We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb central location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #98 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb central location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel in any way, from the 5 min walk across the square from the station to the fabulous rooms and first class service.
Most of the tour companies seem to depart their tours from 100 metres down the rd and plenty of good food to be had in the surrounding blocks
Stay elsewhere at your peril.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    486
    212
    56
    43
See reviews for
110
484
59
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

From the photos I saw on the Internet when I booked this hotel, it looked like a charming old hotel situated on an idyllic little canal that had been stylishly renovated. Not the case. In actuality, it is located across from the train station (taxis won't drive you, you will have to walk all your luggage from the station to the hotel). The area surrounding the hotel is swarming with crowds of people, tacky tourist shops, and junky food joints. It's rough. For those Americans reading this, the atmosphere at the Park Plaza Victoria isn't old European charm, it's spring break at the Daytona Beach Econolodge. My room was so dirty, I had to call the front desk to complain, but not until after I took photos of it - see the photos I've posted. Highlights include a filthy sink with hairs in it and dirty carpet. The lighting in the rooms is so dim that I can't help but wonder if it's by design: to hide the filth. The hotel offered another room. I've posted photos of that one, too. The "clean" room featured dirty, stained carpet and hadn't been dusted in months. For an idea of the overall cleanliness of the hotel, I have posted a photo of the hotel ice machine. I think that photo pretty much sums it up. If I could give the Park Plaza Amsterdam a negative 5 score, I would. Save yourself the experience and waste of money and stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We arrived at CEntral Station around 21.30 on Thursday evening and as you exit Central Station the Park Plaza is straight acroos the main road in front of you so it is ideally situated.
The reception area was fantastic and we could see we had booked a very nice hotel. The staff werre fantastic and helpfull and check in took about five minutes, there were four of us.
The rooms were great. Clean and very modern with all the usual facilities. Mini bar prices were the usual city centre hotel prices. Breakfast was very expensive so we ate out. The concierge was a very helpfull man and he gave out very usefull information regarding sightseeing and things to do. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a Birthday treat and although it is not the cheapest in Amsterdam it certainly has a good location opposite central station.
The room we had overlooked the station and was very noisy (traffic noise) if the window was left open.
The room was small but very nice furniture.
The Bar is very modern and has a good supply of alchohol.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bit of luxury whilst in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Rooms in older part of the hotel smell like sewage. My shower drain and sink drain were clogged, my mail was at the hotel but delivered to me days after its arrival, so I missed a date with a friend, I stayed there 7 times over the past 10 years and they have no record of it so I did not get points that would entitle me to perks, breakfasts were horrible.

Room Tip: I would look for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night for a business meeting, its really convenient being right next to the station but despite the nice reception area the rooms are quite basic and functional with no class or style, also the area right outside is very busy

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed one night in late August. Arrived to a chaotic front desk at around 3:00 pm to learn that none of our three rooms were ready. Staff handled the situation well and offered us complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited for our rooms. Our rooms were located in the newer "Urban Tower," which required two separate elevator rides to get to. Rooms were modern and clean and on the small side, which is typical for Amsterdam. The bathroom sink in one of the rooms had some heavy stains which were kind of gross and which remained even after I requested that they be cleaned. Valet parking is is expensive (36 euros) and is performed by a third party company. We were advised that it can take "up to two hours" to retrieve a car so it's best to pre-book the time that you want your car in the morning. This made me wonder how far away they park them. You can't beat the location (across the road from the Central Station and next to lots of local attractions, Red Light District, etc.), but it's definitely not as great as the prices would suggest. It took several emails after departure to sort out a billing issue, but their communication was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room in the newer Urban Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Restaurant, Cit...
Show More
Dam Square
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Restaurant, Lux...
Show More
Dam Square
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Free internet...
Show More
Binnenstad
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#50 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Dam Square
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
City Center, Fr...
Show More
Dam Square
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#28 of 343 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Luxury, City Ce...
Show More
The Convent Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.