We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday in Amsterdam All Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #109 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Birthday in Amsterdam All Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as a Birthday treat and although it is not the cheapest in Amsterdam it certainly has a good location opposite central station.
The room we had overlooked the station and was very noisy (traffic noise) if the window was left open.
The room was small but very nice furniture.
The Bar is very modern and has a good supply of alchohol.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bit of luxury whilst in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    574
    260
    86
    49
See reviews for
161
592
75
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Rooms in older part of the hotel smell like sewage. My shower drain and sink drain were clogged, my mail was at the hotel but delivered to me days after its arrival, so I missed a date with a friend, I stayed there 7 times over the past 10 years and they have no record of it so I did not get points that would entitle me to perks, breakfasts were horrible.

Room Tip: I would look for a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night for a business meeting, its really convenient being right next to the station but despite the nice reception area the rooms are quite basic and functional with no class or style, also the area right outside is very busy

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back its quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed one night in late August. Arrived to a chaotic front desk at around 3:00 pm to learn that none of our three rooms were ready. Staff handled the situation well and offered us complimentary drinks in the bar while we waited for our rooms. Our rooms were located in the newer "Urban Tower," which required two separate elevator rides to get to. Rooms were modern and clean and on the small side, which is typical for Amsterdam. The bathroom sink in one of the rooms had some heavy stains which were kind of gross and which remained even after I requested that they be cleaned. Valet parking is is expensive (36 euros) and is performed by a third party company. We were advised that it can take "up to two hours" to retrieve a car so it's best to pre-book the time that you want your car in the morning. This made me wonder how far away they park them. You can't beat the location (across the road from the Central Station and next to lots of local attractions, Red Light District, etc.), but it's definitely not as great as the prices would suggest. It took several emails after departure to sort out a billing issue, but their communication was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room in the newer Urban Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel following a Viking riverboat cruise. Our choice was made to stay hear after a lot of research including TripAdvisor. We could not have been happier with our decision.
We picked an urban room (554) and had a spectacular view of the Central Railroad Station, canal, and busy streets and sidewalks. Upon our arrival, we were graciously greeted and taken to our room and assured that the staff would be happy to assist us in any way. We gathered up a city map and the staff circled, on the map, the places that we wanted to see. We were able to walk to everything, and the hop on hop off bus and canal boats are right outside the front door of this hotel. Our room was very quiet, very comfortable bed, and large bathroom.

Room Tip: Urban rooms, located in new section, are very large and comfortable. Room #554 has a GREAT view too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Park Plaza Victoria is not a cheap choice, but in return you get nice rooms and an excellent location. The Central Railway station is just at the opposite to the hotel, so connections from Schipol airport are very good. Service at the hotel is friendly, although there were some hick-ups. The internet connection did not work for two days, which was a pain in the neck. "We are working on it" was not really a good answer.

Breakfast is good, even though the hotel system with a guest list at the breakfast restaurant did not seem to match the one at the reception. I had to fetch my confirmation e-mail to prove that I had indeed paid for bead & breakfast before getting in. This should not happen in a hotel with these prices.

However, I would still consider going back because the rooms were good and the location excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room from the higher floors if you want to avoid some of the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Nice original building with new part added on. Super friendly staff. All employees speak very good English and other languages. Good room size for 3 people. Stayed on top floor 5th. Modern hotel. Tasty food. Hotel was full but appeared peaceful. Swimming pool and sauna good. Very busy just outside hotel: bikes, scooters and cars. Buffet type breakfast with lots of choice. Wi Fi available, occasional connection problems just like home. Close to tourist attractions. Easy to check in and out. 75 euros required as a deposit on check in. Full refund on check out.

Room Tip: Room 517 top floor quite. Air con good. Ice machine in corridor. Electric shoe shiner by lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.