We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Found this hotel via Trip Advisor based on reviews, and found this to be an amazing place. Although check in is 3pm onwards, because of our flight, we arrived just before 10am and a room was ready and waiting. Check in was smooth, the lady was lovely, and we both felt very welcome. We booked an executive suite, and think the room couldn't be faulted. The only issue I had was that it's two single mattresses on a double bed base. Were the two mattresses separate, there was a lot of debris and hair!! I slept like a rock, and can sleep through anything, however my other half had trouble sleeping with the noise of the trams outside. It was mentioned to reception, but they explained all executive rooms are located on the corner of the hotel, and as the hotel was full, we couldn't be moved. I had no issue with the noise, but doesn't mean I didn't hear the end of it :-/

Bottled water, alcohol and branded fizzy drinks and available in your rooms and reception free of charge. It's a fantastic bonus while staying at this hotel. DVD player in our room with a selection of films to chose from at reception. The hotel has iPads and lend guests throughout their stay, but we bought our own, however, we broke our charger and the hotel offered to charge it for us when we asked..... Nothing was too much trouble.

Breakfast was lovely, and the lady behind the counter who makes your food on request was bubbly, lovely, polite, and is actually interested in how you're doing.

There was one rude American while we were there, just had an awful attitude. 95% of the guests were American, and they were great, not that were saw them all.

The hotel can book and sell tickets when you ask, so takes the hassle out of doing it yourself. You can also rent the hotels own wooden bikes..... We didn't rent any to be honest, they looked very embarrassing, and when we were asked by the hotel why we didn't rent any, I told them the truth. They said they've never heard that reason before.

Anyway, first time to Amsterdam, and am sure it won't be the last..... I guarantee we will be using this hotel again.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade to at least the executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear grateful guests,

What a pleasure for us to read your lovely review! Making you feel at home from the moment you enter our door, it one of the main goals we have at Banks Mansion. We are happy we have succeeded at this goal during your visit.
It is a threat to read that you have enjoyed Banks Mansion and all its features; the complementary bar in the Living, the private bar in the room, comfortable beds, the pillow menu, the movies and DVDs, as well as the iPads and internet offered throughout the entire hotel.
Thank you for you comment about the debris between the beds, this is something we heavily regret. As part of feeling at home at Banks Mansion we have a high standard on the cleaning of the room. Our apologies about this one, unfortunate, exception.
It is good that you have made use of the fact that we sell tickets to museums and for public transportation at our reception desk. By doing this you have avoided the queues, so you can make optimal use of your time in Amsterdam!

Thank you again for the great review and we hope to be welcoming you again at Banks Mansion.

With warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    252
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
714
80
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and I spent the last part of our honeymoon at the Banks Mansion. It is a very nice property, in a convenient area of town, with beautiful views of a canal. The best part about our stay were all the perks they had for hotel guests -- the lobby is decked out with snacks and beverages (including wine, beer and spirits) every day, and the guests make it a point to congregate their every morning and evening. Also, there are two desktop computers connected to the Internet and even a couple i-Pads for guests to check in with their loved ones back home. The staff was delightful, and the room was clean with a FREE mini-bar. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. Would have given the hotel 5 stars but there was a lot of construction going while we were there which partially blocked the hotel's entrance. I'm sure that is a temporary situation, however. I would love to return to Amsterdam, and Banks Mansion, some day.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a canal-front room and it was beautiful. The shower was amazing -- it converted into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear newly wedded guests,

It is a joy for us to read that Banks Mansion was a part of the success of your honeymoon! Reading this, absolutely made our day! How wonderful that you have enjoyed all the “perks” at Banks Mansion. In our “home-away-from-home concept” we provide our guests with a full-service hotel. As you said, that includes the drinks in the bar in our Living, drinks in you complementary mini-bar in the room, snacks, a cheese platter, internet, breakfast and more. Good to read that you have also made use of our iPads, we have two in our Living and we have even some extra prepared if you would like to take one with you, of course also free of charge. How unfortunate that the city of Amsterdam had construction works when you visited. But we are fortunate to remark that the construction in front of our door is finished and the hotel is to be entered again from all directions! After all it was for a good cause, because the construction was for the development of a new metro line under Amsterdam, this even increased the accessibility of the hotspots in the city.

After all how great that you have enjoyed the view from your room, the comfort of the steam shower and above all your stay at Banks Mansion!

We are looking forward welcoming you for your next visit at Banks Mansion hotel in Amsterdam!

With warm and sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Prior to taking a ten day Oceania Cruise from Copenhagen to Stockholm we spent 4 wonderful days in Amsterdam at the Banks Mansion. We selected The Banks Mansion because of the previous reviews on TripAdvisor and they were spot on about the excellence of this property in every respect. After a 10 hour flight we arrived at the hotel about 10:30 AM very tired, we strolled around the flower market (two blocks away) for a couple of hours and then checked into our room about 12 noon. The staff was young, attractive and could not have been nicer and more helpful with everything from tour recommendations to helping us make restaurant reservations. One recommendation (Casa di David) was so excellent we went back a second time! If you don't need all the fuss of huge hotel but want all the comforts of home then this is your place. Excellent room with great beds, a small but well laid out bathroom with separate shower and wonderful large tub. In the evening the hotel puts out wine,spirits and snacks for free in the lobby and has free computers and Ipads for your use. The breakfasts are as good as you will find anywhere, cold cuts to granola to a hugh fruit selection to made to order omeletts and excellent breads. We opted for an upgraded room which was #306 on the corner overlooking the canal and were glad we did. We certainly look forward to a return trip to Amsterdam and the Banks Mansion will be our hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 306 and our friends were in room # 206, both corner rooms with a canal view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guests,

What a treat to read your review! How good that the prior review attracted you to go to Banks Mansion in Amsterdam! It is nice to read that we have been able to take some of your tiredness away by letting you into the room at noon. Although our regular check-in time in 3pm, we always try to make the cleaning of your room a priority when you would like to check-in at an earlier time. What a compliment for our Guest Relations Officers at the desk! We enjoyed it very much that we have been helpful for you and that the recommendations were appealing to you.
How wonderful that you have enjoyed all the features of the full-service concept at Banks Mansion; the drinks in both the main bar and your private mini bar, the afternoon snack and cheese platter, the comfortable beds and pillow menu in your Executive Canal View room and the, also, complementary live-cooking breakfast restaurant.

We, at Banks Mansion, are looking forward to your return. We hope to make your stay again a stay to remember!

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in this fabulous hotel for one night before boarding a river boat cruise down the Rhine River. We arrived tired and jet-lagged, but the staff were so friendly and helpful that we immediately perked up. Plus, the complimentary bar (including a variety of hard liquor, juices, sodas, and bottled waters) provided the necessary refreshment to take on the city.

The lobby area of the Banks Mansion is incredibly comfortable, with plenty of room to lounge, access to the fabulous free bar, and free wifi and ipads for use throughout. Its location is also superb: It's located on the canals just a short walk from the flower market, some fabulous shopping, and the Red Light District. The walk over to the art museums and the Anne Frank house are a bit longer, but still do-able. In fact, we did it all on our first day there!

In the evening, they have a wonderful happy hour with a great selection of cheeses and sausages--again, free of charge! Definitely stop in a for an afternoon snack. The rooms at the Banks are also great. True to Europe, they are smaller than the usual American hotel rooms, but they are very comfortable. Again, your room features a selection of free beverages, including large bottles of gin, cognac and whiskey for use. The rooms were quite, cool, and the beds comfortable. In the morning, the Banks has a fabulous breakfast included in the room price. It features delicious pastries, bacon, sausages, fruit, cheeses, etc. etc.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and incredibly pleased with the hotel. The staff were friendly, the rooms and lobby comfortable and inviting, and the amenities outstanding! Would ABSOLUTELY return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal. The noise isn't terrible, and you'll enjoy being able to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear guest,

This is ABSOLUTELY an amazing review for my colleagues and me to read. How wonderful that your tiredness of the cruise was softened by the friendliness and helpfulness of our Guest Relations Officers. High hospitality is an important part of the vision of Banks Mansion. It is great that you have enjoyed the location and accessibility of Banks Mansion, the proximity of Amsterdam’s greatest attractions is great! It is only a maximum of 15 minutes by foot to the museum district, the Anne Frank Huis, the famous Dam square or any of the other attractions that Amsterdam has to offer.
It is a comfort to us that the rooms were of comfort to you, the beds, the large windows and the great view are some of the features that the Canal View Double Deluxe Rooms at Banks Mansion will present to you.
It is also a great compliment for the chefs at our “live-cooking” Breakfast Restaurant that you graded the breakfast as delicious! Every morning again they try to surprise the guests of Banks Mansion with amazing dishes and the best ingredients.

Again I would like to thank you for the great review, I hope we can welcome you and your friend and family again in the future. We will be ready to make your next stay as great as you last or maybe even better!

With kind and warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

we stayed here after a transatlantic cruise.Our room was ready when we arrived and very comfortable. Staff very friendly.Very helpful in arranging Tours. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the canal.Bed very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear spring guest,

You made our day in two sentences! How inspiring to read that you would stay again with us during your next visit to Amsterdam and the Netherlands. We try to make your sleeping experience one to remember; with our high comfort beds and the choice of 6 great pillows out of our pillow menu. It is good to see that we have succeeded with this during your stay!

Hopefully we can welcome you again next spring or maybe even earlier when you visit Amsterdam during a colorful fall or enchanting winter!

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Centrally located, overlooking a scenic canal, there was every amenity awaiting us. Free internet on pc's in the lobby, complimentary refreshments and bar in the lobby in the afternoons and evenings, where can you find such generous amenities in a hotel that is well-priced?? Very comfy bed, bathrooms were sparkling new, even the breakfast downstairs exceeded our expectations. When I had a problem with my cell phone and had to use the phone at the front desk to make a 800 call to the states, and the receptionists could not have been nicer or more helpful. Took their advice on a wonderful place to eat within walking distance and were not disappointed there either. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear enjoyed guests,

This is a wonderful review, thank you for that! It is great to read that you have enjoyed so many aspects of hotel Banks Mansion in Amsterdam. All the amenities which are part of the “home, away from home” concept: the free business computers with internet, but also the free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel, the bar and cheese table in “the Living”, just to name a few! Our Guest Relations Officers and Chefs at the “live-cooking” breakfast restaurant were very happy to hear that you complimented them on their friendliness and helpfulness!

Hope to see you again in the near future, hopefully by then we can provide you with even more recommendations concerning restaurants, excursions or other things to do in the great city of Amsterdam!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in canal room 104. It is hard to fault this hotel, it is generous in every aspect lifts, stairs, complimentary mini bar, complimentary drinks and nibbles in the foyer, iPads in the lobby, friendly staff. I only wish the wonderful art deco hallways were repeated elsewhere. Beds are very comfortable with double doors that opened with canal view, it was even charming falling asleep to the sound of trams. Bathrooms very nice with generous shower. I would highly recommend this hotel for older visitors to A.dam. The breakfast was great and wifi very easy to connect.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guests of Banks Mansion,

How nice to read that Banks Mansion has met you all round expectations. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere, decor and decorations; that the comfort and the view were appealing to you and other features like the “live-cooking” breakfast restaurant and wireless internet also pleased you!
Sometimes there could be a little noise of the trams, but of course we prevent this by having double glazed windows and the rooms are isolated as much as possible. Do not forget that the trams also provide great a accessibility to the rest of Amsterdam and as you say, the trams do have their charm as well!

Thanks again for the great review we hope to welcome you again in the (near) future!

Kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.