We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To be avoided” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #109 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leuven
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“To be avoided”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Last time i was here, I had a meeting in one of the torturing cellars, without any window. I decided then not to have any business meetings anymore, but at least I had a decent room. This time my expensive room (209 euro for a single room) is hardly bigger than a shoebox, the airco makes the noise of a locomotive, my confirmed booking was lost in the system, my room was not properly cleaned and I could not acces my room anymore the second day, because there had been a "communication problem" which has caused they had forgotten I booked for 2 days. On top, no excuses at all, they make me feel as if I may be lucky to have a room. The only thing which is good about this hotel is the location, in front of the railway station.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    574
    260
    86
    49
See reviews for
161
592
75
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were booked here recently by our hosts for a small professional meeting. The location is excellent; close to the train station and many tram/bus stops, near offices where one can arrange a bus tour to the tulip gardens, etc. It can get a bit noisy if your room faces the central square, as ours did, but not bad. Breakfast had a good variety of offerings, staff were friendly and helpful. Free internet was nice, and we appreciated the ability to make coffee and tea. Bathroom was fine, though towels rather threadbare (especially considering the room rate). Overall a good experience. Our room was in the urban wing.

Room Tip: Urban wing was pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is the most conveniently located hotel right opposite Central Railway Station and very close to all important/happening places of Amsterdam including most of the tour operators and right opposite ( just a road in between) boat cruise operators.It took me only 2 minutes to walk down to the hotel from central stn with my luggage
Front office staffs are good and helpful.I would specially recommend the names of Ms Isabelle & Ms Pooja for their help.
They have a very nice fitness centre,swimming pool and spa.Rooms are good and well kept.
You are always almost 5-10 minutes away from most of the happening places of Amsterdam.I had booked my tours online and found all very good tour operators just 1 minute from the hotel at Damrak.
You are just 1-2 minutes from Central Rly Stn/Tram Stn/bus stops.From central Rly Stn you can take train to any place including international trains.
They also have good restaurants and bar.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Take Room on the higher floor in Urban wing facing road to have a beautiful view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

we stayed here for one night - very close to the train station which is useful.
Room smelt of smoke even though it was a non smoking room! Tiny room with a view of the inner workings of the hotel - couldnt open the window at night as the extractor from the kitchen seemed to be coming through our window..
not a hotel I'd book again. However the concierge went out of his way to help us on numerous occasions with bookings and taxis etc.
we found the room pricey for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed on the urban wing of the hotel, which is young and modern. Room size is reasonable, modern furniture, very very clean and tidy. Free internet of course, but no pool although promised on site! The pool is available in the next door art'otel hotel, but of course it's too cold to walk between hotels with your wet hair in mid April!! Breakfast is very satisfying, and the concierge service is the BEST we have ever seen!!! BUT - all carpets in breakfast room and through the hotel must be replaced urgently!!!

Room Tip: Go for the urban wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Arrived at the hotel at 9am (5 hrs before check in) but Eduardo behind the check in desk was very helpful and checked us in immediately. As it was my birthday he also up-graded us to a suite for no extra charge! Was very impressed! Thank you so much! The room was spacious, modern and very clean. It's in a perfect location, across from the Centraal Station and canal tours pier. It's within easy walking distance of the old side, dam square and new side. After checking out the concierge locked our bags away safely so we could continue to explore the city without the hassle of lugging cases around. All staff were friendly and helpful! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.