We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Tropen

Save Saved
You added NH Tropen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #149 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here for four nights on a recent city break with my family. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and our request for two twin rooms next to each other had been fully accommodated. The rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable and the en-suite had the best showers of any hotel I have stayed in for a while. The location, while not central, is on a tram route and only 10 minutes or so from central station and Damrak. There are a couple of pub/restaurants nearby but neither appeared to do breakfast which was a pity as the hotel breakfast at a discounted 15 euro per head was a rip off so we went out for breakfast. That however is my only complaint and if you want to go out and enjoy Amsterdamas we did it is not much of an issue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    171
    71
    25
    10
See reviews for
28
135
25
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our Superior room was contemporary, picture windows all along the wall looking over Oosterpark from the 7th floor (that's where you see the parrots). the furniture was contemporary and comfortable, and the room had a TV, good storage space and a safe. Reception staff were great, welcoming and helpful, supplying a map and giving tips for local activities. It takes about 20 mins to walk into the centre, but a number 9 tram stops outside. personally, I'd walk through the Plantage and take in the sights, including flamingos at Artis! The hotel is a great base for a trip to Amsterdam, close enough for walking but quiet when you've had enough at the end of the day! One small point, if you're from England you may want to take a few additional teabags.....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A good hotel for the money, and the location is very convenient. There is a tram that passes right in front of the hotel. The Troppen Museum is right next door.
The breakfast buffet is good. The bar tender is not always there. The front desk staff were very helpful when I needed documents scanned and emailed.
My room was small.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked this hotel for a 3 night stay as part of a Secret Hotels deal on Lastminute.com and as most people would be I was very apprehensive. However, I thought the location of the hotel was fine, away from the busy part of Amsterdam but only a 10 minute Tram ride away from Dam Square. Upon check in the hotel staff were very polite, one first thoughts of the room I thought the size was adiquate for a short stay, rooms were clean well equipped and we were lucky enough to have a lovely view. The maids cleaned the rooms daily and we were provided with tea and coffee facilities. We did not spend much time at the hotel but any time we did we were pleased with what we had. I would recommened staying here if you are looking for a quieter area of amsterdam but would still like to be close to the main area.

Room Tip: Use tram services to get too and from hotel, taxis are very expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is a little way from the centre of Amsterdam. The taxi ride cost us €28 which included our two suitcases and is apparently is the standard fare.  On checking in the staff were friendly and helpful. However when we got to our room we found that we had two single beds and not a double as had been requested in our booking. When I told them at reception we were advised there were no rooms left with double beds. The room was quite small and dated. The toilet and bathroom were separate which was good and the shower was a decent size. There was no fridge in the room so no where to keep our drinks cold. There was also no air conditioning so had to keep the windows open although there was a note to say not to leave them open during the night but it was so hot that we did. It is handy having the tram stop just outside the hotel which takes you into central Amsterdam, it is also much cheaper than catching a taxi.

Room Tip: Top floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

NH Tropen welcomed us with such warm smiles and genuine hospitality. With not such a pretty exterior you would never think you'd walk into a beautiful reception filled with all things conducive to a relaxing time away. The buffet breakfast was fantastic! Both gluten free and dairy free options, this breakfast catered to everyone and for a decent price. This is somewhere I didn't even want to recommend as I wanted to keep it to myself but credit where credit is due. Lovely stay, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

nicely built hotel with all modern facilities. rooms are well furnished and give fresh look. buffet breakfast is also elaborate. just in front of the hotel is tram's station. there is a museum adjacent to it and a beautiful park also. though staff is not very friendly but the overall experience is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Tropen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;