We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel in heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam to your Saves list
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #110 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel in heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

The location of the hotel was perfect as hotel in the heart of city, 2 mins walk from Centraal stations. It was ideal for us as we used to walk around, then take break at the hotel and then start again. Our room had a modern look and had amazing views of the canal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear DPatel20,
Thank you for your very positive comment on Tripadvisor.
It is very good to read that the location of the hotel and your room contributed in making your stay a good one!
We look forward to welcome you again at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    575
    260
    86
    50
See reviews for
161
595
75
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

this hotel was right in the heart of the city center, bang opp to Centraal station. Very nice and helpful people. During the summer time, the price was too high, but still we liked it. The bar was very beautiful, must have a drink kind.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I stayed here for two nights for a business trip. The hotel is opposite the main station. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and overall I had a very good stay. However there are some issues - some of the rooms are not very accessible. I was allocated a room on the first floor and there is a lift. I wasn't told that to get to the room there was a very steep narrow staircase. Negotiating this with luggage was very challenging. Also there was very little natural light in the room due to the proximity of a wall outside the window. I also felt vulnerable as a solo female traveller to be in a room whose only access was down a steep staircase. To be fair to the hotel reception they agreed to change the room but were unable to provide help in taking my luggage back up the steep staircase. So be warned make sure you ask about room access unless you are very fit and agile. Room service was very good for dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask about the stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear Jane1706,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am very pleased your overall stay was a good one although you had some challenges with the first room.
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam is situated in a monumental building from 1890 and has a few rooms that have to be accessed by a short staircase. There are a lot of guests who prefer those rooms due to their authentic and cozy atmosphere.
I agree that some help with the bags could be necessary and I mentioned this remark to our Head Concierge and Front Office Manager.
We look forward to welcome you again and of course it is possible to mention with your booking that you want a room without a staircase in its way.
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

The staff is super friendly and helpful. The make our trip very terrific. Location is awesome, close to everything. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear guest,
What a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam and thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you again!

Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

My partner and I spent last weekend in Amsterdam. Some friends had recommanded Victoria hotel so we took a shot. We came late in the eveneing and the first thing we saw when we came out of the Centrall Station was Victoria hotel, perfect. The check in took a few more minutes than it's supposed to do, I think the girl was new. We got a room in the urban wing wich was recently renovated. The room was small but the bed was big (wich was good since we spent a LOT of time in it) and it had a flat screen tv. The bathroom was clean and nice.

One aber with the room; the maids didn't seem to be so musch into vacuuming! On the first day I spilled some mineralpowder on the carpet and that was still there on the day we left! Also they didn't remove empty bottles, no sorts of dusting and I think they didn't do much else with the bathroom than replace towels. In the closet I found some personalstuff left by the previous guest (including abottle of lube, gross).- So MINUS for the cleaning.

The staff on this hotell is excellent! Everey night we had drinks in the hotel bar and the barkeeper was VERY friendly and treated us like kings! The concierges was really friendly and helpfull too! They greated us every day and asked us if every thing was okay. We really felt like we were in good hands and felt athome in Victoria hotel.

We only tried the Brasserie once, the staff was (as in the rest of the hotell) very nice and helpful. My husband ordered fish and was very satisfied. Whereas I ordered a pasta dish that didn't taste that great. It was not good at all I.M.O. Not too pricy and the food came quickly.

The location on this hotell is Alfa Omega and it has a super staff (minus some of the maids). I can not say too many times how pleased I am with the service and if ever in Amsterdam again I will definetly stay at Park Plaza Victoria and cross my fingers that they have employed cleaning staff who acctually DOES their JOB!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 23, 2011
Dear Cbpils,
Thank you for you review and for sharing this on Tripadvisor.
It is so nice to read that the staff of the hotel did their utmost to serve you and that you felt like home in our hotel! That is a great compliment and we passed this on to all of the staff members.
I am delighted that you had a good stay overall and that you will be visiting us again. Regarding the maid, we send her to an optician to check if she needs glasses!

We look forward to welcome you again to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam in the near future.
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We just returned from 5 days at the Park Plaza and we had a fabulous time. If it is your first time in Amsterdam, this is the place to stay. The location is perfect. Everything is within walking distance or a short tram ride. The concierge was very helpful giving us tips and directions on our daily excursions. Everyone on the hotel staff was polite and friendly and we did not have any negative experiences. We only ate at the b-fast buffet each morning, but the food was fresh and delicious. This hotel is one block from central station and it is very convenient to catch a train from the airport (7 euro). A big thank you to the Park Plaza for making our vacation a success. Will def stay here next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear bigsky7,
Thank your for your nice review of your stay at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam.
It was a delight to read that you had a great vacation in Amsterdam and that we are a part of this nice experience.
Your kind words regarding our staff are already passed on to them. I am very proud to have such a dedicated team that is willing to do their utmost for our guests.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel when your travels bring you back to Amsterdam!
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed the weekend here prior to business meetings in Antwerp. The hotel is well situated just across the road from the train station and from where most of the canal boats leave.

Rooms in the hotel are small (at least mine was) and some of them (126, 127) have no view at all other than the roof of the lower floor. Enough space for 1 person however I can imagine that two people may find the space a little cramped.

Breakfast was very busy - I arrived at 9:30 am on Sat morning to find the dining room packed with people. Staff were doing their best to keep the buffet full but were clearly overwhelmed. I asked for two fried eggs only to be shouted at by the waitress that the kitchen was very busy and that they would take 20 mins. She did come over 5 mins later to apologise and ask if I would still like the eggs however the damage had been done. Given that breakfast is expensive (23 euro's) I expect better service and an experience that is less like eating in a college cafeteria. There are plenty of small restaurants nearby that serve food just as good for half the price and I would advise others to try this option.

I paid $250 a night through priceline - standard rate was around $350 a night. The hotel is just about alright at $250 however I would suggest that it is at the lower end of the price to value spectrum. At $350 a night I would say that you are most definitely going to be disappointed by what you receive for your custom and hard earned money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwroenhorst, General Manager at Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Dear Texanscot99,
We appreciate you have taken the time to share your review of your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for making us aware of your experience during breakfast. During the weekend our hotel is really popular due to the nice location. 9:30 am is indeed a very busy moment in our breakfast restaurant; our staffs always do their utmost to serve every guest as quick as possible.
Regarding the room size and price, there are indeed different room sizes. As a hotel we take the prices that are paid into consideration when we allocate the rooms to our guests.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. On behalf of the whole Park Plaza Victoria Team we look forward to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Jan-Willem Roenhorst
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 1 - 5, 1012 LG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restyled! The historic Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam offers 306 modern superior rooms, executive rooms and suites. The 164 new urban style rooms were completely restyled early 2011 and have a sleek, trendy and fashionable design. All rooms offer excellent facilities as you would expect from a four-star hotel in downtown Amsterdam. 306 rooms including 164 in new Urban Wing, 10 meeting rooms up to 150 persons, Boardroom and private dining possible, Restaurant, bar, brasserie with terrace, Directly opposite Central Station and parking, Fitness and swimming pool, WiFi (high speed). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Victoria Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam
Amsterdam Park Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.