We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic boutique hotel with a modern touch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic boutique hotel with a modern touch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I spent 4 nights at Banks Mansion in late October and had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time. I wanted a unique experience in Amsterdam - a hotel on a canal with modern amenities, a fun atmosphere, and within walking distance of all the attractions. Banks did not disappoint! The hotel retains its classic design but has the modern amenities we all love. I paid close to $400/night for a canal view room, but the amenities that came with this rate were well worth it.

The staff were on point, helping with nightly dinner reservations (and not steering us to the normal tourist traps), making delicious made-to-order crepes and omelets each morning, and helping us book fun excursions (the Reypenaer wine and cheese class was an unexpected highlight).

Although the rooms are not huge, they are nicely appointed and the bathroom/shower is great. The bed is extremely comfortable and free WiFi is also an added bonus. The best part of the hotel is the lobby and you could tell that all the guests loved this part as well. After spending the day walking around Amsterdam, it was great to come back to the hotel and relax by the fireplace. There is a complimentary beverage and snack area with some nice wine and local cheeses, salami and olives. The hotel is great for friends or couples traveling together, but I also noticed some families at the hotel and loved that they were hanging out in the lobby reading and playing games together in the evening.

The location can't be beat and is within walking distance to all the sites in Amsterdam. I never used public transportation or taxis while staying here because we could easily walk everywhere. The hotel is located on the Herengracht canal, which in my opinion is one of the most beautiful canals to walk along in Amsterdam.

The Banks Mansion is a good combination of hip, comfortable and welcoming. If I find myself in Amsterdam again, the Banks Mansion will definitely be my home for the stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Vijzelstraat, which has the tram line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Kate,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you take the time to inform us about your stay at Banks Mansion.

We love to hear you enjoyed your stay at Banks Mansion, our 'Full Service' concept and the city centre of Amsterdam.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at Banks Mansion.

With kindly regards,

Banks Mansion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    977
    247
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
123
702
80
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed at the Banks Mansion when I went to Amsterdam recently for a business trip. Although it was only for one night, the experience was most certainly unforgettable. My flight arrived in Amsterdam from Singapore in the early morning, and I was totally exhausted. When I arrived at the hotel, I was greeted by the friendly staff at the counter, who was able to allocate a room to me immediately. Moreover, she allowed me to have breakfast on that morning. The standard of the breakfast was very good, and I was able to get some sleep after the meal. I really appreciated their wonderful arrangement, and I was very impressed with the service provided by the staff during my stay. I would most definitely book this hotel again when I next travel to Amsterdam, and I would highly recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for this nice review!

You make us very happy by posting this review. We are glad we met you expectations and we hope to exceed in this during your next visit.

With warm regards,

The Banks Mansion Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We went for 3 nights and couldn't fault it. The room was lovely, we didn't have a canal view one but you could see the canal as it runs along one side of the hotel so probably not really worth paying out the extra. The bed was incredibly comfortable (complete with pillow menu if you didn't like the ones there!) and the room was a really good size. Free minibar was refilled every day and the bathroom was beautiful with an enormous shower.

Breakfast (very good) is served until half 10 which is great if you're not an early riser and the free bar is a great idea as the hotel lobby isn't an empty space as everyone seemed to pop in for a pre dinner drink and again later for a nightcap, there's also a free cheeseboard out every evening with lovely wines and champagne. There's also tea, coffee and alcoholic drinks and nibbles (muffins, chocolates etc) throughout the day.

Overall a wonderful place to stay, less than a minute from the flower market and great restaurants nearby in Rembrandt Square - especially the Italian one! The Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and always pleased to see us. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you take the time to inform us about your stay at Banks Mansion.

We are absolutely delighted with your kind comments. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome your back at Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

The Banks Mansion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Unfortunately We only stayed one night while visiting a Trade Show. Arriving at about 5.30pm we where quickly checked in and shown extras included, so after putting bags in our room - came down and made cup of tea - rapidly followed by glass of wine and selection from cheese board. Luckily our evening Restaurant was only a short walk away!! Good breakfast - eggs to order whatever you fancy. A short walk from Flower Market and Foam. Wished we where staying another night and would definetly go back. Ideally located within walking distance of alot of museums and sites.

Room Tip: We booked canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you take the time to inform us about your stay at Banks Mansion.

We hope to welcome you back in Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

The Banks Mansion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

we spent a fantastic weekend in this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are well equipped and the beds are particularly comfortable. The complimentary cheese and olives etc that are available early evening were delicious. The bar was superb. A particularly nice touch was the big pots of sweets.
Great location. Everything in walking distance.Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment on Tripadvisor! We really appreciate that.

We hope to welcome you back in Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

The Banks Mansion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Banks Mansion certainly lives up to the great reviews. We had read them prior to booking and were not disappointed. The price is reasonable for everything that is included- nice breakfast with cook-to-order omelets, scramble, pancakes or french toast, stocked bar in the lobby available 24/7. They also have stocked decanters of gin, whiskey in the rooms. They really promote this "all-included" idea and they do it well. We had a nice 3rd floor room with a view of the Herengracht canal. The hotel and rooms are decorated in an art-deco style with influences of architect Frank Lloyd Wright. Great location and an 15-20 minute walk to Centraal station. There is also public transit stop nearby. The staff is very nice and professional; handled typical hotel requests like restaurant reservations, transportation to the airport well. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I've only seen one type of room - Canal View. I would certainly book that type again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate you take the time to inform us about your stay at Banks Mansion.

We are absolutely delighted with your kind comments for our 'Full service' concept. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome your back at Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

The Banks Mansion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights for a birthday treat. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel is in a great location within easy reach of Dam square and the museum district. The rooms were fully equipped with an espresso machine, access to an iPad and a free mini bar! Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanksMansion, Account Manager at Banks Mansion, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to inform us about your stay at Banks Mansion. We do hope you had a pleasant birthday during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in Banks Mansion.

With kind regards,

The Banks Mansion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;