We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Tropen Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #148 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Return Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed once again at the NH Tropen for 3 reasons (1) I was given a good rate and (2) during August rooms are difficult to find within my budget and (3) it allows me to commute to the workplace without hassle. The last time I stayed the hotel was doing some renovation and my expectations were raised too much. Things have improved, but there are still a few small issues to note like cleanliness, plumbing and lighting. One big disappointment was there was no cooling system and it was warm in August. But, travel during cooler temperatures should not cause any problem.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    235
    90
    35
    12
See reviews for
37
197
30
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights during February 2014. It was a pleasant welcome with a warm and cozy hotel room to walk in to. The reception area was basic and there was no atmosphere. The room was large with a separate toilet off the bathroom. At the end of the day the price I paid I was very satisfied with the amenities in the room. I would definitely visit again. The location is slightly out the centre but its in very close proximity to the tram stop which we used daily to explore the city.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Room was modern,spacious and clean. (Twin room) House keeping came every morning. Good location with a variety of restraunts and shops across the road. (Breakfast cafes, supermarkets, mcdonalds, kfc etc) The hotel is only a 10-15 minute tram ride away from the city centre. Staff were generally polite and welcoming - overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The good:
* Nice quiet neighborhood, away from the hustle and bustle but easily accessible by tram to everything. Adjacent to a beautiful park.
* Free WiFi that works well.
* Very helpful and pleasant staff.
* Well maintained (but simple) rooms.
* Windows that open to allow in fresh air.
* The big market (don't recall the name) is only a block away on Saturdays, and the Tropenmuseum is next door.

The bad:
* No air conditioning or fans - I had the misfortune to be there during a particularly hot spell, and the room was uncomfortable several nights.

Didn't try the restaurant, but was told by colleagues that the breakfast wasn't worth what they charged. There's a small bakery & grocery store less than a block away; that was a better choice in my book.

Tip: although it isn't a straight line, the #9 tram from the central station is the best way to get there. I foolishly thought there was a more direct route, but that was a mistake.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel isn't too pretty from the front but once inside it is very nice considering it's low prices. The rooms were very clean and the location was excellent. The only negative was that the staff weren't knowledgable of the local area as we asked for a nice place to eat and received a useless response. However this did not affect us due to the free wifi which was very fast allowing us to easily search google for our answer. Overall I would 100% visit again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is 5min by tram from the center with very frequent itineraries.Tram stop is just outside hotel. The breakfast is good with variety , bread, ham, cheese , mushrooms, eggs, bacon, cereals, yoghurt, milk coffee fruits, marmelade. The rooms are decent not something special but clean enough. The beds aren't very comfortable. The bathroom was combined by two different rooms shower and toilet . The toilet was extremely small. Not very cheap but in good price compared to other hotels in Amsterdam. The staff very friendly. Totally recommended for the location and the overall experience. I probably gonna stay again next time in Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Tropen

We stayed at the NH Tropen for three nights.

Pros:
Perfectly located: just out of downtown but the 9 is right outside, which takes you downtown & the 3 is two blocks away and will take you to the Van Gogh, Rijk and Heineken Experience.

Room: the room was a great size for two people. Everything was clean.

Staff: everyone was helpful and really nice.

Free wifi- which to be honest in 2014 every hotel should have.


Cons:
No AC. Fine for us because it was in the 60s and lower, but beware if staying in the heat wave of summer.

No iron in the room. There was one in the laundry room, but I don't want to have to get dressed and go down four floors to iron!


Tip: off the hotel. If you plan on staying in Amsterdam for three days I recommend getting the I Amsterdam card for 67 euros. Well worth the free trams and museums, as well as other discounts!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#72 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#61 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Hotel Central Park
#170 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.