We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Save Saved
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home from home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

The many great reviews are justified. We loved this beautiful hotel. Lovely Art Deco theme in public areas as well as the rooms. The breakfast was very good. It rained a lot during our long weekend but the hotel was conveniently located and we kept popping back for a quick coffee or something stronger in the evening. The various freebies (wifi, films, papers, sof and alcoholic drinks, nibbles) were a real treat. The staff were friendly and helpful. Couldn't really ask for more. Defintely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms out back are slightly bigger but I'd go for canal view rather than a few square feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    969
    245
    49
    22
    16
See reviews for
122
697
80
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Well thought out art deco design, charming helpful staff, perfect location, and wonderful extras made the Banks Mansion a wonderful choice for our visit to the Grachtenfestival.

My girlfriend says this is her first hotel with the kind of lighted vanity table a woman wants. The breakfasts were excellent, especially the made to order omelets. The self service bar in the lounge has on demand cappuccino, latte, or coffee all day long with an assortment of snacks. In the late afternoon there is a table with sausages, cheeses, fruit, and a memorable nut and fruit bread. Juices, soda, beer, and wine are available all day, there's a minibar in each room, and there's a small table with decanters of whiskey, vodka, and cognac. All of this is included in the price.

Every major site in Amsterdam is within a 20 minute walk of the hotel; most are closer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

THE HOTEL & SERVICE
Can't fault it, the staff were lovely and always smiling and helpful. We were amazed with the complimentary drinks in the lobby and in your room, and the complimentary cheeseboard in the afternoon was great. Breakfast was really good with choice of eggs freshly cooked (fried/french toast/scrambled)! The location was perfect, no more than 15 mins walk to everywhere you would want to go.
THE ROOM
We booked less thank 24 hours before we travelled so we didn't get the best room choice but even though it was next to reception (number 7) and on the road side it was pretty quiet. The room was a nice size, not massive but plenty big enough. The bed was AMAZING with great pillows and a choice of others if you wanted to swap them!!
ADVICE
This is the reason I gave 4 points instead of 5... Nothing to do with the hotel itself but the only complaint would be that we booked the hotel's airport shuttle to the airport on the way back for 12.15 pm (15 Euros each which we didn't mind as we thought it would be less stressful than public transport... ha ha!) and it didn't turn up until 12.50pm. We weren't impressed and got to the airport in such a panic and missed all the seats together so travelled apart on the flight :( My advice would be to get the number 1 tram to Amsterdam Centraal station and then the trian to Schiphol from there. Costs less too! Real shame as we'd had a great holiday and it made us really stressed for the return home.

Room Tip: If you want a canal side room you need to ask in advance. Canal side quieter but road side ok too
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

There is nothing to criticize about this hotel and a great deal to praise: best bed, friendly staff, quiet room, ideal location, sumptuous breakfast, and a very congenial lobby with complementary drinks where we met and enjoyed conversation with couples from around the world.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel with beautiful and convenient location. Delicious breakfast, complimentary drinks and light snacks in the evening are especially nice. Comfortable and inviting lounge/lobby. Staff friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is an excellent hotel convenienty located near loads of shops, bars and restaurants. Included in the room price, the hotel provides complimentary wireless internet in all rooms - (you can also send emails direct from Outlook on your laptop, rather than having to use webmail like some hotels where there is no smtp) and in the lobby, complimentary inhouse movies, complimentary minibar - with softdrinks/water/1 can of beer/cognac/gin/whiskey, in the lobby there are complimentary drinks: water/softdrinks/spirits/wine/beer, and snacks: cheeses/salami/olives/raisin bread/etc, and complimentary buffet breakfast: continental (cereals, bread, cheeses, cold meats, pastries; and hot breakfast (bacon, sausages, eggs cooked to order). The staff are very attentive and pleasant. Room sizes are good, the bed is firm and a pillow menu is offered for four different types of pillows. The bathroom has a large rain shower. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel is wonderful. Great location, chic decor, and a very friendly and helpful staff. We loved the self service bar and coffee machine in the beautifully decorated lobby. Even though our room was on the ground level overlooking the street, we had no street noise and actually enjoyed a little peole watching from our room. The most amazing thing...stupid me, completely forgot about $360 in cash in my room safe when we checked out. We left our luggage with the front desk staff to do some more sightseeing, and when we came back to claim it (still not realizing my error), the receptionist recognized me and said "room 8, right?" I wondered why she had remembered such a detail but the she told me that they had discovered the money in the safe after we left and proceeded to hand it over to me. I felt like a dolt but was VERY grateful for her honesty. I guess I'll blame it on the jet lag. Anyway, we would definitley use this hotel again if we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.