We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Tropen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Tropen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #152 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

An excellent hotel with very friendly and helpful staff and very good breakfast.
The Location is great and the view from the 8th floor was fabulous.
The only downside was that the (free!) internet connection had to be renewed every 24 hours, and was somewhat limited - video Skype talks were limited to short time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    196
    80
    30
    12
See reviews for
32
158
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in November on business, staff very friendly, hotel is clean and in good order. The rooms themselves were quite small but the location was excellent. Breakfast buffet had plenty of selection

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel is in a great location, only 10 minutes to the centre on the no.9 tram and it goes right through the dam square (only 16.50 for a 3 day pass).

Rooms are nice enough, we didn’t spend much time in it as we were too busy sightseeing. TV has comedy central, bbc 1 & bbc 2 which was a bonus. Our room had a safe but the couple we were with didn’t have 1 in theirs so may be worth checking.

Staff were very friendly and helpful when we asked for directions or information.

We did not take up the breakfast option but there are a few cafes, bakeries, supermarkets & fast food restaurants across the road. Had no problems at all and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamale, Ghana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The service was superb, I loved my room, the location is okay and the amenities were ok too. I liked the friendliness of your staff. What I liked least was that I had to leave the building each time I wanted to smoke

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel before and it's ideal for my needs. Well situated on the east side and is close to lovely bars and restaurant's. The superior rooms are very spacious for Dutch hotels and the hotel in general is very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on a recent city break with my family. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and our request for two twin rooms next to each other had been fully accommodated. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable and the en-suite had the best showers of any hotel I have stayed in for a while. The location, while not central, is on a tram route and only 10 minutes or so from central station and Damrak. There are a couple of pub/restaurants nearby but neither appeared to do breakfast which was a pity as the hotel breakfast at a discounted 15 euro per head was a rip off so we went out for breakfast. That however is my only complaint and if you want to go out and enjoy Amsterdamas we did it is not much of an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our Superior room was contemporary, picture windows all along the wall looking over Oosterpark from the 7th floor (that's where you see the parrots). the furniture was contemporary and comfortable, and the room had a TV, good storage space and a safe. Reception staff were great, welcoming and helpful, supplying a map and giving tips for local activities. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the centre, but a number 9 tram stops outside. personally, I'd walk through the Plantage and take in the sights, including flamingos at Artis! The hotel is a great base for a trip to Amsterdam, close enough for walking but quiet when you've had enough at the end of the day! One small point, if you're from England you may want to take a few additional teabags.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Tropen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.