We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #115 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Right opposite the majestic Victoria station. You can actually take the Schiphol Express from the airport straight to the hotel. Just that the hotel signage is not too visible, you might walk past the front door and not notice. So, it's better to ask someone. The hotel's location is great - you can walk to the boat stops right in front and take a canal cruise to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum etc. The red light district is a short walk from the hotel past the National Monument. Just be a bit careful late at night, you might find some drug pushers around that area, but that's normal I guess, a firm no does the trick.
The rooms are excellent here, great view and spacious which is refreshing in Europe! The staff is helpful and prompt. Overall, a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Victoria Station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear SBhattacharyya,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor.
It is great to see you visit a lot of attractions and you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when you travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    682
    301
    112
    71
See reviews for
204
709
93
406
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is in THE best location for the main sights of Amsterdam, right opposite Centraal Station, so everything is accessible and easy. My room was very clean and comfortable, but the best thing about the experience was the unfailingly helpful and friendly staff. Look out for Ursula at breakfast - she is a service legend - and the wonderful concierge team (Peter) will cheerfully answer any question about the city, give advice and help to make the most of your stay.
If you stay there, then engage with the staff as they really seem to want to help and take pleasure in doing so.

Room Tip: I stayed in the urban wing - plenty of space and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear HJCLondon,

What a pleasure to read your review. Thank you for sharing your experience of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.
Your compliments to our staff are already passed on to them and especially to Ursula and Peter. It is great to read that the staff did their utmost to help and did this with a smile.
On behalf of the entire Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam team, we are looking forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is just across the street from the beautful train station in amsterdam. You can walk to all the downtown stores, coffee houses and even the red ligth district. I am not a walker and it was perfect. you can catch the two story bus and ride through the further locations, i.e. the beautful Rijk's Museum...we read reviews on the hotel and many said to make sure we ask for the Urban wing. They were filled in that wing but our reasonably priced room was clean and beautful! So do not worry about nit getting the urban wing. Do not accept room 117 or 118 on the second floor because you need to walk a long long hall and then go back down 2 flights. The red light district was not sleazy at all, the streets were very charming and the red windows just had girks in bikinis winking. Loved the town, loved the relaxed energy there. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear Horizonsls,

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and you liked the room in our historical Victoria wing.
The most famous square kilometer of the Netherlands is indeed right around the corner, I am glad you mention that it is a charming part of the city, and a nice place to visit as a tourist.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

ideal location for a tourist . cruise boats, hop on and off buses, trains, trams etc is near by . the rooms are clean spacious but not very bright .the price per night is high and it does not include breakfast which is very expensive .

Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2011
Dear ADRAS,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and thank you for pointing out our convenient location.
On behalf of the entire team, we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We took a train from Paris to Amsterdam on the 5 Sep. Upon arriving at Central Station we were thrilled to find that our hotel was literally across the road. We made our way to the hotel and first impressions were nice lobby area, very busy ...looks very modern in the cocktail lounge. There was a huge line at check in but the staff were very attentative and quick so we were proabably only waiting for about 10 mins max.

"The Good" - Location and staff are what makes this hotel. Very close the red light district, cafes, shopping malls and attractions. The staff make you feel comfortable and are very welcoming. The bed in our room was big and comfy. There is a Nespresso machine in our room for all the coffee lovers it's a bonus. Room service food was yummy but not much choice on the menu. Buffet Breakfast on the other hand was great with heaps of choices of food. Wi fi is free but high speed is extra you have to pay an hourly or daily rate.

"The Bad" - We pre paid our Executive Room through Expedia at just under $300AUD a night I was shocked when I got to the room 212. To get to our room you have to go through another set of doors and it's in the staircase area. (strange as I thought executive was meant to be nicer than the average rooms?) We had to turn the airconditioning off in the room as it was extremely loud, the sound resembles a plane about to take off. There is construction going on right outside our window so there is non stop banging going on. Perhaps the hotel should not provide these rooms while construction is going on or at least advise us of this.No Bathrobes or slippers (4 star hotel?) towels were tiny I'm 5 foot 2 and it was small for my liking. My fiance is 6 foot 1 and could barely wrap himself up in the towels.

"The Ugly" - The smell coming from the staircase right outside our room. Our view of the construction that was going on. My partner and I were celebrating our engagement so I didn't want to complain much as I knew it would just ruin our trip. We off to Monte Carlo tomorrow so fingers crossed our hotel there is much better.

To sum it up location and staff are good but would I stay here again for the price we paid? Probably not. Also I think this hotel has a new section and an old section unfortunately for us we got put in the old section and to top it off our room was outside in the staircase of the old section!

I love Amsterdam :)

Room Tip: Maybe ask to be in the new section? don't know as have not seen for myself
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Chichi81,

Thank you for sharing your review “The Good, The Bad and The Ugly” on Tripadvisor.
I was dismayed to read you have encountered some issues during your stay with us that did not meet you expectations after paying “A Fist Full of Money” (to stay in the old western vibe).

Your review is passed no to the departments involved to take appropriate actions. We appreciate your feedback because with your comments we can continuously maintain and improve the standards to the level you may expect from us.
I am glad to read “The Good” part and it is great that the staff did it utmost to make you feel comfortable.
On behalf of the entire staff, we are looking forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Arrived and were met by smiling and courteous reception staff. Were upgraded from superior room to the Queen Anne suite in the Urban wing.
Room was clean with huge bed and the softest cloud-like pillows. The coffee machine was a little problematic but the always helpful and efficient staff happily provided a kettle. The view overlooked an alleyway and faced another building but it was quiet and we didn't spend too much time in the room. The hotel is in the best possible location so close to Centraal station and walking distance to Dam square and most attractions. Only 18min train journey from Schiphol airport and the splendour of the hotel as you leave the station is reassuring and impressive. The entrance and the lobby area are plush and almost serene. The biggest plus apart from the location and the standard of the environment is without doubt....the STAFF. Everybody I dealt with on reception and the concierge desk were polite, friendly and professional. Will definitely stay here again and strongly recommending to my friends and family. Thank you for exceeding our expectations!

Room Tip: Ask for Urban wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Varun b,

Thank you for sharing your positive words on Tripadvisor. ‘Absolutely Brilliant’ we could not ask for a bigger compliment.
It is a pleasure to read that the team was polite, friendly and professional; your compliments are shared with the entire team!
We are looking forward to exceed your expectations again in the near future at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here for our one year anniversary, upon arrival at reception we were also upgraded by the receptionist to one of the newly refurbished Urban wing rooms, which was great.

The beds were so comfortable and it was one mattress rather than the usual two pushed together, we slet very well. Our view was over looking the Central Station, but as we were on the top floor we had no problems with noise.

The air conditioning worked which was just aswell as it was 26 degrees during our stay, and it's good that you can alter it yourself.

Breakfast was included in our rate and it was great, good choice - especially the cappucino and tea - hot not luke warm like I have experienced in other hotels.

Location fantastic, would definitely stay here again and recommend to other travellers.

Room Tip: Urban wing is more modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Bojangles104,

Thank you for sharing your review in Tripadvisor and thank you for choosing Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to celebrate your anniversary.
It is great to see you liked the renovated Urban room with its comfortable facilities and the breakfast.
On behalf of the entire staff we are looking forward to welcome you again when your travel brings you back to Amsterdam.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.