We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute GEM in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Absolute GEM in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed in this fabulous hotel for one night before boarding a river boat cruise down the Rhine River. We arrived tired and jet-lagged, but the staff were so friendly and helpful that we immediately perked up. Plus, the complimentary bar (including a variety of hard liquor, juices, sodas, and bottled waters) provided the necessary refreshment to take on the city.

The lobby area of the Banks Mansion is incredibly comfortable, with plenty of room to lounge, access to the fabulous free bar, and free wifi and ipads for use throughout. Its location is also superb: It's located on the canals just a short walk from the flower market, some fabulous shopping, and the Red Light District. The walk over to the art museums and the Anne Frank house are a bit longer, but still do-able. In fact, we did it all on our first day there!

In the evening, they have a wonderful happy hour with a great selection of cheeses and sausages--again, free of charge! Definitely stop in a for an afternoon snack. The rooms at the Banks are also great. True to Europe, they are smaller than the usual American hotel rooms, but they are very comfortable. Again, your room features a selection of free beverages, including large bottles of gin, cognac and whiskey for use. The rooms were quite, cool, and the beds comfortable. In the morning, the Banks has a fabulous breakfast included in the room price. It features delicious pastries, bacon, sausages, fruit, cheeses, etc. etc.

Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and incredibly pleased with the hotel. The staff were friendly, the rooms and lobby comfortable and inviting, and the amenities outstanding! Would ABSOLUTELY return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal. The noise isn't terrible, and you'll enjoy being able to lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear guest,

This is ABSOLUTELY an amazing review for my colleagues and me to read. How wonderful that your tiredness of the cruise was softened by the friendliness and helpfulness of our Guest Relations Officers. High hospitality is an important part of the vision of Banks Mansion. It is great that you have enjoyed the location and accessibility of Banks Mansion, the proximity of Amsterdam’s greatest attractions is great! It is only a maximum of 15 minutes by foot to the museum district, the Anne Frank Huis, the famous Dam square or any of the other attractions that Amsterdam has to offer.
It is a comfort to us that the rooms were of comfort to you, the beds, the large windows and the great view are some of the features that the Canal View Double Deluxe Rooms at Banks Mansion will present to you.
It is also a great compliment for the chefs at our “live-cooking” Breakfast Restaurant that you graded the breakfast as delicious! Every morning again they try to surprise the guests of Banks Mansion with amazing dishes and the best ingredients.

Again I would like to thank you for the great review, I hope we can welcome you and your friend and family again in the future. We will be ready to make your next stay as great as you last or maybe even better!

With kind and warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    252
    50
    22
    16
See reviews for
126
715
80
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

we stayed here after a transatlantic cruise.Our room was ready when we arrived and very comfortable. Staff very friendly.Very helpful in arranging Tours. We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the canal.Bed very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear spring guest,

You made our day in two sentences! How inspiring to read that you would stay again with us during your next visit to Amsterdam and the Netherlands. We try to make your sleeping experience one to remember; with our high comfort beds and the choice of 6 great pillows out of our pillow menu. It is good to see that we have succeeded with this during your stay!

Hopefully we can welcome you again next spring or maybe even earlier when you visit Amsterdam during a colorful fall or enchanting winter!

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Centrally located, overlooking a scenic canal, there was every amenity awaiting us. Free internet on pc's in the lobby, complimentary refreshments and bar in the lobby in the afternoons and evenings, where can you find such generous amenities in a hotel that is well-priced?? Very comfy bed, bathrooms were sparkling new, even the breakfast downstairs exceeded our expectations. When I had a problem with my cell phone and had to use the phone at the front desk to make a 800 call to the states, and the receptionists could not have been nicer or more helpful. Took their advice on a wonderful place to eat within walking distance and were not disappointed there either. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear enjoyed guests,

This is a wonderful review, thank you for that! It is great to read that you have enjoyed so many aspects of hotel Banks Mansion in Amsterdam. All the amenities which are part of the “home, away from home” concept: the free business computers with internet, but also the free wireless internet throughout the entire hotel, the bar and cheese table in “the Living”, just to name a few! Our Guest Relations Officers and Chefs at the “live-cooking” breakfast restaurant were very happy to hear that you complimented them on their friendliness and helpfulness!

Hope to see you again in the near future, hopefully by then we can provide you with even more recommendations concerning restaurants, excursions or other things to do in the great city of Amsterdam!

With sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

Spent 2 nights in canal room 104. It is hard to fault this hotel, it is generous in every aspect lifts, stairs, complimentary mini bar, complimentary drinks and nibbles in the foyer, iPads in the lobby, friendly staff. I only wish the wonderful art deco hallways were repeated elsewhere. Beds are very comfortable with double doors that opened with canal view, it was even charming falling asleep to the sound of trams. Bathrooms very nice with generous shower. I would highly recommend this hotel for older visitors to A.dam. The breakfast was great and wifi very easy to connect.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Guests of Banks Mansion,

How nice to read that Banks Mansion has met you all round expectations. It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere, decor and decorations; that the comfort and the view were appealing to you and other features like the “live-cooking” breakfast restaurant and wireless internet also pleased you!
Sometimes there could be a little noise of the trams, but of course we prevent this by having double glazed windows and the rooms are isolated as much as possible. Do not forget that the trams also provide great a accessibility to the rest of Amsterdam and as you say, the trams do have their charm as well!

Thanks again for the great review we hope to welcome you again in the (near) future!

Kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Beautiful room with great views of the canal, staff helpful and friendly. Free drinks available in the room and the foyer a great place to meet fellow travelers and the bed, very comfortable. An all round excellent property we can recommend, thank you Banks Mansion.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Only reading the heading of your review makes us feel like we achieved our goal, making your stay fantastic! It is also fantastic to read that you have enjoyed the bar in our foyer or “The Living” as we like to call it. I hope you have gained a lot of new experience and knowledge by meeting with other guests in the Living!

Thank you for the recommendation of Banks Mansion to others. We are looking forward welcoming you in the future!

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellelsey, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a winner!We had a lovely room (we spent an additional 20 Euros for a deluxe room) and we were thrilled by the extra amenities. While this is a fairly costly hotel, it includes a full breakfast buffet with cheeses, meats, fish, pastries, breads, bacon, sausage plus an omelet/crepe station. There's a complimentary bar in the lobby, a nightly cocktail hours with a cheese platter and other hors d'oeuvres, and crystal decanters in the room with whiskey, gin and a cordial. They know how to make a guest feel special. The bathroom had a soaking tub and a glass shower enclosure (what a treat). One caveat: this is a busy corner and there can be some late night revelers on the street- so try to get an upper floor. Enjoy!

Room Tip: One caveat: this is a busy corner and there can be some late night revelers on the street- so try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear guest of Banks Mansion,

Reading your review gives my colleagues and me a big smile on our faces. It gives us happiness to read that you have enjoyed all the different features which are part of our full-service and “home-away-from-home” concept. Our most important target is to make a guest feel as special as possible, and we are happy that we did for you!
I understand that you found you room a bit too noisy, I can understand that, but unfortunately the advantage of being in the centre of Amsterdam and having a good accessibility has also a downside, it can be a bit busy outside. We tried to keep this to a minimum, all rooms have double glazed windows and good isolation to keep as much of the noise outside as possible.

We hope to see you again in the future, so you can, once more, enjoy the threats at Banks Mansion!

Warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed at the Banks Mansion for four nights.
We were happy with our rooms, although one room was a little smaller than expected.

The "Living Room" area, with free drinks and delicious snacks was a wonderful and welcoming place for us to sit and chat together. This certainly made a huge difference to our stay.
The staff were, generally helpful and pleasant.

The only problem was that a smoking room had been booked but this was unavailable on arrival, even though it had been checked by telephone beforehand.
Apart from this, our stay was excellent and the hotel is in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your “excellent” review, it always makes us happy when we read a review with compliments like yours! How nice to hear that the Living was so appealing to you. It is good to read that you used this area as it was your own home. This is what we are trying to achieve by providing you with all different kinds of drinks, snacks, cheeses, internet, iPads and more!
At Banks Mansion we will always do our utmost best to measure up to your preference. Generally we are a non-smoking hotel, due to this we only have 4 of our 51 rooms which are available for smoking, so sometimes it is not possible to meet all of the preferences.

We hope we can meet up to your expectations during your next excellent stay at Banks Mansion!

With sincere and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.