We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a trip to Amsterdam ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Tropen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Tropen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Perfect for a trip to Amsterdam ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Tropen

We stayed at the NH Tropen for three nights.

Pros:
Perfectly located: just out of downtown but the 9 is right outside, which takes you downtown & the 3 is two blocks away and will take you to the Van Gogh, Rijk and Heineken Experience.

Room: the room was a great size for two people. Everything was clean.

Staff: everyone was helpful and really nice.

Free wifi- which to be honest in 2014 every hotel should have.


Cons:
No AC. Fine for us because it was in the 60s and lower, but beware if staying in the heat wave of summer.

No iron in the room. There was one in the laundry room, but I don't want to have to get dressed and go down four floors to iron!


Tip: off the hotel. If you plan on staying in Amsterdam for three days I recommend getting the I Amsterdam card for 67 euros. Well worth the free trams and museums, as well as other discounts!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    196
    80
    30
    12
See reviews for
32
158
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The NH Tropen is situated outside from the city centre in the 'tropical museum' area. It offers great value without too many trimmings. The service was friendly and very good. Amsterdam's brilliant tram network passes right by the hotel and at value-for-money prices you can get to the heart of the city quickly. A bonus is the free Wi-Fi that seems to come with the deal in NH hotels. Lovely to have windows that open!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the park are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I have really enjoyed this hotel in Amsterdam. Great location (in front of tram n 9 that takes you directly downtown). Nice and clean room, good wifi connection and super breakfast. parking just in front of the hotel, the property is easy to reach by car.You park and you take advantage of the public transportation. Lovely reception with lovely and helpful girls. I recommend this hotel to anyone willing to relax but also to enjoy this amazing town!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Great little hotel. Was everything we really needed for a 4 nights stay in Amsterdam. We only really slept in there so didn't spend much time in the room. We were on the 10th floor as requested, so had a good view. Staff were friendly and helpful. It only takes 15mins on the no:9 tram to get into the main square which was handy. Would stay there again if we return to Amsterdam which I am sure we will....once fully recovered ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Great staff. A little out of the way but the tram was right there and very reasonable. You could buy your tickets at the hotel which was nice. Thought the breakfast was a little pricy so didn't try it. Loved Amsterdam, would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

I Really enjoyed my stay. Room facing park was quiet and comfortable. Staff was helpful. From this hotel , I had easy access to the city and then could go back to a quieter hotel. The 48 hour multi pass and knowledge of tram stop right outside hotel allowed seamless travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed recently on a weekend break to amsterdam. The hotel is in a reasonable location jsut far enough away from teh center of the city but close enough to make it an easy tram journey. 10 mins on the tram will take you directly to the main tourist area. The room was small, however it was clean and well presented. We was there to do the tourist thing for a few days so it wasnt essential to spend a lot of time in the room. The reception staff were most helpfull when asking for directions. Overall a really pleasant 3* offering good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Tropen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.