We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent play to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent play to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I and another couple recently stayed at the Banks Mansion for four nights.
We were happy with our rooms, although one room was a little smaller than expected.

The "Living Room" area, with free drinks and delicious snacks was a wonderful and welcoming place for us to sit and chat together. This certainly made a huge difference to our stay.
The staff were, generally helpful and pleasant.

The only problem was that a smoking room had been booked but this was unavailable on arrival, even though it had been checked by telephone beforehand.
Apart from this, our stay was excellent and the hotel is in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your “excellent” review, it always makes us happy when we read a review with compliments like yours! How nice to hear that the Living was so appealing to you. It is good to read that you used this area as it was your own home. This is what we are trying to achieve by providing you with all different kinds of drinks, snacks, cheeses, internet, iPads and more!
At Banks Mansion we will always do our utmost best to measure up to your preference. Generally we are a non-smoking hotel, due to this we only have 4 of our 51 rooms which are available for smoking, so sometimes it is not possible to meet all of the preferences.

We hope we can meet up to your expectations during your next excellent stay at Banks Mansion!

With sincere and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,075
    275
    53
    23
    16
See reviews for
136
784
85
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ORKNEY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Just returned today from a trip to Amsterdam with my three daughters. Stayed at the Banks Mansion for the third time. Would not ever think about staying anywhere else in Amsterdam. This hotel is truly a home from home. Cant think of anything we would have needed that they didnt cater for and the service was as always excellent and extremely friendly. The location is so good we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Have not had abad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear guest of Banks Mansion,

What a delight to hear that you are coming back to Banks Mansion every time you visit Amsterdam! To us it is also fantastic to read that we succeeded in giving you feeling of “home away from home”. Good to know that it served you well, being close to the hotspots, museums, great restaurants, (flower) markets, shopping areas and the entertainment of Amsterdam! Our Guest Relations Officers are always ready to provide you with recommendations and information or by helping you with your special requests.

We hope to welcome you and your family again for your next visit to the great city of Amsterdam!

With warm and sincere regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

This is an excellent, centrally positioned Art Deco hotel, well-appointed and comfortable but only a couple of minutes’ walk from the main pedestrian shopping streets, the restaurant area and on the main tram line to the museum district. The reception bar area has free wine and spirits, nuts and snacks in the evening and a good atmosphere, so is a good place to meet friends before dining. Breakfasts were good – both buffet and cooked with a calm and unhurried atmosphere. Although to be expected in well-staffed 5 star hotels I found the reception staff here were particularly helpful, well educated, and possessing faultless English – lovely girls too! I visit Holland regularly on business and my wife and I would chose to stay here again. M.J.S 15-17.06.12

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,

First of, I would like to thank you for you great review and high recommendation! It is good to here that the accessibility of the Banks Mansion hotel has met you expectations. The reception bar or “the Living” as we like to call it, is there for the full availability to our guests. It is joyful to hear that this feature, the atmosphere and the breakfast were very appealing to you!
It is also a great compliment for our Guest Relations Officers to hear that their service was helpful to you. Although English is not our first language it is very important for Banks Mansion that its staff is able to communicate with our foreign guests on a high level. It is very nice to read in you review that we did!
We are looking forward to your next visit and we will be ready for another great stay for you!

Kind and warm regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Having never been to Amsterdam before, and not having any clue as to where we should stay, I was thrilled to find that Banks Mansion was PERFECT! Fantastic location, amazing service and amenities (including breakfast, snacks, and beverages of all sorts). Loved the "living room" and rooms were very clean and up-to-date. It clicked on all cylinders for us! And a big thank you to Paul at the front desk. He was great! Banks Mansion helped to ensure a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,

What is it amazing for me and my colleagues at Banks Mansion to read your review. We are happy to hear that we have succeeded in achieving the most important thing for us, to have made your stay Perfect! I will also deliver your compliment to my colleagues of Housekeeping and Maintenance who are working hard everyday to make sure that your rooms are clean, pure and totally up-to-date!
With pleasure we are looking forward to your next stay, so we can provide you with even more pampering next time!

With sincere and kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My friends and I recently spent 6 days at the Banks Mansion and felt it was truly our haven after our days out seeing the sights of Amsterdam. The idea of the "Living" was unique to us, and it provided us with an easy way of meeting and talking with other visitors from far away lands while enjoying wine and cheese, coffee and cookies, or a nightcap after an evening at a show. We found this hotel to be worth every penny (oops, Euro) we spent for it.

The staff was extremely helpful when it came to our questions about restaurants, taxis, and trams or trolleys. One of the best features of our stay was the wonderful breakfast prepared for us each morning by Oola, the chef in the downstairs breakfast room. The buffet was lavish and prepared us for a busy day outside of our haven: Banks Mansion. We would recommend this highly and will return to Banks Mansion the next time we are in Amsterdam.

I thank Trip Advisor and its users for the fine recommendations that brought me to make the reservation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest of Bustling Amsterdam and Banks Mansion,

It is heartwarming to hear that you have enjoyed all these unique features we have at Banks Mansion. As the hotel we try to make our guest feel at home at every moment of the day, during the day with coffee, drinks and snack. In the evening with wine and an especially selected cheese table. Even in the early morning, before our live-cooking-breakfast opens, we have the early-bird snack available in our Living.

For me and my colleagues at our breakfast restaurant it is inspiring to hear that you have enjoyed the breakfast so much. Ola and the other chefs are giving their passion for service and cooking for more that 100 % every morning!

It is also good to hear that many of the reviews here on TripAdvisor were useful for you choosing Banks Mansion and hope to welcome you again in the (near) future.

Warms thanks for your review en kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was very pleased with the service and amenities offered by Banks Mansion in Amsterdam. I got a very fair rate through booking.com and the value increased when you considered their all-inclusive model of everything from breakfast to wifi, whisky to nescafe (the only thing it did not seem to include was the bikes). Another great plus was the Eucalyptus steam shower, which not only helped clear my sinuses, but also offered an alternative to ironing -- wrinkles disappeared after hanging my suit in the shower for a few minutes
The reception was friendly and provided a great Indonesian restaurant recommendation, as well as some leniency when my meeting lasted longer than expected, delaying my check out.
My only regret was I did not stay more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear guest,

It is wonderful to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion. Its give us joy that the full-service and “home, away from home” concept was very appealing to you! We try to do our best to offer as many things complementary to you stay as possible, unfortunately the bikes are a rare exception to this. But those are so unique that a little charge is not so surprising, I hope!
And what an excellent tip for us and our future guests to use the steam shower for getting the wrinkles out of you clothing. But also if you would like to do the ironing in the conventional way, every room has an ironing board and an flatiron available in the room! If you have no time or have delicate clothing we also provide you with fast and clean dry cleaning and washing service.
Good to hear that our recommendation for a restaurant was received well by you. The Guest Relations Officers at Banks Mansion are always prepares to provide you with the appropriate advise and recommendations for restaurants, excursions or any other help you need!

We hope we can take you only regret away and let you stay for more nights at Banks Mansion in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My family of 5 (3 rooms) stayed at this hotel for one day during a stop-over in Amsterdam. What an unexpected delightful experience. The front desk help were pleasant and ...well...helpful. The rooms were very nice, comfortable. But the 'out of the ordinary' that sets this hotel apart was the open bar in the downstairs lobby, the afternoon 'happy hour' with snacks, and the fantastic morning breakfast buffet, that was as good as what your receive at most nice restaurants. All complimentary!

We hope to return to Amsterdam for a longer stay, and we will return to this marvelous 'surprise' find.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relation Officer at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you with the utmost gratitude and sincere appreciation for your great review. It is wonderful for my colleagues at Banks Mansion and myself to hear that you have enjoyed the stay to the full potential.

It is joyful to hear that you have enjoyed our full service concept: The open bar, the snacks and the live cooking in our breakfast restaurant.

We hope to be of service to you again, when you attend Banks Mansion in Amsterdam for you next visit.

With kind regards,

Paul Buyser
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.