We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban rooms are nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #141 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Urban rooms are nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Formerly known as the Victoria Hotel, this hotel stands right across from Centraal Station in the heart of Amsterdam. The building is a historic building, which also means it is a bit dated. They have two distinct styles of rooms, the regular and the urban. I prefer the urban rooms with their modern, decor, red accents, dark furniture and fresh feel, despite the smaller space. By contrast, the regular rooms are larger, with dated furniture, creaking floor boards and a more traditional look.

Service at the hotel is average, probably because they are always busy. So if you are looking for personal attention, this place is not for you.

A big plus staying at this hotel is the free high speed wifi. For some reason, you have to “buy” high speed internet from your room and then they take it off your bill at checkout. I find this to be odd and bothersome. During one of my stays here, they forgot to take off the internet from the bill, and I had to call to get it adjusted.

There is a nice swimming pool that guests can use, but access to sauna or fitness center costs extra.

Finally, room service is rather expensive. But this is the case in most hotels in Amsterdam. I ordered a meal that cost €23 at retail price, but they added room charge of €7.50 and another €6.00 in service fee. Before I knew it, my bill was €36.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Flaljee,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the hotel and for sharing the readers of TripAadvisor some of your images. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
My sincere apology if the Room Service charge was more expensive as expected. We do charge a €6 service fee, but I cannot explain the €7.50 charge. If you can forward me some more details, we would be able to check the reason of this charge and possible to give you a refund. I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    786
    360
    139
    80
See reviews for
245
824
110
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

we stayed here for my husbands 40th birthday , fabulous hotel right opposite the central train station,we nfelt safe being out and around the hotel during the evening too as its lit up beautifully. We stayed on a bed and breakfast status and the food was first class, they had everything you wanted and the food looked fresh and plentyfull. The hotel has a lovely spa facility too which we used one evening. Pool, steam room , sauna, etc.
We were advised by the hotel where to go and how to get better deals for some of the trips we went on. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone who is thinking of going.

Room Tip: high floor overlooking the station and the bridges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Esmond357

Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel. It is comments like these that enable us to motivate our team to achieve greater heights.

Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Perfect hotel for a short break in Amsterdam. We stayed in the new wing of the hotel with a spacious modern room. Connecting doors allowed us to keep an eye on the kids. All comfort available in the room and the nice bathroom.

Of course the kids loved the indoor swimming pool.

Personnel is very attentive and provides you with all the service you like.

Breakfast gave everything you could think off. The price goes hand-in-hand with the choice. € 25,- pp for it is at the high end of the spectrum.

Ideally located for sightseeing if you don’t mind the special ambiance in the streets behind the hotel.

Room Tip: don't book breakfast for the kids upfront. Small kids are free
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Philip3012
Thank you for posting your kind comments regarding the Park plaza Victoria Amsterdam and awesome images of your room.We are genuinely pleased your stay with us and that you were impressed with the rooms and bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future


Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I stayed at the Victoria Park Plaza for one night with a friend. As other people have posted it is in an excellent location - close to Central Station and the main tourist attractions but not in a particularly picturesque part of Amsterdam. We upgraded to an urban room, which was modern and clean, with very comfortable beds. Would recommend for a break on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms in the urban annex are modern and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Fruitcat

Thank you for your very positive comments about your recent stay at the hotel.
Thank you once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here for three night in February, The place was great when we booked on travelrepublic we paid for a double room but when we arived we were in an executive room which was brilliant a large room with everything you needed, Breakfast was great buffet style with a large choise from hot or cold with youre eggs cooked on order, not a rubber one under a heat light.
Staff were helpfull.
The perfect location for looking around, The train staition is just across the road and your on the main street that heads down to Dam square with everything close,
The trams are easy to use just buy a ticket at the staition then just hop on and off as you please, The best way to get around.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Nomispsp

Thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. . I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The hotel was great, our room was a little tired although spotless. I understand the urban wing is updated. Lots of building works going on outside so bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear qConga,

Thank you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the hotel. The Urban wing is completely renovated last year.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best wishes

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel was fantastic. The appearance, food, location was perfect. I'd particularly like to thank the concierges, they were a great source for information about the local area and can even provide you with discounts to local attractions, so its definetly worth seeing them if you are contemplating doing some sight seeing etc.
The food was goooooooooorgeous. I would have licked my plate clean if there was no-one around! The reception team were a little slow as it took me a while to check in and out, but thats not a biggy for me! I'd definetly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay centrally in Amsterdam and within walking distance to the main local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Dear URV123, What a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam and thank you for sharing especially your culinary experience on Tripadvisor. On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you again!
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Art'otel Amsterdam
Art'otel Amsterdam
#24 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
NH Amsterdam Barbizon Palace
#143 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.