We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room hidden away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #97 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Room hidden away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I am only going to review the room we were in. We only stayed 1 night at this hotel. We were given room 115 on the 1st floor. We were confused as we got to the end and found no room 115. Only to be told that it is somewhat hidden below of what looks like a fire exit. The stairs were steeps and no railings -- with heavy luggages in tow, not very pleasant and somewhat dangerous. The stairs were the only way to get through the room.

The bathroom is old and need some refurbishing. Both the bath tub and sink drains were clogged and grimy. There were hairs left on the bath tub. When you try to shower the water doesn't drain then all the grimy stuff from the drain goes up. Fairly disgusted to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    480
    211
    54
    40
See reviews for
114
493
60
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for the first time and were very pleased. The hotel has 2 wings - Victrian and Urban. We stayed in the Urban wing that is quite "young" and modern. The room was quite spacious, clean, bed is confortable, however bathroom is somewhat small.

Breakfast is served at Seasons Garden Restaurant and it has a wide variety of foods and drinks to cater for anyone's appetite.

It is well located, near the Central Station and approximatelly 30 min from the airport (by Car). The area is quite populated, lots of good restaurants and cafe's to choose from.

I would stay here again and definitely recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is a well positioned and appointed hotel I was a little disappointed by room 508.It was on the top floor with a good view out over central station but was a little cramped with a small bathroom.The bath itself was half size and it was difficult to use the sink with the door open.The bed was quite hard and the bedding felt too small.The mini bar was very poor and there were no bathrobes.
On the plus side the swimming pool area has had a re-vamp and I really enjoyed using it and the sauna and the bar is relaxed and informal with a good atmosphere and attentive bar staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a friend was an excellent stay perfect location come out of hotel 20 meters to main shopping street and Christmas market 5 mins walk across square to station. Well maintained hotel rooms in perfect working order and clean and modern and a fair price. Breakfast pricey at 24e given proximity to other restaurants and cafes not a problem, also checkout was slow a lot of people arriving and leaving same time hotel very busy but no major problem. Good safe brand and close to where you want to be if traveling in from schipol by train stayed a movenpick last time was as good but this was much closer to centre. Mini bar beer 4.5e Heineken and chocolate 2.5e free soaps and creams plenty of towels and swimming pool and sauna.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

When I arrived thought this was going to be a nice hotel. Great location but after 3 days decided one of the worst hotels I have stayed in.

Main issues,

1. Darkest bedrooms I have ever stayed in - cannot read a book with out straining your eyes.
2. Reception gives false impression as it is bright and up to date looking, the rooms décor is very tired looking as is the bar.
3. Road works outside are a real issue.
4. To get from the hotel requires dodging bicycles, trams, buses... this is not the hotels fault but I wonder how many tourists get hurt around this area as bikes appear to ignore any rules of the road.
5. food in the restaurant was terrible - myself and my work colleague thought the food was poorly presented and not the greatest - the lettuce was limp in the extreme on a salad I had. I will say the staff were pleasant but seemed to be struggling to cope.
6. Spa times were not that convenient.
7. Breakfast was a very non-descript affair.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013 for a business trip.
The best thing about the hotel is the location, it is near the central station and easy to get everywhere by tram, taxi or on foot.
The staff are all helpful in particular the reception and concierge. I didn't eat at the hotel or have breakfast, but the bar is very good for a hotel bar, serving good cocktails and there is a large cafe area for a more relaxed coffee. The rooms are good and clean and in general the hotel has a little bit of character which is unusual for a chain hotel. Its a large hotel, so there can be a lot of people coming and going, but there is lots of space and the staff manage the lobby well, so it is still a relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past during my business visits to Holland. It is so convenient as it stands near to the Central station and arriving early afternoon I have always been welcomed with an early check in and usually for a small increase an upgrade. This time I took a colleague with me and to my disappointment no upgrade was available and the rooms allocated to us on the third floor ( 301 and 323) were tiny and barely acceptable. My room was opposite a store cupboard that was in constant use day and night. Bathroom tiny, no hand towels and poor quality towels. TV did not work. Meeting with clients in the bar was a disaster, 20 minutes to get served by two staff who seemed more intent on attending to the delegates attending the conference in the hotel.. We intended to have dinner in the hotel but given the treatment received in the bar we decided to dine elsewhere. On the plus side, the reception staff are excellent and they apologised that no other rooms were available and on this occasion the hotel was fit to bursting. The internet service works really well. I will stay there again, but will not accept the sort of accommodation offered on this trip. Very sad to report this but disappointed at my treatment.
David Mullen

Room Tip: Dont accept third floor YMCA type accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.