We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but pricey.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice place, but pricey.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I travelled alone, so I wanted a nice place and centrally located. This was a great place. I arrived early, but they gave me a room right away! It is right on the Herengracht Canal. I was a street level on the street, so there was noise into the night. It is right by the Bloemenmarkt so there is alot of traffic and foot traffic. You might want to be off the street or on a higher level maybe. The room was nicely appointed and breakfast was good. The location was perfect. It is walkable to Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum and the Heineken museum/tasting place. It is also walking distance to Jordaan - my very favorite part of town. Anne Frank house is very close to that area. If you are going soon, it doesn't look like the pictures, it is covered with a cloth of some sort.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the street, too much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review! We are proud of the very attractive location. Banks Mansion is situated in the middle of the city centre, close to all the sights that Amsterdam has to offer. However, as it is situated in the city center, it is not always that quiet .Therefore the rooms are provided with double windows. But to keep out all the noise will be difficult. To make sure that the guest will have everything that they expect, we will do our very best to give the preferences that they ask for. For instance a room on the back-side of the hotel when a quiet room is requested. At this moment Banks Mansion has a different appearance from the outside; The frames of Banks Mansion are being painted at the moment to maintain the historical building that we are situated in. These renovations will end on the 19th of April. The painters started on the Canal side, this part is finished. A cloth is placed on the street side at the moment. We hope to welcome you again to Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    956
    245
    50
    22
    17
See reviews for
109
665
76
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great boutique Hotel in the Centre of Amsterdam. Only 2 minutes away from Rembrand Square.

Reception and breakfast staff are very professional and true hosts.

Great surprise to see the complimentary snacks and drinks in the hotel lobby/living.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Banks Mansion as your place to stay. We see that you made good use of the values of Banks! Also our thanks for your compliments towards the team. I will make sure that they will receive your note. We hope to welcome you again and let us make sure that you will enjoy the complimentary drinks and appetizers once more during another great stay to remember!

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

This hotel is pricey, but worth it. First hotel I've been in where the liquor was included! The staff is super, the food was very good and the room impeccable. The hotel is on a canal on a main road. There is a Lott to see within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy_Doodeman_GRM, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments towards the hotel and the team of Banks Mansion. Besides the liquor we can offer the guest a full service concept. The guest has the option to book a Double Deluxe or a Double Deluxe Canal view room. Let me guarantee you that I will leave this motivating review to the complete staff. We hope that we can welcome you again.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Quite simply this is an amazing hotel. We loved every second of it. From the moment we checked in (very early) and were given a room straight away and the offer of breakfast to the minute we handed back out iPad and checked out, the staff were brilliant and could not do enough for us.

The rooms are maybe a bit on the small side, but its Amsterdam, so that is to be expected. They are in no way cramped though and have everything you need for a great stay - free mini-bar, bottles of spirits, bathrobes, slippers, the lot. There is even a pillow menu so you can choose the one that is just right for you!

The location is brilliant - right in the heart of everything, but far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be peaceful. You can easily walk everywhere. the only time we took a tram was to/from the train station when we had our cases, but we could easily have walked!

The 'home from home' concept is perfect - everything is included and you simply help yourself to the tea/coffee/snacks/alcohol/juice that is available in The Lounge. Sitting by the fire after dinner with a drink in hand, reading one of the many magazines made available was a very civilised way to spend an evening!

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joesterreicher, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate that you have placed such a positive review on Banks Mansion. We see that you made good use of the full service concept, the location and the service of the staff. We hope to welcome you again in the near future and let us try to achieve the ‘home away from home’ feeling with you again.

With kind regard,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012 via mobile

A very very nice hotel, in the middle of everything. Great service, lovely atmosphere, wonderful breakfast. We have stayed all over the world and this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joesterreicher, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your excellent review. Especially when the hotel is given such a high review from experienced guests who stayed in a lot of hotels around the world. Let us make sure that your stay will be excellent again next time you book at Banks Mansion.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

A hotel designed to relax and unwind in. From the lovely roaring fire (very welcome on the cold afternoons and evening) to the nice touches like the open bar, cheese board, computers and papers to just relax and enjoy whenever you want.

The beds are super comfortable and the bedding luxurious and the canal view was a real treat.

The hotel is ideally situated for great walks all around Amsterdam.

We visited the Koh i noor indian restaurant and the Stoop and Stoop...both of which were excellent value for money and superb for food and atmosphere.

The ladies on reception are very attentive and do all that the can to help.

Tip.... dont get a taxi from the airport here (it will cost you around 45 euros)...Get the train to Central station (9 euros for two people)and either a brief taxi journey from there or a fifteen minute walk will save you a fortune.

Have fun...i'm envious of anyone going here...we were there for three days and really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Walk everywhere....the canals are fabulous to walk around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joesterreicher, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Let me inform you that your note is a very nice compliment to the hotel. Let me insure you that I will leave your comment with the team of Banks Mansion. It is nice to see that you made good use of our full service concept. It is important to us that the guest has a good night sleep and is relaxed the day after to enjoy the complete city. Thank you very much for your restaurant suggestion. The Guest Relations Officers will be ready for the guest to give even more suggestions. To make your information for the journey towards the Airport even more complete: you can take tram number 4, 16, 24 or 25 to get from the hotel to the Central station. The ticket that you buy for this journey will cost the you €2.70. We hope to welcome you again and make sure that your stay will be enjoyable again.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel was really great, especially concidering the price. Great concept (free drinks at the bar plus minibar), nice rooms, great location and pleasant personel. The only downsides are that the rooms are a little dark and cold (during winter/early spring), and that the breakfast could've offered a little more.

But all in all we really enjoyd our stay.

Room Tip: Deluxe room have all drinks included
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joesterreicher, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Thank you very much for staying at Banks Mansion and placing down a note at Tripadvisor. Banks Mansion is an historical building with different types of rooms. We always do our very best to keep in mind what the guest prefers regarding the room type, for instance the preference of a room, a room on the front- or backside of the hotel. Every room is provided with a heater where the guest can heat up the room with. We can always help the guest by giving an extra blanket when they are still cold. Let us try to make your stay completely perfect next time.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.