We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“centrally located very comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #104 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“centrally located very comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

the hotel is across from the central train station. This is the second time I stayed here and this time in an executive room in the old part of the hotel. My room was large and very comfortable. The bed had a firm mattress; there was good closet space and a large bathroom with a counter large enough to store toiletries - which is becoming a rarety. The wifi worked well; the buffet breakfast was excellent and the front desk very friendly and helpful as was the concierge.

Room Tip: I have stayed in both the old and new parts of the hotel and prefer the old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    556
    252
    81
    46
See reviews for
158
570
70
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Found the hotel layout quite confusing. Most of our group struggled to find our rooms easy as the hotel has 2 sides to it.

Other than that could not fault it although our card key never worked, had to keep going to reception to get it programmed again.

But its location is superb and the staff all seemed nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Steve54Edinburgh,

Thank you for your review.

Technology is great when it works. Unfortunately it lets us down sometimes, which can cause some inconvenience.

Nevertheless of the above, I am happy that you find us to be nice and our location to be superb.


Sincerely,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Great location for a city break, across the way from the centraal station and in walking distance from many of the local attractions including museums, Anne Frank House, Red light District, famour coffee shops etc. Also located across the road from the trams which can take you around if you are not up for walking!. Staff are very friendly and accommodating, rooms are comfortable to help you enjoy your stay. I would stay here again and would definitely recommend. :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear R4ch3ll3_1,

Thank you for recommending us to others and of course for your kind review!

Our location is indeed ideal to explore the city of Amsterdam. This can easily be done by foot, but for those who do not want to walk the public transport will take you everywhere.

We look forward to your next visit. Please follow us online to stay posted about our developments.

Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have stayed here before so this was one of first choices when choosing an hotel. As most rooms are quite small in Amsterdam in general, we booked an executive room which is very spacious. We where in the Victoria wing where the decor is slightly dated but the room is still very comfortable whit a very big bed. The Urban wing contains the modern rooms.

I used the pool on this occasion, and its not a huge pool but its clean which was good. The gym area looked quite good as well.

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room go for executive or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Jas B,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed our newly renovated Active Club, which offers a swimming pool, sauna and fitness center.

Would you like to share any images with us? Than please follow us online and show the rest of our fans how great your stay was.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luanda, Angola
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Perfect Location and good service. Near RLD and Center Town. Very well served by trams. Good facilities on the hotel. Very quiet. Staff very friendly and available to give any information. The rooms are very confortable and have sound-proof facilities.

Room Tip: book in booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Erupcao,

Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers on TripAdvisor.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish.

Please stay in touch with us online and if you have made pictures of the hotel, please do not hesitate to share them with us.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

a few mins walk from the main areas and just across the road from the main train station - the location is great. staff friendly and helpful. room clean and quiet. the only issue was the revolving doors... recommended place to stay when in amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and your compliments towards our team.

It is great to read that you find our team to be friendly and helpful. The revolving doors at the entrance are present to avoid cold air from entering the hotel and hot air to leave the hotel. What was your exact issue with the doors?

Your recommendation is much appreciated. Please stay in touch with us online.


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel is in a perfect location right across from Central Station, very easy to walk most places, and also very easy to catch the trams from the station right across the way. I had pre-booked this hotel (and pre-paid for it) about 5 months in advance and specifically booked a double room (my paperwork said "superior double"), when I was able to check in after my afternoon of sightseeing, I was given a single room that was the size of a broom closet, with 1 pillow and 1 towel. When I spoke with the staff about the issue and that this was not the room I paid for, they said they were fully booked that night and could not move me. They were able to move me into a double room with a view of Central Station for the next night, and they offered me free breakfast the next morning. The staff was as accomodating as they could be about the situation. I was mostly upset that I did not get the room that I had paid $170/night for. Other than that, the second room was a decent size, the conceirge was very helpful with tickets for the museums (so I didn't have to wait in any lines), and the restaurant at the hotel had pretty good food. I would probably stay here again because of the location, but I would make sure I'm getting what I paid for.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaVictoria, Guest Service & Quality Coordinator at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Jwestie78,

Thank you for your review.

Although the start of your stay was not as you expected it to be, I am glad that my colleagues were able to attend to your needs.

We look forward to your next visit, which I am sure will be great!


Kind regards,

Nicolas Rey
Guest Service & Quality Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.