we will be looking forward welcoming you again!

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations hotel Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was the second trip I've had to Amsterdam for business and had the pleasure of discovering this gem for the first. Everyone I know who I've met on the first trip will come to this hotel above all others when they next visit, and we had the satisfaction of bringing three other people along this time - and they all said that they would stay here again when they come back.

There really is nothing at all wrong with this hotel, and huge amounts to commend it - excellent location, excellent breakfast, excellent staff, really welcoming atmosphere and, of course, the free bar and snacks (if you can count a fully populated cheese board, together with assorted sausages with nuts, sweets, chocolates, etc as "snacks") which are more than anything I expected and extremely generous. The price is not at all bad either.

Will I come again? Of course I will; next time I'll bring my wife and stay longer than a few days.

Room Tip: Choose a canal view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for not keeping Banks Mansion a secret! And thank you for recommending our hotel to your friend and relatives! The kind of review you have written is the kind we are striving for. It is good to read that you found nothing at all wrong with our hotel. You have enjoyed all features of our “home, away from home”; the proximity of a lot of hotspots, restaurants and museums, the live-cooking breakfast restaurant, our Guest Relation Officers who are always ready to answer you questions, our “Living Room” with self-service bar and of course our all-day snacks.

We hope we can welcome you ánd your wife for you next visit at Banks Mansion.

Kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.