We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #126 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The hotel is right opposite Amsterdam Central station and one of the first things you see when exiting from it. Trains, trams, metro and the canals are all located outside, allowing quick access to all areas of Amsterdam. Should you wish to walk, shops, restaurants, bars and points of interest are all close to hand. Extremely glad we chose this location. The concierge service and all the staff were extremely helpful.
We chose room only as the restaurants around are excellent and the breakfast price at the hotel was far too high to justify. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    722
    326
    122
    73
See reviews for
212
748
99
436
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

House Keepers - Check cleanliness on base of iron, check flow of water in basin, sheer curtains torn, beds hard, pillows too soft needs two per couple, housekeeper puts clean sheets on walk way floor to adjust her cart!! Room needs a good spring clean smells stuffy,cups dirty for two days, room service very poor..your best staff member is Dennis/Porter etc,etc, if you had 10 of him you be a winner. On saying the above the location was great, the hotel just needs a very good spring clean, house keeping staff need more training and maybe a schedule of what to look for in rooms to have them adequately maintained. As I am in the Hospitality industry, staff are only as good as the training provided along with the support from their superiors.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The location of the hotel is great, but the nice exterior of the building did not match the inside. The part of the hotel we stayed in was all brown and old. The room was very small and so was the bathroom. There was one tiny window, which didn't let any light in. I paid to stay at a four star hotel because I thought it would feel just a tiny bid luxurious. Instead it felt like any old hotel that hasn't been renovated since the 70s.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We booked this beautiful hotel while on a pleasure vacation! From the check in to the check out - everything was perfect! The customer service at the front desk was perfect, so kind and helpful. The concierge was perfect. Good recommendations and helpful to purchase tickets to sights for a discounted rate. We stayed in the renovated part and it was great! Elevators so that we didn't have to climb stairs with our luggage. WE arrived by train to the city central and we were able to walk a few blocks 2-3 to the hotel! It was great. I felt safe at night and so convenient for our day trips via the train and tour buses! We signed up to be members at the recommendation of the staff, that way we could accumulate points and check in early. 8 am. This was a girls trip (8 women) so the safe feeling and the location was excellent! The room was plenty big, and they even brought us a roll away bed that was comfortable - 3 in the room. air conditioning worked!

Room Tip: I would ask for the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved the Park Plaza Victoria!
*So easy to find, right across the Central Station.
*The location is great - there are so many restaurants nearby, within walking distance to many attractions, and plenty of shopping.
*They were very accommodating when we asked to switch rooms due to a health concern. Our first room required 3 different flights of stairs and the staff switched our room to one that had elevator access.
*I needed to go to the emergency room while in Amsterdam. The concierge arranged for us to go and return from the hospital. They general manager even called a few hours later to make sure that I was ok. (I believe her name was Christine.)


Wish would would have stayed there on the last night of our trip. We stayed at a hotel by the airport, thinking it would be easier to get to the airport for an early morning flight. Bad choice! We so missed the Park Plaza Victoria. Will definitely recommend and book with them again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed as a couple recently and were upgraded to a large executive room facing the train station with a balcony. The location was great, easy to walk to shopping, restaurants, attractions, and of course the train station. Service was very good. The room we received was plentiful with space, but average at best. This area of the hotel is very old with worn carpeting, furniture, and fixtures. I can appreciate the history of the design, but the room didn't "feel" clean. The mattress was decent for a couple of nights but seemed old as well. I would stay again, but only for a short stay at a low cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In Amsterdam on holiday with the family (2 adults and 2 teenage girls); I booked a separate room for the kids. I had been to Amsterdam many times before and wanted to show everyone the sites. I knew this hotel was in the "thick" of everything...in probably the most extreme touristy part of the entire city of Amsterdam, BUT it's directly across the street from the Central Station. So, coming from Schipol on the train or going on a day trip from the Central Station, you can't beat the location. The rooms were nice. Updated enough but not 100% new. We were given the "inside" "quiet" rooms and that was probably a good thing, because again, this place is smack dab in the middle of it all; just a stones throw from the Central Station, The Red Light District and the top of Dam Straat. The bathroom was clean and up to date but like other European hotel bathrooms, it had a funky bathtub/shower that was very narrow. Water pressure was good and we were kept supplied with a plenty of little hotel shampoo's and soaps that smelled good. Free WiFi. Concierge was outstanding , particularly Dennis, who radiated enthusiasm and helpfulness. The place has an older wing (we stayed in) and a newer wing (we did not get to see that). Elevators were responsive but there was also a central, large stairway I purposely (I like to take the stairs) made use of several times going up or coming down from our 4th floor room. Bottom Line, even though there are nicer, more luxurious, more quaint hotels available close by I would stay here again; simply for the fact that you don't need to schlep your luggage far from Central Station if you take the train from the airport to the city center.

Room Tip: Go with an INSIDE room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#86 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.