We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashtrays offered in non smoking rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of NH Tropen

Save Saved
You added NH Tropen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #151 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Köln, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ashtrays offered in non smoking rooms”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Hotel pretends to be fully non smoking, but rooms smell like smoke and on the table next to the bed an ashtray with matches was offered !!

Rather remote location from the city center, not much bars and restaurants around

I have not seen tube TVs in Hotels in Europe for a while, usually only when travelling in developing countries, i though flatscreens were standard by now. Poor choice of cable channels

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    171
    71
    25
    10
See reviews for
28
135
25
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Slept here for one night in the midst of january 2014.
Entrance by car was somewhat difficult due to road construction, parking costs are € 20 a day.
The hotel is old and so are the elevators and the rooms.
When first entering the room i smelt a penetrating body odor, which was quite disgusting. Needed to open the windows a couple of hours to get rid of the smell.
View from the room on higher floors is great.
Bedding is fine, bathroom very small and old, soap and shampoo in good order.
All in all a great location that should appeal to many visitors.
For the price offered i prefer a newer (and cleaner) hotel in the outer circle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was extremely satisfied with my stay at this hotel. It was excellent value for money, beds were comfortable and clean, room was clean, I had a great view, the shower was great and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I shall certainly recommend this hotel to friends. It is basic but really good .

Room Tip: try to get a room on one of the top floor overlooking the park which is quieter than the street with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our three day stay at this hotel. The room was small but clean and modern looking. The breakfast was offered to us at 12 euros if we pre booked and 19 euros if not but it is expensive and we ate out much cheaper. The location is superb with tram no 9 right outside which takes you directly to the dam. Staff are very friendly and the beds comfy. The hotel may not look very attractive from the outside but inside it is modern and clean. Also the massage chairs are a must in the lobby for 2 euros. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and very good breakfast.
The Location is great and the view from the 8th floor was fabulous.
The only downside was that the (free!) internet connection had to be renewed every 24 hours, and was somewhat limited - video Skype talks were limited to short time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in November on business, staff very friendly, hotel is clean and in good order. The rooms themselves were quite small but the location was excellent. Breakfast buffet had plenty of selection

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, only 10 minutes to the centre on the no.9 tram and it goes right through the dam square (only 16.50 for a 3 day pass).

Rooms are nice enough, we didn’t spend much time in it as we were too busy sightseeing. TV has comedy central, bbc 1 & bbc 2 which was a bonus. Our room had a safe but the couple we were with didn’t have 1 in theirs so may be worth checking.

Staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked for directions or information.

We did not take up the breakfast option but there are a few cafes, bakeries, supermarkets & fast food restaurants across the road. Had no problems at all and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Tropen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.