We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The all-inclusive hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banks Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banks Mansion to your Saves list
Banks Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The all-inclusive hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed in a double room for 3 nights in early August 2011.

The hotel is centrally located, right around the corner from Rembrandtsplein and about 10 minutes from the Red Light District and The Dam. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful; all speak fluent English.

The room itself was a generous size and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and a 'pillow menu' is offered allowing four different kinds of pillows to be ordered. 3 movie channels and an adult channel were availble on the TV. Decanters of gin, cognac and whiskey were avilable in the room as well as soft drinks/water in the mini-bar. Air-conditioning and a safe were also present in the room. The bathroom was very large with a full-size bath, separate walk-in shower (enough room for two easily), toilet and basin. Complimentary toiletries were present.

As the hotel is all-inclusive all items from the mini-bar in each room as well as the communal, self-service bar in the foyer are free meaning trips to the supermarket are rather redundant. Snacks are also provided throughout the day. The breakfast was impressive with toast, bacon, sausages, cold meats, rolls etc... provided. Pancakes, scrambled/fried eggs and omelettes were cooked freshly to order.

The level of service is unprecedented: a) the hotel staff make excellent restaurant recommendations; b) on my birthday the management arranged for a couple of complimenary gifts to be delivered to our room; c) on our last night in the hotel when I fell ill, the night staff arranged for a doctor to call my partner.

Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    301
    54
    23
    16
See reviews for
148
835
86
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. There was a bit of a kerfuffle at the beggining because there was no bath in our room. Be aware that most rooms do not have a bath in them. As a result we were upgraded to a junior suite, which was really nice even if it didn't have the best view. The Hotel is clean, the beds are good, the location is ideal and the staff are very friendly and helpful. There is fee Wifi and access to PCs in the lobby. I wouldn't say that the place was charming but there is nothing offensive about it either. Value for money I would say that we got a great deal because we were upgraded but otherwise I would say its OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in March, 2011. I've been to Amsterdam many times but that was the first time together with our 18 moths old toddler. Frankly, Amsterdam is not the best destination with a little one, but we enjoyed every minutes which is also due to the great hotel service.
It has a very good location, everything is just in walking distance (well, in Amsterdam everything is in walking distance, but still..). The hotel itself is small enough to feel your self unique as the staff treats you that way.
Our room was facing to the main street, not the canal, but even it was quiet enough to be able to sleep. Room was really spacious, even with the baby cot, and the bathroom was just a buzz :)
Breakfast was delicious and the wide range of choice of free drinks and snacks in the so called 'living room' (lobby) was fantastic. On the first day we arrived home early evening -kid was really tired - and we took for ourselves some pasta from the Chinese rest close to the hotel for dinner. But we did not eat as we got full of the living room's snacks; some tipical dutch bread and ham, cheese, olives, grapes, etc. And it was really good every time to get back to the hotel for a while (changing the nappie :) ) and having a nice cup of coffe or a beer or a glass of wine. Don't miss the Porto wine !!!

Really really recommend this hotel - even with a littel one !

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I spent 4 days after our cruise in Amsterdam and stayed at the banks Mansion which overlooks the Herengraht or Grand Canal. We arrived directly from the cruise ship and were told that our room was ready. Although a single room it was very large and consisted of 3 balconies. The breakfast prepared by sam, the chef, was an excellent adition to the excellent variety of foods already there. His Dutch pancakes are fantastic. We have been to 56 countries and this is the first hotel where all beverages of any kind are included all day long, whether in your room or in the library in the lobby. The location is excellent to walk to the Flower market, the pedestrian street or even take a canal cruise.
The staff, especially Ester, were a great help showing us places on the map that we may be interested in going. Their room prices are very competitive for Amsterdam. Every evening there are snacks in the lobby and the area in which the hotel is located was so well situated that we walked day and night and felt very comfortable. They even offer free high speed internet service which allowed us to keep in touch at home, but also print out our boarding passes. With double doors to the balconies, it was very quiet at night. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala Ciudad
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent "Queens Birthday" at the Mansion and enjoyed the very competent, friendly, cheerful and helpful staff providing us with personalized service from reservation to check-out. Lobby with a good selection of beverages at guests' discretion make a stay even more attractive. Good breakfast buffet in a surprisingly nicely arranged basement. Most of the rooms are furnished and decorated with taste, but clearly undersized. A certain lack of continuous maintenance can be felt. Furthermore, we find it a pity the hotel cannot afford a glass for the teethbrush, instead it is an ugly, cheap oneway plastic cup - but that is a detail.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at the Banks Mansion before we joined a 21 day river cruise. This is one of our best hotel experiences for several reasons but the main one would be the super friendly staff that really made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived with our mountains of luggage. The concept of mini bar, lounge drinks, breakfast etc all included is sensational, nothing better than being told no extra charges when checking out. The lounge is a great place to have a drink after all day touring/shopping, and a great place to meet other guests staying at the hotel. Our rooms were a good size and bathrooms excellent. Location is good, easy walking to just about every site, we also caught the tram when feeling a little lazy, there is a tram stop just across the road from the hotel. If you can't decide where to stay in Amsterdam book the Banks, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

What a brilliant hotel! Helpful staff, excellent location, clean, comfortable rooms and all-inclusive concept. Our room was large for a city centre hotel with a superb bathroom. Breakfast was more than adequate with plenty of choice and eggs freshly cooked while you wait (for just a minute!). We will certainly return to this hotel next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banks Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Mansion

Address: Herengracht 519-522, 1017 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Banks Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional Hospitality Founded on the concept of personalization our goal is to ensure that everything about your stay suits you. The intimacy of the hotel allows for greater personal attention, incredible service and an eye for detail by our staff. As a guest of Banks Mansion, at any given moment you are entitled to enjoy all of the beverages and appetizers offered to you in "The Living" along with complimentary breakfast, complimentary private in-room bar, complimentary in-house movies, complimentary Internet-access in our business corner and 24/7 free premium WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Banks Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Mansion Hotel Amsterdam
Banks Mansion Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banks Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.