We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous gym & spa complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #111 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fabulous gym & spa complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I suspended doubts about this place (hotels next to train stations aren't always the best in my experience) and was pleasantly surprised.

The new wing has good rooms kitted out to a high standard. The rates are reasonable and the location very accessible for business Travelers. Rocket out to Schipol by train in 20mins for example.

For me the biggest surprise was the gym. Most European hotels have small gyms if they have anything at all. This is a proper gym with a nice indoor pool as well. Well resourced (though no TVs for news) and staffed. It is a good sized facility.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    593
    274
    96
    55
See reviews for
170
629
79
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stumbled on upon the cafe by per chance as it is not well signposted from Damrak. The sign indicating a log fire on a cold January lunchtime was what caught our eye. It wasn't very busy but still the atmosphere was great. The service we received was equalled by the quality of the cheese sandwiches we were served. Well recommended and the toilets were very clean.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arriving at the reception desk for a one night business trip, I was taken aback by the utter ignorance of the clerk, Jurgen. It seemed I was a little close to the man in front. Jurgen issued a command for me to get back and, quite oblivious to his officiousness, could not understand that this was no way to welcome a visitor. I was quite shocked. And so it went on---the reception was more a case of processing inconvenient visitors than welcoming guests.
On leaving, I had the equally dubious pleasure of Susanne, who asked me, not that she cared one iota, if everything was OK. I thought I would share the Jurgen incident and one other point with her. She gave me the "sorry about that" treatment, whilst yawning inwardly.
I could see there was no mileage in that so I also pointed out that the room was dark. Please understand that when I say dark, I mean DARK. Not mood lighting, not atmospheric---DARK. There are bedside lights and one over the desk but if you should have any desire to read a book, either think again or bring a torch. In fact I had to use a torch (thank you iphone) to check the air conditioning control. Why do they do that? A pathetic way of saving money. To be fair the bathroom was quite bright so if you want to read for a couple of hours you could always sit there.
Susanne cared as little about this as about her ignorant colleague. Maybe she trained him. She said that next time I could ask for extra lighting and they will see what they can do. No Susanne---you don't get it. I am not a half blind idiot with the temerity to wish to read a book. This is not me being unreasonable. This is a DARK room, which you already know because it must be hotel policy to make it that way. By now, the smirking Susanne is showing no sign of even pretending to care about anything other than my leaving as soon as possible. She resorts to the last word in customer relations (that's a laugh) with---"I will pass on your comments". Oh dear

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After reading a few bad reviews of this hotel, I was feeling a little hesitant about our stay at this hotel but my previous worries couldn't have been more wrong.

We had a lovely stay at the Park Plaza. Situated directly opposite Amsterdam Central Station meant we could walk straight from plane to train to our hotel. Dreamy.

We were pretty sure we were supposed to have a small room in the Victoria Wing but we actually put in a suite with the biggest bed I have ever seen and an amazing amount of space in the Urban Wing. I shall miss that bed. It was a lovely, clean room and as many others have stated, extremely up to date and modern which we loved!

Although, we were directly above the main street it was extremely quiet and peaceful. There is a pool, sauna and gym available at the hotel. The pool is small but still very relaxing. We were only one of two or three couples also using these areas at one time so very nice to chill out at after one two many wines or after a busy day exploring.

Easy access to other parts of Amsterdam or out of the city, trams and station located directly opposite hotel.

Staff were friendly and there was even live jazz music at the bar.

All in all an excellent hotel! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for three nights over a weekend.Must say I was a bit worried reading some of the reviews but I can't say anything bad about the hotel.We requested an urban room as was advised.The room was perfect.The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn't have done any more to help.Nice facilities and pool and the location is fantastic.Directly across from the train station and we walked pretty much everywhere we went, which was well worth it.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.