We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Travelocity
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I'm not one for writing reviews but Banks Mansion deserves a word or two. We stayed in the hotel for one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. They took care of everything from showing us around the hotel to organising trasport for our trip. We were made to feel comfortable as soon as we arrived.
Everything was included in the price; drinks (a wide selection of alcoholic and non alcoholic bevarages) and snacks in the lobby, the mini-bar in the room which included more snacks and three decanters. The lobby area of the hotel was not like any I have ever come across. The "help yourself to anything you like" concept really made you feel part of the hotel and created a great and unique atmosphere among the guests and staff alike.
The rooms were excellent, no noise could be heard from either of the rooms we had at the front or the back. The decor was to an extremely high standard with a sort of art-deco theme. Smart and luxurious offering free movies and even a "pillow menu"!.
Breakfast was served downstairs (this was also included in the price) where there was a wide selection of cold foods from cereals to meats, not to mention a breakfast-chef on hand to russtle up anything from plain eggs to pancakes!!

This really is a great hotel and i can't reccomend it highly enough. Needless to say we will be returning in the near future!! Perfect.

Room Tip: All great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
It is a big compliment to us when we see that our guests take the effort of writing a review, especially when they normally don’t. A big thanks from the staff of Banks Mansion for your review regarding their services to you. It is our purpose to make sure that the guest feels at home and comfortable as soon as they walk through our door. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the full service concept. I hope to welcome you again for a longer stay in the future?

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    879
    229
    45
    21
    16
See reviews for
97
606
72
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This small hotel is located on the corner of the Vijzelgracht and the Herengracht, slap bang in the middle of Amsterdam. Within 1 minute's walk you're at the floating Flower Market and the Muntplein (start of the Kalverstraat - the shopping street). If you walk two minutes, you're at the Rembrandtplein. Everything is so close by, it's great.
We were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel itself. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Downstairs is a lounge area with a well-stocked bar (free) where you can enjoy anything from Tea to G&T. There are small snacks available, and from about 4 there is a large and varied cheese/meat platter for nibbles to accompany your drinks.
The room was large, had a free mini-bar, a pillow menu (where you can choose the pillow that best suits you), and a large bathroom with bath and separate walk-in shower.
If you're looking for a good 4 star hotel in the very heart of Amsterdam with great service, this is definitely the place to be. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
First of all thank you very much for placing your review on Tripadvisor. Good to read that you made good use of the location of Banks Mansion. I hope that you found your favorite pillow from our pillow menu and that you had the time to relax in the bath of your bathroom. We are looking forward to welcome you again as our returning guests.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at this excellent hotel for a weekend. We were warmly welcomed and even offered champagne at check in. The hotel offers a kind of all inclusive service. This means complimentary drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcohlic), coffee/tea and snacks in the lobby bar area 24/7. You are also offered cheese in the afternoon. Breakfast was great too with a selection of bread, marmelade, yoghurt, cheese, cereals and fruit as well as local specialties and a chef who can satisfy your desire for omelettes. Breakfast was of course also included.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable with complimentary minibar and your very own Nespresso machine. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
To celebrate the fact that we have won the award for one of the best hotels of the Netherlands, we offer the guests a glass of champagne for this month up on check-in. I am pleased to see that we have made you happy with this offer. It is an enormous compliment to Banks Mansion when we see that the guest returns to us. We are more then happy to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had a wonderful time as a guest at Banks Mansion, were made to feel very much 'at home' with much more than you would expect from any hotel........espresso machine, cognac, whiskey, gin and mini bar all included in price. Excellent breakfasts and open bar plus wine and cheese in evening.
Great rooms, great location and warm welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed Banks Mansion with the full service concept. Compliments like yours makes the complete team of Banks Mansion motivated for what they work for.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous both for its architecture and for the interior design.
It's 10 mins walking distance to the city center and facing the canal. Very close to the flower market as well. Everything there was so comfortable and warm. Such a great atmosphere with a lovely fireplace and very efficient and kind staff.
The thing I enjoyed the most was their "feel at home" concept. They basically have a 24/7 open bar in the lobby where you can help yourself with food and drinks (both alcoholic and non-alcoholic) as you please, just like you would do at home. This is absolutely amazing. I also enjoyed their breakfast service, with local specialties and a chef who can satisfy your desire for omelettes right on the spot!

Our room was absolutely perfect. There were 3 different types of pillows, very comfortable and soft (including memory foam). The room was very clean, beautiful view and perfect quiet acoustic. We also had complementary drinks in the room and free wi-fi throughout the hotel for the entire stay. In one word: FANTASTIC. A+

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
The architecture and interior design are one of the values that makes this hotel exceptional for the guest. We are happy to see that we could please you on this part. Besides this a big value to the guest is the central location. The feeling that you felt is exactly that what we try to achieve with our guests: your home away from home. I also see that you made use of the extra facilities that we offer such as the pillow menu. Thank you very much for your review and let us make your stay fantastic again when you return to Banks Mansion.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We arrived at the Banks Mansion after an arduous flight from the US. Landing winds in excess of 40 knots made it exciting. Took the Connecxion from the airport to the hotel -- best value! We arrived well before check-in time but they had our room available. Dropped our gear and had breakfast before setting out to explore this wonderfully amazing city. The hotel room was very appealing and had amenities anyone would ask for: complimentary liquor, mini-bar, and forest rain shower -- a great prelude to our African safari. Only two negative points: (1) reservation rate was made when Euro was stronger; the manager would not reduce the conversion to the current level and (2) we had breakfast upon arrival and asked this to be used as our inclusive breakfast instead of the day of departure as we would be leaving before breakfast was served; we were denied this $34 request. Other than those two issues, this is a grand hotel and you are treated as if you are home!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
I am pleased to see that you were able to check in before the official check-in time. As soon as we see that a guest is arriving early we will always do our very best to check the guest in as soon as we can. Otherwise we will offer the guest a free drink from our open bar and store their luggage in our storage room. Europe experiences periods that the Euro is stronger or that the Euro is weaker. The official check-in time is at 3 pm, this will also be the moment that the full service concept is officially starting. For the guests who depart early in the morning we offer an Early Bird breakfast from 6 until 7 am. I hope you will give us the opportunity to change your two remarks in to two positive comments in the future.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I stayed here for a convention and it really turned out to be a great choice. The hotel is very intimate and feels comfortable from the lobby to the breakfast area to the rooms. The lobby is great because they have complimentary drinks (alcoholic and non-alcoholic) as well as snacks. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

The all-inclusive nature really works out well. Not only is breakfast included (with a made-to-order omelette station) but everything in the minibar is free as well. I'm not a big drinker so I didn't touch the bottles of whiskey, cognac and gin in each room but it was nice when I came back from the convention to be able to grab a few bottles of water or a Red Bull without worrying how much it was going to cost me.

The staff is incredibly friendly and very eager to help. If you are looking for restaurant recommendations, talk to Joost and the staff at the front desk and they will send you in the right direction. All 3 places they recommended were great.

I travel a lot for work and for pleasure and I would definitely stay here again. It was not much more expensive than the other hotels I was looking at. It is just a novel concept and it works very well to make me feel comfortable when I am away from home.

Room Tip: I had a room on the second floor. I understand there are canal view rooms but I was not staying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma W, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
After a full day of sightseeing or after a long day at a congress or convention it is very easy and comfortable if you are able take a drink or an appetizer yourself without having to wait in a bar: home away from home, exactly the feeling that you described in your review. It is good to see that you enjoyed the full service concept. I will forward your compliment to Joost and the rest of the team. The Guest Relations Officers are here to help you with suggestions for a good restaurants in Amsterdam up to the sight that you would like to see during your stay. It is our job to make the stay of a guest complete. We are more then happy to help.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam
Address: Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list