We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, rooms and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #110 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent location, rooms and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Only stayed for the one night in December, and was very impressed with the hotel; 1 minute walk from the central train station, the reception and concierge staff were extremely helpful and the room was excellent. Would happily return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Dear Illusio,

Thank you for your positive comment on Tripadvisor. I already have passed on your compliments to the reception and concierge team.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    574
    260
    86
    49
See reviews for
161
592
75
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Centrally located at the main station this hotel would need some upgrading of the rooms.
There was a construction site at the hotel that was not mentionned anywhere on there websites etc. Rooms were very old fashioned and staff not very friendly and service not too good. Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Jbps,

Thank you for your review and for sharing it on Tripadvisor.
I was dismayed to read that we did not meet your expectations regarding the room and the service provided. We take this very seriously and if you have a moment I would like to ask you to contact us directly for more information about the service and the room. We apologize for the fact that you have encountered several issues during your stay.
I hope to hear from you to see what we can do for you in the future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

The hotel has an excellent location in the nearby of the train station and it is close to so many different activities within Amsterdam. The room was nicely designed, spacious and relaxing type. Breakfast was fairly good, with service by hospitable staff.

Room Tip: Select the spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear Bob W,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Well this tale deserves a write up. I have stayed a few times with The Victoria and the time before last was awful. The dreaded “One foot around a single bed” box room. It was a show stopper...I was never going to stay there again after that.

My colleague uses TripAdvisor and had entered a review of our stay and had commented on my tiny room. To my utter surprise a couple of weeks, maybe ten days, after the event he informed me that he had received an email from Trip Advisor asking if The Victoria could contact him.

They did so forthwith. It was a direct response to his review on Tripadvisor from the Hotel manager. I hadn't heard of such a thing. The lady was very apologetic and offered to upgrade us to an Urban Suite should we choose to stay with The Victoria again.

We are through Amsterdam all year round on business so we took them up the offer and even the booking was personally taken care of.

We arrived very early in the morning flying in from Africa. This was not a problem for the Hotel, although the rooms were not ready, as expected, they were happy to store our bags as we headed off for an important meeting.

The Suite itself was fairly impressive as a Suite and for Amsterdam Central it was very very good.

Massive and hugely comfortable bed, big flat screens, bright white bathroom finished well and a separate office/sitting area. All pretty new by the looks of things.

Bathrobe provided which should be standard in my opinion.

If I hadn’t have had a free upgrade I would be complaining about the fact that Housekeeping left a big dirty scrubbing sponge on top of my jumper which was on a chair, so room for improvement.

The Staff was pleasant as always, check in staff particularly nice.

Location wise, if you want to be by Centraal Station then you simply can’t do better. The Victoria clearly cares about its guests and their opinions, a quick read of this and the fact that every review is responded to proves that. It is most certainly not the case with the majority of hotels.

They went above and beyond for us and if I am staying in the area again then I will stay there again.

Location is key in Amsterdam and The Victoria is very convenient. The rooms can be mixed but the Urban Suites are pretty sweet.

Most of all though, they clearly care and they clearly try very hard to keep their guests happy.
I am most certainly one of them.

Let us not forget that as customers who have places such as Tripadvisor to post genuine reviews should use it as it should be used. If a hotel cares then they will use Tripadvisor as the very powerful tool that it is. The Victoria clearly gets this. Other Hotels should also. Don't expect to get an upgrade if something is wrong though...this was exceptional, and the fact that we are regular customers has to be considered in also.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone try not to get one of the few box rooms they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Dear KERF_Worldwide,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for complimenting our guest services. We indeed take guest feedback very seriously and we do our utmost to serve every guest in the best way possible.
It is great to read that you took our offer and stayed with us again and that this stay has met your expectations.
Thanks again and on behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

stayed here for a weekend away, got an early check-in, great tips from the concierge and a clean comfortable room. Breakfast not great so avoid that if its optional.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Keenscarlet,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your weekend with us. I have shared your compliments with the entire team.
We are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

Had a stopover in Amsterdam whilst on a business trip and spent the night at this hotel. The location is really great when you have limited time in the city, as it is situated in the city centre right across the train station. I got a room in the new part of the hotel, and was really happy with it - clean and quite spacious. Front staff friendly and polite, check-in and check-out were quick and problem free. Recommended, I will definitely stay here again on my next stopover :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 17, 2011
Dear Smile81,

Thank you for sharing your review and for recommending our hotel.
On behalf of the entire team, thank your compliments and we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future when you travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ploiesti, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

For 3 days in Amsterdam this is a very good hotel, conveniently located near the Centraal Station, the Maritime Museum, the Old Church, the Dam, the Red District, and the shopping areas.
Rooms (I stayed in 659) are relatively large by Amsterdam standards, though poorly lit. Breakfast was superb!

Room Tip: The hotel is being renovated so make sure you ask for a room in the refurbished area, and not facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Dear CostinN,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. It is great to read that you had a nice weekend and you point out some nice places to visit while in Amsterdam.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.