We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, but an old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Tropen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Tropen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great price, but an old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Slept here for one night in the midst of january 2014.
Entrance by car was somewhat difficult due to road construction, parking costs are € 20 a day.
The hotel is old and so are the elevators and the rooms.
When first entering the room i smelt a penetrating body odor, which was quite disgusting. Needed to open the windows a couple of hours to get rid of the smell.
View from the room on higher floors is great.
Bedding is fine, bathroom very small and old, soap and shampoo in good order.
All in all a great location that should appeal to many visitors.
For the price offered i prefer a newer (and cleaner) hotel in the outer circle of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    206
    84
    31
    12
See reviews for
35
165
27
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I was extremely satisfied with my stay at this hotel. It was excellent value for money, beds were comfortable and clean, room was clean, I had a great view, the shower was great and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. I shall certainly recommend this hotel to friends. It is basic but really good .

Room Tip: try to get a room on one of the top floor overlooking the park which is quieter than the street with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our three day stay at this hotel. The room was small but clean and modern looking. The breakfast was offered to us at 12 euros if we pre booked and 19 euros if not but it is expensive and we ate out much cheaper. The location is superb with tram no 9 right outside which takes you directly to the dam. Staff are very friendly and the beds comfy. The hotel may not look very attractive from the outside but inside it is modern and clean. Also the massage chairs are a must in the lobby for 2 euros. I would definitely stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and very good breakfast.
The Location is great and the view from the 8th floor was fabulous.
The only downside was that the (free!) internet connection had to be renewed every 24 hours, and was somewhat limited - video Skype talks were limited to short time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in November on business, staff very friendly, hotel is clean and in good order. The rooms themselves were quite small but the location was excellent. Breakfast buffet had plenty of selection

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, only 10 minutes to the centre on the no.9 tram and it goes right through the dam square (only 16.50 for a 3 day pass).

Rooms are nice enough, we didn’t spend much time in it as we were too busy sightseeing. TV has comedy central, bbc 1 & bbc 2 which was a bonus. Our room had a safe but the couple we were with didn’t have 1 in theirs so may be worth checking.

Staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked for directions or information.

We did not take up the breakfast option but there are a few cafes, bakeries, supermarkets & fast food restaurants across the road. Had no problems at all and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamale, Ghana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The service was superb, I loved my room, the location is okay and the amenities were ok too. I liked the friendliness of your staff. What I liked least was that I had to leave the building each time I wanted to smoke

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Tropen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.