We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great services” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great services”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Whilst we felt the hotel was looking a little "tired" and definitely should not fall into the category of being a luxury hotel it was very comfortable and the staff were very polite and helpful.
The big advantage of this hotel to us, apart from the central location, were the included extras. The wine buffet in the late afternoon was generous and Di encourage social interaction between guests. The free wifi worked brilliantly without the need for troublesome passwords on our iPads and the computer in the lobby for general use by guests had access to a printer. Great for printing information and also airline boarding passes for advance check-ins. It did feel like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Canal view would be preferable and some rooms are considerably larger than others for the same price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

It is very nice to see that we achieved our goal with you: the home away from home feeling. The opinion of the style of Banks Mansion is very personal, every hotel will be different with their style and atmosphere. Very good to hear that you have enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel. We hope to welcome you for another home away from home stay.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    977
    247
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
123
702
80
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

pros:
Very warm welcome (though check in can take long)
Nice common room
Everything included (bar, minibar, breakfast)
Centrally located
Nice shower

Cons:
Dirty (smelly pillows, dust under the bed, old carpet)
Needs to be updated (cheap equipment, damaged walls and ceilings, windows, etc.)
Construction work so very noisy (June 2012)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review. Your remarks are important to us to improve. Our goal is to check all the guests in as soon as possible. A queue in front of the front desk is something we do not see as a common situation, if so then we offer the guest to have a seat and a drink from the Living before the actual check in time. Your notes regarding the rooms will be taken very seriously, thank you very much for taking the effort of giving this information to us. Nowadays Amsterdam has constructions due to the North South line. A positive thing, because the next time that you will visit Amsterdam, the public transport will even be better and takes you to places within no time. Down side are the constructions here and there. Unfortunately this is something that we can not avoid, but the constructions in front of the hotel were only for a few days and are finished at the moment. We do hope to see you back to Banks Mansion to give us a second change and giving us a new result on your review.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Please don't do this to yourself. This is not top ten material.

My usual hotels were sold out so based on positive reviews here I booked the largest Exec room. The room was barely big enough for our luggage. I wanted to check out as soon as I got in & checked if I could pay more to move into a bigger room - does not exist. I shudder to think what the smaller rooms look like.

For a similar price, you can get a small room at The Dylan, but the design and tall ceilings there avoid the claustrophobic effects of Banks.

If it isn't the dirt on the window sills, then the noise of trams on Vijzelstraat will get you. What a miserable night! Cheap, 3 star, and dirty come to mind when I describe this hotel.

The complimentary stuff is nonsense. I would't drink the generic liquor, and neither our minibar, nor the main lobby had anything worth indulging.

There is no porter, concierge, or anyone other than the front desk crew. The extremely thin staff was helpful, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Guest Relations Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear guest,

We appreciate your time to write your personal opinion, this keeps us alert. The hotel that you compare us with is a hotel with a different style. Every hotel in the world will have their own personal style and what the opinion of the guest will be is personal per person. We have chosen for an art deco style with a home feeling by offering the guest a Living with for instance an open bar. Another unique point of Banks Mansion is the location in the centre of Amsterdam. The hotel has chosen for double windows in the rooms and preferences can be placed in the booking so that we can do our very best to give the guest the type of room that has been requested for, but complete silence is difficult in a city centre. We offer different types of rooms: a Deluxe room and Deluxe canal view room, an Executive room and the Suite. The Suite would have been an upgrade, but was probable fully booked during the period that you stayed with us. It is very unfortunate to see that you did not like to indulge in the facilities that we offer to the guest such as the Living or the minibar, this is one of the unique points that makes the decision for guests to stay with us. We have not chosen for a concierge, but Guest Relations Officers. They are here to help every guest with the information and service that they need.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The location cannot be beat, right on the Herengracht canal, on the trolley line and walking distance to many things. The staff is extremely solicitous and helpful and, as promised, everything is included: snacks and beverages from the room mini-bar, full breakfast and the bar in the lobby including the fruit, sausage and cheese tray in the evening. Plus there is free wi-fi and you can use the computers or the iPads in the lobby if you have not brought your own. It clearly caters to English and American guests (everyone we met was) and the food and beverage choices reflect that. They even have ice machines on every floor which I have never seen in a non-chain European hotel. But like many "all inclusive" things it is very expensive. It was easily the most expensive place we stayed during our two weeks in Germany. the Netherlands and France, and the rooms were the smallest and most cramped. They stuff a lot of furniture in them and it makes it very hard to move around, find space for luggage etc. I tripped over an ottoman in the dark and fell into the table on which they had set up a full bar. We were on the fourth floor and the rooms there may be smaller. The bed was very comfortable and they have a very innovative service that allows you to select your pillow. It was a crazy weekend because (unknown to us when we booked) it was Queens Day that Monday so there were huge crowds of people everywhere, but the staff at the Banks Mansion seemed to keep up with everyone's needs in spite of the chaos.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Let me start by thanking you for your friendly review. It is nice to see that you have enjoyed all the great values of Banks Mansion. We do our very best to be sure that everything that a guest needs is available at Banks Mansion and if not we will make sure that the guest receives the information that is needed to fulfill his of her wish. It is difficult for a hotel to have big rooms in the middle of the city centre of Amsterdam, although the guest can choose from different type of rooms that we offer. I hope that you were able to enjoy our lovely holiday Queensday. We did our very best to inform all our guests about this busy feast before arrival, but unfortunately we are not able to gather all the personal information of the guest like an email address or telephone number due to privacy restrictions. We do hope to welcome you in the future.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was our 2nd time in the city and we really enjoyed this gem of a boutique hotel in a great location in Amsterdam. It is stylish and very pleasant.
All of our drinks and a wine and cheese sampler were free, and added to our experience.
Breakfast was tasty. Room was clean and comfortable.
Staff was very friendly and helpful.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side as it is quieter and the view is lovely. Street side rooms will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the effort of writing a nice review for us. We hope to welcome you again so we can provide you with friendly and helpful service again.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel is beautiful and stylish. I recommend this to folks who are looking for a bit of luxury for a decent price on the canals and like to enjoy wine and cheese in the afternoons. The staff is helpful but for some reason, I heard them apologising a lot for some of the mistakes that had happened during reservations, including mine. Check when you book online, you might not be able to cancel your booking without full payment.

Room Tip: When booking a double, make sure you have two separate beds, if you need that, not one big one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and thank you for recommending the hotel to other people. As soon as we notice that something goes wrong during the stay of a guest we will make sure that the problem is completely taken care of so that we are sure that the guest walks out the hotel with a big smile. Guests are able to book a Flexible rate with a cancelation policy of 24 hours or a Best-buy rate with the lowest rate possible, but without the option of cancelling without charges. We hope to welcome you again in our mansion!


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Banks Mansion for six days and found it to be an exceptional boutique hotel. The room, although a little small, was very well decorated in Mondrian style and the bed was the most comfortable I have slept in for a very long time. Each room had a free minibar and there was a complimentary open bar with snacks available 24 hr/day in the lobby. Breakfasts were exceptional. The hotel is located near all major sites and the tram. Last, but not least, the hotel staff were exceedingly helpful and courteous with any of our queries. When we return to Amsterdam, Banks Mansion will be our choice.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. It is very nice to see that you have chosen the hotel with decoration for instance that you personally like. It is important to us that every guest has a good night sleep, keeping in mind that there will be a lot walking around during the day. Therefore we have chosen a very comfortable bed. I will make sure that you positivity towards the team of Banks Mansion will be forwarded.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.