We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lots of space and nice bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #97 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
bedford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, lots of space and nice bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in November 2013 for a business trip.
The best thing about the hotel is the location, it is near the central station and easy to get everywhere by tram, taxi or on foot.
The staff are all helpful in particular the reception and concierge. I didn't eat at the hotel or have breakfast, but the bar is very good for a hotel bar, serving good cocktails and there is a large cafe area for a more relaxed coffee. The rooms are good and clean and in general the hotel has a little bit of character which is unusual for a chain hotel. Its a large hotel, so there can be a lot of people coming and going, but there is lots of space and the staff manage the lobby well, so it is still a relaxing place to be.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    488
    213
    56
    43
See reviews for
112
485
59
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past during my business visits to Holland. It is so convenient as it stands near to the Central station and arriving early afternoon I have always been welcomed with an early check in and usually for a small increase an upgrade. This time I took a colleague with me and to my disappointment no upgrade was available and the rooms allocated to us on the third floor ( 301 and 323) were tiny and barely acceptable. My room was opposite a store cupboard that was in constant use day and night. Bathroom tiny, no hand towels and poor quality towels. TV did not work. Meeting with clients in the bar was a disaster, 20 minutes to get served by two staff who seemed more intent on attending to the delegates attending the conference in the hotel.. We intended to have dinner in the hotel but given the treatment received in the bar we decided to dine elsewhere. On the plus side, the reception staff are excellent and they apologised that no other rooms were available and on this occasion the hotel was fit to bursting. The internet service works really well. I will stay there again, but will not accept the sort of accommodation offered on this trip. Very sad to report this but disappointed at my treatment.
David Mullen

Room Tip: Dont accept third floor YMCA type accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Might be a little pricey for some, however not as pricey as some of the other hotels in/around the area. Room was adequate/clean. Hotel very handy to many things i.e., across the wide street from river cruise ships dock, also to Centraal Station, which has a line directly into Schipol Airport (awesome!!), a few blocks from Red Light District, walking distance to the Anne Frank house, Rijksmuseum, canals of course, etc. Can walk around.through the downtown core without the use of buses, taxis with nice little restaurants - good food! My first time to Amsterdam & enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

After booking a refurbished room I was disappointed to be given a room in the old part of the hotel. Room was ok, bathroom was small, corridors smelt disgusting. Room was clean. As I was only there one night I put up with it. Water 6.50 euro a bottle, not worth it. Nice concierge staff. management were keen to please. Reception staff could do with some training on customer services, or generally learn to smile. Excellent location to the train station. I score average because everything was 50/50. Spend some money on the old rooms and it would be better value for money. I could buy drinks cheaper in Dubai than this hotel. Don;t let them swipe your credit card, When I went to check out they said they had charged my credit card for my stay plus extras and I only needed to leave the room card!! The receptionist was rather annoyed that I would wait for a copy of my bill!!!! luckily I had been charged what I had used, but this isn't good practice.

Room Tip: Unless breakfast is free dont bother paying. The cost is more than double the cost of a breakfast f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you're used to the shiny new Park Plazas in London then the Victoria will come as a bit of a shock. Once this would have been a rather grand railway hotel, sitting just across from Amsterdam central station. Now it feels it's age, and it clearly hasn't been updated for a while - an example being the ageing bathroom fixtures and another the wallpaper worn away where furniture has rubbed against it...

The staff try hard, and are very helpful, but if there was ever a case for major investment by the chain, this is it.

Good:
Location
Staff

Bad:
Tired, old hotel
Internet a bit patchy

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

You take your life in your hands getting from Centraal station to this hotel across tram tracks, roads and cycle paths but it is worth it! Fantastic location, excellent facilities, good food and ambience. Rooms very modern and comfortable if a little on the dark side. I lost the key to my suitcase padlock and the concierge come to my rescue with some bolt cutters which surprised me! All staff were very friendly. The price you pay is what you would expect for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraserburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Perfect location, everything on the doorstep, directly opposite central station, 5 minute walk to Dam Square, canal tours across the road. The hotel unfortunately is a little dated, the room we stayed in 417 was very dark and dingy, had a mezzanine level with the bed on the lower floor and toilet on the upper floor, was not great through night if having to rise to toilet as stairs very narrow, bit of a hazard really, never ate at hotel so can't comment on food, the jewel in its crown is its location.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Dam Square
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Restaurant, Lux...
Show More
Dam Square
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Free internet...
Show More
Binnenstad
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#50 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Dam Square
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Dam Square
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#26 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.