We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room swapped from very small to a dungeon ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #115 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Room swapped from very small to a dungeon ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and will not stay again. The best bits the hotel has to offer is it's location straight opposite the Central station and the gym which is very good and has one of only 2 hotel pools in Central Amsterdam. First room was tiny and when I asked to be moved they gave me a room that had a tiny window that looked out to some breeze blocks! The whole decor really needs a refresh as chocolate and orange went out in the 70s! Not good at all!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    682
    301
    112
    71
See reviews for
204
709
92
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel has a great location, just across from the main station.

We have stayed here twice, it is functional but rather impersonal.

Breakfast is good and you can leave your bags in their luggage check on your day of departure which was helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I visited Amsterdam right before New Years eve. It was extremely crowded. The hotel was in a great location right across from the train station (so you can take the train from the airport and just cross the street and walk a few minutes to get to the hotel). Despite the noisy streets, the room was quiet. The front desk were nice fairly helpful in giving directions and recommendations.

The hotel has a weird design where you have to take an elevator, cross a bridge, and then take another elevator to get to the rooms...so there was a lot of waiting for elevators. A minor annoyance.

The beds were low to the ground and not very comfortable. The shower didn't have a curtain or stall! It is the most unusually designed bathroom, and not in a good way. As with many European hotels, they were stingy with their towels and toiletries.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This hotel is very well located - right opposite the central train station where also many trams stop. So, great as a basis for travelling inside and outside the city. Around the hotel you will also find plenty of restaurants, bars etc.
Yet, the main reason why I've chosen this hotel as my main location for visiting Amsterdam (I'm visiting almost weekly for professional reasons), is the helpfulness of its staff. In any hotel you have occasional hiccups - an iron that doesn't work or the internet that won't connect - and a helpful receptionist or concierge will make all the difference difference in such cases. And the staff at the reception really take care of any issue within minutes. I visited many hotels in Amsterdam and have not felt so welcome from the moment that I entered the first time as at the Victoria Plaza. It really is the reason I keep coming back.
There are 2 wings to the hotel: an older one with rooms that have lots of class (called Victoria wing) and a newer one (called urban wing). I always take the urban wing, because its rooms are newer and have less noise (the older wing is less well isolated). But I know of people who just love the charm of the Victoria wing more.
I wouldn't particularly recommend the restaurant - although it has greatly improved in the past few months and is not bad at all, but there are so many options in the neighbourhood that are even better (try Van Speyk around the corner for good French brasserie-style dinners).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This hotel is most conveniently located across the train and bus station and several Canal Cruise boarding area. The hotel is old but service is good. We arrived at 8 am. and was given a room by noon. All reception staff were friendly and helpful. They have a wonderful indoor pool and the most amazingly, its opened 24 hours a day! I was concerned that our 2nd floor room facing the canal would be noisy but it was not. The room itself was basic but clean. The best feature about this hotel is its location. Especially after daytrips by train or bus, our hotel is just a minute away. There is also plenty of eating places.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

we had reserved 3 rooms, when we arrived 2 of the rooms were ready. we put our luggage in our friends room and asked the receptionist the number of our room to be ready and he said it was 169. We got back 5 hours later and asked if 169 was ready. They said yes and gave us the entrance card for the room. we went to the room ,opened the door, entered into the room anddddddd there were a couple sleeping in that room. We were scared, they were scared, we screamed and ran back. The receptionist was amazed. They had a hard time to arrange another room for us. We wanted to speak to the reception manager. She did not come out of her room. The manager on duty came. This happened on April 30, 2014 in a " so called 4 star hotel " in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: the rooms on the old part are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Last time i was here, I had a meeting in one of the torturing cellars, without any window. I decided then not to have any business meetings anymore, but at least I had a decent room. This time my expensive room (209 euro for a single room) is hardly bigger than a shoebox, the airco makes the noise of a locomotive, my confirmed booking was lost in the system, my room was not properly cleaned and I could not acces my room anymore the second day, because there had been a "communication problem" which has caused they had forgotten I booked for 2 days. On top, no excuses at all, they make me feel as if I may be lucky to have a room. The only thing which is good about this hotel is the location, in front of the railway station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.