We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dutch Gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“A Dutch Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We booked this hotel solely based on a friends recommendation from TripAdvisor - and it turned out to be a fabulous start to our holiday.

The Banks Mansion is a small 50-room boutique hotel situated on the Herengracht - within walking distance of most of Amsterdams major attractions, or just 2-3 minutes away from the hop-on/hop-off barges that go around the city. For the ladies - The Bag & Purse museum is just down the road, the Heineken Brewery is about 5-7 minutes away from the guys, and the Rembrandtplein is 3 minutes walk away for restaurants, openair concerts and nightlife.

The difference comes in the service and attitude of the staff - which reminded me of what I'd expect in a 5-star luxury caribbean resort. Plus the roo-rate is all-inclusive, so you get a free breakfast (including custom omellets and pancakes), free drinks at a coutesy bar downstairs, free snacks, iPad use, and .. you get to your room and there are three decanters labelled "Gin , Vodka and Whisky" - how can you beat that?

The rooms are typically European in size - we had room 404 on the top floor overlooking the canal, which also had the furniture hoist beams outside it. Great view! You can get a standard room, canal room, executive room (on the corner) and a very large suite.

For those of you traveling from the US by plane, you'll usually arrive early morning. The staff will do their absolute best to get you into your room - but remember they are dependent on the previous guests leaving. Don't be like the two cringe-worthy American couples who demanded their room be ready at 9am and then started yelling at the manager!

Great hotel, great service and great location - you cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Canal view is an upgrade but worth it. If travelling with young kids get one of the larger rooms boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Dear guests of Banks Mansion,

How fabulous to read that due to some good recommendations of friends you went to our hotel and everything has met your expectations! We are really happy to have achieved this for you! Our proximity to the great hotspots of Amsterdam is one of the Unique Selling Points of our hotel! Also the concept of Banks Mansion, as you experienced, is not like any other hotel. With our full-service concept we create an “home, away from home” feeling. Almost everything is available for you when you need it. The breakfast (with custom omelets and pancakes) in the morning, free drinks both in our Living Room as well as in your private mini-bar, wireless internet, iPads and the possibility to rent our unique wooden bikes!
Although our regular check-in time is 3pm, we always try to make it a priority to make you room ready as soon as you walk in to the hotel. Of course this means that we rely on the previous guests who have the possibility to enjoy the luxuries of Banks Mansion till the check-out time of 12pm.

Again our sincere gratitude for your review! We hope we can welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the (near) future.

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Hotel Banks Mansion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    961
    245
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
110
667
77
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexalina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

The Banks Mansion deserves it's reputation; small, charming & friendly, ideally located to walk to all attractions or catch a tram or canal boat.
Service is excellent, staff are friendly & attentive. The inclusive drinks & little snacks is a really lovely touch as is the free use of iPads & computers.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and really well decorated.
It was a faultless stay which our party of four thoroughly enjoyed. Wouldn't stay anywhere else when I visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear guests,

It is fantastic to read your review. This is what we strive for; to make your stay an amazing one! Thank you for summarizing the features of our charming boutique hotel Banks Mansion, which you have enjoyed; the complementary drinks and snacks in our Living as well as in your own private mini-bar, our office centre with printing facilities and the complementary use of iPads, in the Living or the possibility of taking one to your room!
Our Guest Relations Officers thank you for the complement about their friendliness and attentiveness! Achieving this is one of their main goals.

We are happy to have made you stay enjoyable and we hope we can welcome you again in the (near) future to make you stay faultless one more time!

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Banks Mansion hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Bank's for our honeymoon and were blown away.
On arrival we were greeted by happy smiling faces. As soon as you walk into the hotel it has a warm home feeling.
We were shown around the lounge area or as they call “a home away from home" which was spot on, with free drinks including a bar full of all types of alcohol and soft drinks. At 5pm every night they had snacks for people to enjoy. The lounge also had ipads for guest to use. It really was inviting and there was guest down there most evenings having a drink or two.
Once we were shown around we were taken to our room. They had really done something special for our honeymoon with the bed covered in rose petals and love heart lollies. This really was a sweet personal touch.
The mini bar in the room was not so mini with free alcohol (which included spirits) and soft drinks and snacks.
The room was clean, comfortable and tidy. Breakfast was yummy and the best we had, had so far in Europe, you could even get your eggs cooked the way you like them (which for me was a bonus). Internet was free and could be used anywhere within the hotel including the breakfast lounge.
Location was perfect we come via train from France and found getting to the hotel easy, with the tram stop about 100 meter up the road. We actually never used transport after this day and walked everywhere we needed. We found Amsterdam easy to navigate and the hotel staff were helpful in finding nice restaurants.
I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone considering staying in Amsterdam, if we ever come back we will defiantly stay at the Banks.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in room 402 great view of the canal's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear newly wedded guests,

We are grateful to have been part of your wonderful honeymoon! What an amazing compliment that you have been blown away by our hotel. Our Guest Relations will always be trying to make you feel at home as possible. By providing as much as possible with a personal touch we hope we can make a stay unforgettable! We are happy to have achieved this on your honeymoon.
My colleagues of Housekeeping appreciated the compliment about the cleanness and tidiness of the room. As well did the chefs at our Breakfast Restaurant about your compliment on the eggs! It is also very nice to read that you have enjoyed the city of Amsterdam itself with all its nice locations, restaurants and museums!
Thank you very much for your recommendation of Banks Mansion to others. We hope we can be of service to you at your next visit.

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Banks Mansion for five nights recently. I cannot praise this hotel highly enough. Very well located on the banks of the Herengrecht Canal and only a few minutes walk from a tram stop. If you prefer walking, most major tourist attractions are within a comfortable walk. Plenty of places to eat nearby. As for the hotel itself, as soon as we walked in we knew that we had made the right choice. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. We had arrived early and our room wasn't quite ready however we were able to enjoy the superb facilities in their "Living" concept area. Free coffee, beer, spirits, computers and just a very comfortable area to relax. Our room overlooked the canal and was perfect. Not large but certainly roomy enough for two people. Large doors that opened for a view of the canal and the passing parade of people and bicycles. Very clean and comfortable. Free use of the well stocked mini-bar plus carafes of spirits also free. The included breakfast was a great start to each day. The restaurant staff were all very friendly and accommodating. In fact all the staff that we encountered during our stay made you feel at home. And to top it all off, each afternoon they provided a selection of cheese and cold meats with wine. It provided for a lovely friendly atmosphere which certainly encouraged conversation with other guests. We loved Amsterdam and certainly our stay was made that much better from having stayed at the Banks Mansion.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the canal would certainly be my recommendation. We were a little worried about no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guests of Banks Mansion,

Thank you for praising our hotel this much. This is the main goal of our hotel, to make your stay at Banks Mansion an unforgettable one! We are happy to have served you with this. The accessibility is, among a lot of others, one of the great things of our hotel. Almost every Amsterdam highlight and hotspot is within walking distance from the hotel. Even if you do not feel like walking you could take a tram (only 100 yards from the entrance) or you could try our unique wooden rental bikes!
Fantastic to read that you have enjoyed our “home, away from home” concept. This includes: a Living instead of a lobby, were you an relax and mingle with our other guests and meet interesting people. But you could also enjoy the drink and snacks in our self service bar or make use of the office centre with printing facilities. But this concept doe not only stay in the Living, also the drinks in your private bar are included as well is the breakfast made by our chefs.
A thank you from all our staff for your great compliments, we love to see you again at Banks Mansion. We are ready to make your next stay as dazzling as your last one!

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam many times since 1994.
After the second trip, I have always stayed at BANKS MANSION.
This time we got in early from US. WODERFUL Our room was ready at 930AM so we slept til 2PM .The rooms are not big but cozy. The breakfast is REALLY wonderful and free. The free mini bar and decanters in the room are awesome. The "serve yourself" bar in the lobby is free and saved me a ton of (- since my GF loves to drink wine. They also put out food and snacks round 5PM. ALSO they UPGRADED the PLACE since my last visit. There are FREE workstation and IPads all thru lobby. Stayed in 5 star hotel in Brusells they charged us for access. The service was also great! Needless to say, I will be staying here on any and all future trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear guests,

It is really WONDERFUL to read you review. It is a compliment for us that, time after time, we were able to make your stay a good one! For your next stay the self- and full service bar will still be available and fully stocked. You and all other guests will be indulged by the morning- and afternoon snacks and by the great cheese table with selected great Dutch and European cheeses. There will also be the complementary use of the iPads. We could even provide you with a iPad to take with you to get you on your way!
It is a great compliment to be compared to a 5 star hotel, it is even better to read that we provide an even better service. Thank you for this!
We are looking forward to make your next stay as wonderful, or even better, as your lasts visits!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellagio62
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've been to Amsterdam over 20 times since 1998. I've had the pleasure of staying in just about every type of accommodation this great city has to offer ranging from the youth hostels on my early visits to $500+ a night rooms. In my prior trips I was always struck by the beauty of the exterior while riding the tram past it or walking. I finally decided to stay here as the location is great and only a short and very easy trip to just about anywhere a tourist would want to go. We actually walked to most places. There is a tram stop approximately 100m's to the south which is a wonderful benefit. It's also an easy tram stop from the central station if you plan to use public transportation to enter the city. I arrived to the Banks around 08:00 and expected to dump my bags and venture out into the city. I got lucky since my room was available. The staff offered me breakfast for free even though I was not eligible for it since it was my check-in day. Check-in technically starts after the breakfast is done for the day. It is free all other days. This was a pleasure since I had just arrived from the states and was hungry. The breakfast is wonderful and the choices are better than anything you will find at another hotel. The free mini bar and decanters in the room are a nice touch. The serve yourself bar in the lobby was my favorite feature. We enjoyed grabbing a beer, spirits, coffee or hot chocolate after a long but enjoyable day of walking. You don't even have to have your wallet with you as it is already included in the room price. The rooms are on the smaller side but are very comfortable. I loved looking out the window onto the canal. The service was also great!!! I will be staying here on any and all future trips to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Stay on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guests,

What is it fantastic to read that after seeing our hotel for several occasions, you finally had the opportunity to stay with us. Above all it is great to read that is has met your expectations! Because our hotel is in the middle of the great city of Amsterdam, the accessibility to all the hotspots is great. Not only is almost everything on walking distance, the tram and metro stops are close by!
A thank you from our chefs at the breakfast restaurants for the great compliment about our breakfast, which, next to all great fresh products, provides you with live-cooking. Our chefs will make great omelettes and pancakes for you on request!
It is also a joy for us to read that you made use of our full-service concept with pleasure. The bar in our “Living” and the private mini-bar in your room will be filled with all great drinks and ready for you to use at any time!
Again, we would like to thank you for the great review and we hope to welcome you again at Banks Mansion in the near future.

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel was outstanding on all fronts. From the helpful reception staff, to the comfortable rooms with FREE mini bar, to the nightly happy hour with cheese and wine. This was a great way to meet other guests and have a chat. The Banks Mansion was perfectly located to be within walking distance of great restaurants and bars and right near the tram to go further a field. I loved the breakfast complete with staff on hand to make your eggs as you like. The all inclusive aspect was amazing, particularly since the price is reasonable to start off with. Will be back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Guests,

WOW, what an amazing review! Reading your review cheers up all my colleagues and myself! It is marvelous for us to have guests write a review about the fact that their visit was outstanding on all fronts. How amazing that the all-inclusive, or the full-service concept as we like to call it, was amazing to you! The complementary bar and private mini bar, the selection of wines as cheeses in the afternoon, experiencing the great chefs at our Breakfast Restaurant and the proximity of great bars, restaurants and (tourist) hotspots; examples of all the aspects of Banks Mansion that provide our guests the ultimate unlimited hospitality experience!

Our gratitude again for your great review, we hope to be welcoming you again in the near future at Banks Mansion hotel in Amsterdam!

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.