We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #102 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I went to Amsterdam for my 21st and had an excellent time. Alot of people put me off going but i couldnt of asked for a nicer weekend. The hotel was great and the staff were very friendly!
We booked for a standard room but we upgraded once we got there to an executive room, as it was my birthday they kindly offered me a suite for the same price but the executive room was fine for us especially as it had a balcony!
This has to be the best hotel in Amsterdam for location - opposite the central station! Once you walk out the hotel you could go left for the coffee shops and right for the main strip and the red light district!
The hotel wa quite pricey for food but its well worth it. The food was delicious! We enquired about the best place to go for a curry and the man at the stand in reception recommended a place called GHANDI .. we went and it looked quite shabby but it was one of the nicest curries id ever had.
We had a great weekend and will definateley be returning to the hotel :)

Room Tip: executive rooms at the front of the hotel are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear SophieJayy,

Thank you for review and for sharing your compliments on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your 21st birthday and that you enjoyed the upgrade. Thank you for pointing our great location and for mentioning that the most famous square mile of the Netherlands is right around the corner.
We are looking forward to welcome back when you are returning to Amsterdam and to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    524
    234
    71
    45
See reviews for
148
536
68
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Either I am lucky or the Park Plazas deliver just when I visit them. Very good location, clean rooms, such polite and nice staff, very professional as well, managed the whole big hall full of guests checking out, organized trips leaving for the day, running teams preparing for some marathon or other smoothly and with a smile. The only issue I had was that the reception had no spare mobile phone chargers at all. I would expect the hotel of their standard to have that covered.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear NATinCPH,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that the staff impressed you and that you enjoyed the location, rooms and friendliness of the team. Your compliments are shared with everybody.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

great room in the urban wing,had a great shower,good bar and the bar next to the hotel was owned by the hotel and probably 1 of the cheapest places to drink in Amsterdam,

Room Tip: go for the urban wing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Nsross,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and for complimenting our bars.
Also on behalf of the bar staff, we are looking forward to welcome you back for another visit and drink when your travel brings you back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

You can tell this hotel has historic roots. Old decorations, tight corridors.
They also have a modern section.
Room was clean and spacious. Helpful and forthcoming staff.
Courtious and informtive Conciege.
No problems recommending this hotel
Location right next to the Central Station and main tram lines; very practical.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Passed50,

Thank you for sharing your review and your compliments on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments are already forwarded to the entire team.
We are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I was in Amsterdam for a business trip and stayed here for one night. The location is excellent as it is adjacent to both the train statioin and a tram depot. It is also a five minute walk from Dam square so is fairly central.

I stayed in an 'Urban' room for the night. Good fresh decor , clean and have a nice bathroom. Only snag is that the lights in the room were not that bright so it made the room look a bit dull.

I didn't eat anything at the hotel but had a drink at the Lobby bar which was a nice enough.

Staff very tentative and polite through out visit, although when checking in I noticed that the hotel receptionist had to be excused from checking me in to go answer the reception phone - not a great practice as I was there first.

Room Tip: I stayed on 2nd floor at the back so it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Dear Colin M,

Thank you for your review and for sharing it Tripadvisor.
I have forwarded your review to the Front Office Manager regarding the answering of the phone during the check-in as I agree that this is not a great first impression. Also on behalf of the Front Office Manager, I apologize for the inconvenience.

Furthermore, I have passed your compliments regarding the staff on to the entire team, thank you for this.
We are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Hotel is situated just across the road from the main train station which is a short and cheap train journey from Schipol airport so location is second to none. Rooms are a very high standard. Food (at a company dinner hosted at the hotel) was very good and breakfast offered a great selection. The only slight let down was the leisure centre. Very small pool and gym plus a sauna but no jacuzzi so not much fun for leisure travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Dear TessBless,

Thank you very much for your review and for your compliments regarding the location, the rooms and the food.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We like this Hotel for it's convenience to the Central Train Station. You can hop on a high speed train from the Airport, and be in your hotel room within half an hour, exactly what we wanted. The reception staff were brilliant and couldn't have been more helpful. The cafe was nice, and a good spot for a bit of people watching (although they come in herds straight off the train). Another nice touch was the complimentary bottled water in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Figsteruk1,

Thank you for sharing your review and compliments regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
It is great that you point out our convenient location just a half an hour away the airport.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.