We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Very nice hotel with an exellent location in Amsterdam! Free minibar, free drinks and finger food in the lobby, nice, clean rooms, and a very helpful staff. What more do you need? :-)
A nice effect of the free drinks and food in the lobby is that its very social. People wind down in front of the fireplace, drink wine and share experiences and plans. Quickly you end up with new friends, having a ball in Amsterdam...:-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your review. These reviews are important to us. With these reviews we can compliment our team or place a note for the relevant department for improvement. It is enjoyable to see that the guests of Banks Mansion mix with one another. And especially nice when Banks Mansion is the cause of a new developed friendship. We hope to welcome you and your new made friends again to Banks Mansion, maybe as a reunion in the near future.. ;-).


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    941
    242
    49
    22
    17
See reviews for
107
657
76
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you like staying in a boutique hotel with fantastic personal service stay here! They offer an inclusive service which gives you complementary drinks and nibbles throughout the day with a complementary mini bar which is topped up daily - great if you fancy a coffee and liquour after being out all day or for a glass or two of wine before going out of an evening!
Breakfast was exceptional with a great choice of freshly cooked waffles or French toast.
The staff you couldn't fault, a credit to the charlton group. Personal touches which you don't get, even in many top hotels, like remembering your name as you left the hotel, wishing you an enjoyable evening at the restaurant we had reservations for - how do they remember!!
The only reason I haven't awarded 5 stars is that our room wasn't the best (312) - no view, small window, a leaking shower door which soaked the floor each time you used it and slightly crispy toilet tissue - not befitting of a quality hotel - change your provider Banks Mansion!!
Apart from those fussy points we would recommend any one to stay here, thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for your review. Secondly our thanks for the compliments to the qualities of the hotel. It is very important to the team of Banks Mansion to really get to know the guests and give them the service that they need and deserve. We will definitely keep your remarks in mind and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to award us with five stars after your next stay at Banks Mansion.


With kind regards

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel based on past reviews and what we wanted from our stay over Christmas. I can truly say that this was the best choice by far and was not disappointed! All the staff where very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was fantastic and was very clean. Breakfast was lovely and had a good selection of foods. The open bar was a fantastic and unique idea with lots of choice. Overall, very happy visit and will be coming back. Strongly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear guest,

We are very proud of all the comments that are written by the guests of Banks Mansion. Especially during Christmas time it is important to feel that Banks Mansion is your home away from home. We hope to welcome you again and try to achieve the exact same feeling that you felt during your last stay.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Banks Mansion in June 2010 for 4 nights. The idea is simple, ALL inclusive. On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a canal view room on the top floor. The room size was very good and well appointed. Spirits in decanters in the room, no extra charge, mini bar, no extra charge. All beverages and nibbles in the ground floor lounge - free (all day and night). Breakfast cooked fresh, just for you every morning. The staff were extremely knowledgeable and always friendly. Centrally located and within easy walking distance to anywhere in beautiful Amsterdam. Tasteful decorations... we just want to go back. It felt like home.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the effort in writing a review after more then a year. It is nice to see that you enjoyed all the great values of Banks Mansion. It is a great compliment to the complete team of Banks Mansion that you felt like this hotel was your second home. And as a respond to your sentence that you would like to go back: we are all looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel rocks. Traveled here for work and after 5 hotels in 5 nights across the rest of Europe, the Banks Mansion was a welcome respite. Here's why:

1. Uber central. Walking distance from loads of restaurants and right next to a beautiful canal. Can get to anywhere in Amsterdam from here very easily.

2. The rooms are comfy and chic. The bed was really great. And there's free alcohol in the room if you need a whiskey before falling asleep. (ahem...)

3. In fact, there's a free bar - like a full, real bar - in the lobby so you can have before-dinner and after-dinner drinks like you would in your own living room. Nuts, crackers, good cheese, candy all available. It might seem like just a little perk but when you've been working all day, or sight-seeing all day, coming back to a warm lobby with good snacks and drinks can seem like an oasis.

4. There is an electronic, free shoe shine on floor 1 (and I assume other floors too). Nice touch as I headed out at 8am trying to look sharp.

5. The breakfast is outstanding. A lovely woman made an omelette right there as I waited - with fresh veg and ham. Great coffee, lots of fruit. No need to eat breakfast anywhere else.

6. The staff was excellent. They helped with everything we needed (restaurant, cabs etc) fast and courteously.

I was here for business and I will stay here every time from now on. Why would I stay somewhere else? If I come back with family, I will stay here as well.

A few side notes:
- Don't stay on the 1st floor if you can help it. On the weekends all night long you will have foot traffic as people go to and from bars and restaurant, and you'll hear them talking.
- As a work traveler, budget wasn't a huge issue. I think the rates are well worth it, but if you are a family on a budget, this may not be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Stay at least on floor 1 (in Europe, floor 1 is like floor 2 in the US) to lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for choosing Banks Mansion as your place to stay. We appreciate all the positive comments you have placed in your review. We really enjoy to read that Banks Mansion has become your second home to stay during your business travel. We hope to welcome you and your family in the near future and let them experience the same feeling that you felt during your stay. I will make sure that every department will receive your lovely remarks.

With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We chose this hotel entirely from the TA reviews and comparing a few others. The all inclusive concept and great location were deciding factors. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Banks Mansion. We arrived very early in the morning after a long day and night of transit from Africa. The kindest words we had ever heard were "We have rooms ready for you now" quickly followed by "and please feel free to join us for breakfast". Our room was lovely and very comfortable. I'm rather confused by the comments that say the all inclusive isn't worth the extra cost. I get so tired of $7 bottles of water sitting in hotel rooms, mini-bars that charge if you even touch any of the contents and $20-$30 charges for breakfast. We and our friends appreciated that water, soft drinks and snacks were available in the room, as was a Nespresso machine. In the lobby were comfortable chairs, a bar with soft drinks, juices,coffee, tea, waters, wine, beer, liquor and mixers. The cheese board was brought in around 5:00 p.m. and had a selection of cheeses, sausage, crackers, breads, olives, nuts. We enjoyed relaxing with our friends in the friendly ambience that we shared with other guests. Very nice. Breakfast was nicely presented and included fruit, juices, breads, pastries, cheeses, meats both cold and warm, cereal and of course the made to order omelets. I wanted to provide detail on this as some reviewers have left the impression that it didn't amount to much.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We requested a room with two twins (#307) and it was bigger than the one our friends had with just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 25, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your superb review. Reviews like yours are an enormous compliment to the team of Banks Mansion. We understand that guests arriving early prefer to get to their room as quickly as possible. The official check in time is at 3 o’clock, but we always do our best to check the guest in as soon as we can to make their stay as comfortable as possible. I am happy to see that this was the case during your arrival. When the guest has to wait for their room we provide the service to store the luggage and give them the opportunity to join breakfast. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our full service concept. The home feeling you received is exactly that what we try to achieve with all our guests. Not having to pay high prices for items from for example your minibar, but a full service concept. I hope I will have the honor to welcome you again in the near future and I will make sure that this fantastic comment will be passed to everyone of the employees of Banks Mansion.


With kind regards,

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

My Husband and I arrived at Banks Mansion for part of our Honeymoon trip... We were not disappointed with the location as the hotel itself is a stones throw away from Remembrantplein, and a short walk to Dam Square.
We opted for a Canal Facing room, and had requested a bath upon our arrival if available, as not all rooms have this option. After notifying the hotel that this was infact our honeymoon break it would have been a nice touch if we were not infact charged an additional cost for the bath at 32 Euros for our two night stay. We were already paying 'over the price' for a Deluxe Canal Facing room because of the all inclusive option, that is frankly over rated. The cost for a 2 night stay, inlcuding the bath and city tax was £500.00 and was a lot really for what this hotel had to offer.
The all inclusive option was a quirky feature, as you have cognac, whisky and gin decanters in the room, but as other reviewers have stated you can only drink so much alcohol! Despite my Husband enjoying a few shorts in the Evening, this accompanied by the small cheese board did not really meet our expectations, and left us a bit disatisfied with the hotel.
The rooms were tastefully decorated, as was the Lobby (Living Room) and Kitchen area. However, we found the Conceirge and Reception Staff Customer Service very hit and miss... When we arrived our room was not ready (as expected as check in is 3pm) however, we were left with our cases in the lobby! We had to ask to have our luggage stored, which we thought would have been an obvious task to help us with.
Amsterdam is an amazing city, however we would look at other hotels options next time as Banks Mansion price is too expensive for what you get!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Pouncett,

First of all thank you for your review, we appreciate this very much. Most sights are on walking distance from the hotel and situated in the city centre, it is very good to hear that you made good use of this value. The extra amount of €32,- has been a supplement for the more luxurious type of room which is also completed with a bath that you wished for. We are proud of our full service concept which means an open bar with soft- and strong drinks, wines and prosecco, the appetizers during the day and at night until the stocked minibar in the room and a buffet breakfast in the morning. Besides this we also provide free premium wireless internet and a Nespresso machine in each type of room. When a guest arrives early we try to give them the home feeling right away. We give the guests the opportunity to already enjoy and relax their selves in our Living together with a drink and an appetizer. We provide the service to store the luggage of the guest in our storage. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by not asking this same question to you. Service and hospitality is the most important value of our hotel and that same opinion is shared by the Banks Mansion Team. I remember that I have welcomed you and have assisted you during your stay, I really hope to welcome you again as our guest in Banks Mansion!


With kind regards

Nancy Doodeman
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, Amsterdam 1017 BV, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.