We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extreamly pleased” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #109 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extreamly pleased”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is the best hotel experience me and my wife ever had.
The hotel itself is a beautiful building located in the beginning of Damrak, so it is very close to everything. When we arrived, the friendly guy at the front desk told us that they had upgraded our room to a business suite for free...and the room was really really great :)
We stayed for 6 nights and we're so impressed by the hotel itself, but even more impressed by the staff. The staff is genuinely friendly and service minded - all of them.
I suspect that the hotel is careful when they hire new people:)
We will for sure come back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear jhe75,

What a great review! Thank you for sharing your kind words on Tripadvisor.
Your compliments towards the staff, I have already passed on to our dedicated team that does its utmost providing the best service possible.
We are looking forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    575
    261
    86
    50
See reviews for
162
596
75
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Don't be fooled by appearances. Despite being housed in a gracious old building that could pass for a museum or an 18th century mansion, the rooms are swanky and modern. Our room was large and clean and equipped with all the amenities we needed. The bathroom was also spacious, and the bath products of good quality. Best of all, the hotel was located right across the train station and very near the city's attractions, so no time was wasted in commuting. My husband and I will definitely stay here again the next time we come to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, Public Relations Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Cutie888,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you mention that we are situated in a nice, monumental building just across the central station.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Great location, service, and rooms
The only downside, which is BIG was that the hotel was infested with rats
I discovered one in my room and saw several in the foyer resutarant/bar
I undertand that rodents can be a problem in any inner city, howover, the hotel seemed overrun with them
It was nice of front desk to updgrade my room once I reported, however I will not be returning

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Alphonse82,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
It is really hard to believe that you have encountered rats in the hotel. Mice are indeed a problem in Amsterdam but we as a hotel do our utmost to prevent these from appearing in the hotel. Park Plaza Victoria often gets HACCP checks and we work together with special pest control companies to ensure we as a hotel do not have problems with rodents.
However, I am glad that the reception dealt with your comment in a correct way but I am dismayed to read that you have posted this comment because the problem you have encountered is just not possible.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

After arriving early afternoon at Schiphol Airport, we took the first train into Amsterdam Central Station. Exiting the station, it was great to see the Park Plaza Victoria just across the canal. Check-in took a while, but the room, overlooking the canal and the train station, was very nice. Quiet, nice beds (including the roll-away bed that our daughter used). They upgraded us to a slightly larger room to accomodate the roll-away; though the room was still a bit tight. Clearly recently remodeled. Its location, especially for a one-night stay, was ideal especially if traveling by train. We walked over the the Anne Frank House in about 20 minites; 10 minutes to Dam Square; 10 minutes to the Olde Church. And basically one block to a half-dozen tram lines. If you can find a good rate (we booked via Expedia), its definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear CK2009,
Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read you and your family enjoyed the hotel, its location and that you have seen a lot of what the city has to offer.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you and your family back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great Location
Good breakfast
Good rooms

BAD:
Charge me extra 65 EUR after leaving.
I don't understand what for.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 7, 2011
Dear Demidov48,
Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. I was dismayed to read that € 65- is charged and you do not know why it is charged. We of course take this very seriously and I am hoping you are willing to take the time to contact our hotel so we can check this issue and take appropriate actions.
It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us, and I hope to hear from you soon so we can solve this.
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed here for one night only in June 2011. On check in we were upgraded to a suite, which was quite a luxury after being in a smaller cabin on a river cruise.
The lady that checked us in was so helpful and polite. We made our way up to our suite and quickly got settled As the hotel is in the main street we found waling around Amsterdam very easy. We walked to the Anne Frank House, Dam square and could walk to the red light district although we had seen it before. The hotel has a lovely bar and as we were not very hungry, chose to order bar food and drinks. We had some plates to share but the croquettes were so good we ordered another plate. It was so relaxed sitting watching out the window on huge arm chairs.
Our rooms were very comfortable, so clean and had everything we could want. We had a buffet breakfast in the main dining room and although there were a few problems will refilling of items, we did pass the feedback on and already this is being looked at. This hotel is right across from Central Station. Also a short walk from where the River Cruises dock. I highly recommend a stay at the Park Plaza Victoria and do hope we get back there again too.

Room Tip: Be a member of Club Carlson (or goldpoints)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Neds0,

Thank you for sharing you positive review and your photo’s on Tripadvisor.
It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and that we contributed in a great way. You compliments are passed on to the entire team!
We are looking forward to welcome you again to park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed in the Urban Wing which is recently renovated and accommodations were standard Marriot/Hilton level. Room was a bit small, and hotel definition of a view is broad (we were on the 4th floor with a rear view which was an alley with little to see). Suggest staying on a upper floor is noise is a problem, but wouldn't pay more for a view. Air conditioning works fine so no need to open windows. Bed, shower all good. Rug in room could have used a cleaning (but I am very particular about these things).
From Centraal Station, it is an easy walk with luggage to the Victoria - pretty much the closest hotel to the station. It is a quick 4,40 euro ride to/from the airport so quite easy for first/last stop traveling. We were able to tour in the morning before our mid-afternoon flight, get back to the hotel, grab bags, check out, and hop on a train to the airport - almost gave us another day with the convenience. Canal tours also run from the station area.
Hotel rates were slightly lower than Crown Plaza (a couple blocks further from the station) and much less than the beautiful row house hotels along the canal (stayed at one the last visit). Canal views are everywhere walking around, that a room with a canal view is not worth the up charge.
Downside is this is a crowded area and also adjacent to the redlight district if you have problems with that sort of thing. Pot and prostitution are so matter of fact in Amsterdam that it feels much less seedy than in other cities. From the hotel, it is a mere two blocks to get yourself away from the elements if it is a concern, but coffee shops are everywhere - small/understated but may be an issue if traveling with young teens.
There is a small indoor pool, spa, and workout area if you need a break (or have children), but we didn't use those facilities.

Room Tip: Urban Wing is newly renovated, upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Tripoleee,
Thank you for sharing such a detailed review regarding your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor. This review is a good source of information for future travelers to Amsterdam.
It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us and on behalf of the entire team; we look forward to welcome you back to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future!
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.