We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
shelbygirl315
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have stayed in a few luxury hotels in Amsterdam and this is by far the best. There are only 2 things I would have liked that it did not have. But even with that said, I LOVED this place and we will be back again and again.

The location is great. You can walk every wear. It is a clean with the nicest beds and softest sheets. We had a wonderful view of the canal and large windows that opened to give that very romantic feel. The rooms are small (But if you have been to Amsterdam you know most places have smallish rooms due to space) and there is no bath tub, but the rain shower is great fun. Your room has a few varieties of free liquor in it which is always nice. The breakfast they offer is beyond amazing. Such a variety to chose from and the staff is so wonderful every morning, I loved coming down to them in the morning.

Now, for the part that makes The Banks Hotel the best of the best. The lobby. Where do I begin? The hotel staff is wonderful, remembers your name and is friendly with out being intrusive. They offer 2 stocked fridges in a beautiful home like area that has a variety of liquor to chose from. One fridge is full of a variety of beers from all over the world as well as small bottles of wines. The other fridge is full of cold fruit juices, teas, soda's. They have a cappuccino machine that is super easy to use as well as hot flavored coffee's and hot teas. The offer cookies, crackers, cheese, fruit, chips etc. All are free and there 24/7 for when ever you wish it. Every evening they have wonderful warm appetizers that are delightful after a day out.

I personally loved the lobby and felt so at home there. We would go out all day and come home around 3 or 4. My husband would go up to the room to nap and I would go to the lobby with a good book, get a cappuccino and a munchies or two, sit by the fire and read for hours. While we were there they had a rock band staying for a few days who were playing in the area. They had security with them and fans who wanted to see them, but since you can not get into the hotel unless you are a guest, it was peaceful and quite yet exciting to be around all that.

The bottom line is this place is amazing. Can not say enough great things. I am a person who likes the finer things in life and I don't mind paying for them as long as they are what they say they are.This place will make you feel like you are a rock star....!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    312
    57
    23
    18
See reviews for
157
891
89
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just got back from a two night stay at the Banks Mansion and I have to say it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The room was amazing - clean, spacious with views over the canal. We were worried about being in the centre of Amsterdam that the noise would keep us awake, but with the triple glazing we didn't hear a thing. We loved all the little extras in the room, the decanters with spirits in and a fully stocked mini bar all complimentary. Downstairs in the lounge area there was a help yourself bar which also provided food through out the day, again complimentary. The staff were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, and they were friendly and cheerful at all times. The breakfast was also wonderful with an extensive range of everything you could imagine and eggs etc cooked to order. We will definately stay there again, hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

my husband and i stayed here for 4 nights and we thought this hotel was awesome. the room is on the small side but the bed was comfortable and the bathroom big. location is perfect - we walked everywhere - museums, shopping.. the staff members were great - breakfast is also included as well as drinks in the hotel room and downstairs at the lobby are.. soda, water, alcohol.. will definitely stay at this hotel again. we totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

All the reviews I read about the Banks Mansion were positive and I understand why. The hotel was fantastic. The "concept" is unique in that they offer an open bar (which is well stocked with licquor, sodas, waters, etc.) that's in the lobby and that guests can access themselves without any charge. It's part of the hotel/room price. And it's available 24/7. Newspapers in both English and Dutch available for guests in the main lobby along with two computers which were for guests to access without any charge. Free wireless internet as well is available through out the hotel and rooms. Chairs and sofas with a fire place all in the main lobby. The rooms themselves are comfortable, clean, with flat screen TVs, and large bathrooms. Bed is comfortable. There was free bottles of cognac, whiskey,a dn other alcohol in your room that costs nothing extra. A mini bar is also fully stocked in your room and free of charge (part of your room rate). Comfortable robes and slippers. One minor problem. When we checked in, we paid in advance for a room with a view of the canal. We were given a nice room but no canal view (which cost extra). I mentioned this to the front desk, they saw my copy of the reservation, and they looked in their system. They saw the error and admitted it was there fault but no canal room was available. They offered a discount on the room which is what they should have done. They advised if I wanted ... to call the next morning and they would switch us to a canal room for the remainder of the stay. I took them up on that and called the next day. The hotel offered to give us a canal view in an upgraded room with extra perks in order to not have to offer a discount for the first night foul up. That was reasonable and I took them up on that offer. All in all ... mistakes happen and the hotel acknowledged it and did everything they should to rectify it without any attitude. Breakfast is served in the morning and offers a wide variety of food....again a plus. No fitness center or real restaurant in hotel, but the hotel was just such a great place that these negatives don't even rank against the hotel. One block walk to the flower market and two block walk to canal boat tours. Easy walk to train station, but don't walk it with luggage people ... pay for a cab. It's not that close to the train station and don't struggle on the cobblestone streets with the madness of bicycles and tons of people on the street. The hotel is in a great location, close to everything, but also in a good location in that the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam eases up at night near it so its not loud. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

we arrived early at about 7am and it was great that they had a room avaliable for us without charging us extra. however the room was quite small. the room was pretty dark even with all the lights on. the room felt like it needed a lick of paint. however the bathroom was excellent. it is very big almost as big as the living quarters! big tub and a shower. floor tiles looked new with no cracks. bathroom looked new and very bright. such a contrast against the living area

breakfast, wifi and minibar were included. breakfast was ok. not a great selection with other breakfast deals we had before. wifi was speedy and worked unlike some other hotels we stayed in. minibar was good. nice selection of drinks including whisky and gin and tonic!

also in lobby you can have free drinks and snacks! looked very cosy and even had a fireplace!

staff were very friendly and helpful. during our 4 nights in holland we found the dutch people very friendly and helpful and have excellent english!

the location is a bit away from red light district and the dam. the dam is walkable or you can get the excellent tram service. just buy tickets on board and they give you change! the hotel is very close to the flower market and is nearer the van gogh museum. the hotel is in a quieter part of town. taxi from amsterdam central station to hotel cost 15euros but from hotel to rail station 9euros (weird)

without the breakfast, wifi, minibar and excellent staff we would give this a 3 as the living room was disappointing or average i guess. we were expecting a larger brighter living area especially after reading the positive reviews and staying in other 4 star hotels. however a good 4

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel was rated a 5 Star and deservedly so. Although the rooms were your basic hotel room the bed was extremely comfortable. You have the pillow choice available to you. The staff at reception are very helpful and friendly. The room rate has an 'all inclusive' package including a free mini bar. Don't get to excited the fridge was small and had only one beer, soft drinks and water, no wine but they did have 3 large decanters with Gin, Whiskey and I think the other was Brandy. That is if you are into that.
The foyer down stairs has a lounge which has an open bar at no cost. The only issue we had here was the fridge was not always re-stocked when getting low and the bar area was always messy. It needed someone to keep an eye out and keep it clean. The breakfast downstairs was sufficient to start your day. They do not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner but you can walk to many restuarants close by.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just returned home from a stay at this hotel and definitely want to stay there again if we return to Amsterdam. The staff could not have been more helpful or more friendly - always wanting to do their best for guests. Really nice room, fantastic concept of 'living' making the visit so relaxing and enjoyable. Breakfast a real treat. Excellent location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.