We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and affordable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Tropen

Save Saved
You added NH Tropen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat 2C, Amsterdam 1092 CK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chandigarh, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“comfortable and affordable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

nicely built hotel with all modern facilities. rooms are well furnished and give fresh look. buffet breakfast is also elaborate. just in front of the hotel is tram's station. there is a museum adjacent to it and a beautiful park also. though staff is not very friendly but the overall experience is good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    170
    69
    24
    9
See reviews for
27
129
25
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Many of the staff not very experienced, but an excellent value for money hotel. Stayed with a friend in a twin arrangement, and it was roomy enough, especially with separate toilet. Great location, close to supermarket, many trams and the park.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is very clean, but about 8-10 mins from centre. However, the tram stops outside - if you can make it across the bike/car/tram lanes!!!! That is just Amsterdam though. The centre is great and it was one of our best weekends away!!! There were 6 adults that went and we had a total blast. There are cafes and restaurants opposite the hotel if you don't fancy the tram ride at any point and plenty of shops around the hotel too. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food, but they provide coffee in the rooms and also in the foyer in the morning - and the morning we left, when we had to get up early, there were fresh pastries too!! For the price we paid, very cheap, this was a great hotel and well worth paying the 13 euros for the 3 day tram pass. The train from the airport takes you straight from schipol airport to Amsterdam centre and from outside the station you pick up the number 9 tram to the hotel- the tropen museum stop. RECOMMENDED. Have a great time x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very comfortable bedrooms , good size ensuite with large shower . Tramstop outside about 7 minutes to Dam square . Use trams and bikes and great long weekend in a fun city . Laid back reception , good bar but breakfast only average - stick to coffee in room and find local cafe for good choices of european breakfast . Taxis are pricey after midnight but otherwise public transport is excellent and plenty to see and do for singles, couples, families, and stag/hen parties .

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we stayed there for 4 nights in the year 2011. Our room was awesome,big,with a beautiful view over the garden of the tropen museum.
There were 2 bathrooms!in the first one there was a big shower, and a sink,in the other one there was a little sink and the WC.!!!
The staff is very friendly, and the hotel has a very good location and is also near some bus stations :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of august for 3 nights via lastminute secret hotels deal. Was apprehensive upon looking the hotel up on the net, you take tram 9 from outside amsterdam centraal it take about ten minutes to reach the tropen. The hotel is very secure and not located near the hustle and bustle of the city centre, there is a comfortable seating area which is great for a drink on a warm evening, reception staff were helpful, lift operated by room keys , we stayed in 203, not a high floor but a terrific view of the tropen museum ! , windows opened wide for fresh air, and there is a safe in the room. Bathroom spotless lovely power shower and seperate room for toilet. Housekeeping very polite and attentive! , no plug points beside beds so its abit of a stretch !, did not eat here as we thought breakfast was overpriced $20 each for continental! , on a nice day i would reccomend a walk through the park behind the hotel , its very pretty and there rabbits everywhere! , we ate one evening at cafe milo just up the road on the right of the hotel i would reccommend this place for a meal, food and service brilliant! This was my first time in amsterdam and i wouldnt even contemplate staying anywhere else next time! Only downside was the bar prices. Gave my purse to my friend to get herself a glass of wine , this glass of wine was $10 !! Lesson learned! Ha! Enjoy this lovely hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I booked two rooms in this hotel as part of a package with lastminute.com at a good price, inc KLM flights from Leeds. I was very happy with my choice. Stayed 3 nights July/August 2013. Good reception staff and easy check in. Got a taxi from airport, expensive 65 euros but there are tram options. Lots of good facilities in hotel - restaurant, bar, computers in reception, luggage room, garden with seating, plus very secure. Fenced and gates which were locked on an evening. Had to use room card to access the lift, so we felt very safe.
Our rooms were on the 9th floor with magnificent views of the Oosterpark right next to the hotel. rooms were clean and had good toiletry products. The toilets and bathrooms were separate which was a nice touch and convenient. TV, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities ( need to add de-caff coffee) . Good information booklet on desk/dressing table. Lacked mirror above handbasin in loo and above the dressing table but had a full length mirror in wardrobe. Great directional reading lights over beds. No AC but windows opened wide and as it was 9 storeys up it was safe to have them open. No flies or mosquitos at that height too. A fridge would have been nice and there was space for one. Good safe with easy instructions.
Left luggage in luggage room, at no charge, on the last day until 13.30 and didnt have to vacate rooms until 12.00, which was very convenient.
Walked into centre each day and back 2.9 kms each way. lots to see along the way. Can also get tram outside hotel or a hop on hop off canal boat at 10.35 from canal stop Tropen Hotel and Museum. It takes you right to central station or any stop on the way. The colour of the line then changes so you can stay on to the Anne Frank Museum, which we did. The ticket costs 22.50 euros per day and you can use any line (each route is a different colour) and have as many journeys as you want, its a really nice way to travel around the city, so tranquil. The commentary is good too.
Over the road from the hotel is a great cafe/restaurant/bar called SPARGO. Food excellent, specials tastey - try the Salmon encroute with salad and fries - delicious, comes on a bed of spinach, mange tout and green beans. The puff pastry is light and the salmon steak massive and moist. Staff are all really nice and helpful.Also had a lunch there and a breakfast - couldnt fault any. Great hot choc with liquers too. There are shopping streets with markets just off Linnaeustraat near the hotel. Mixed ethnic area and shops geared for local people with supermarkets and clothes shops, even a McDs, if you like that sort of thing. Nice croissants from market.
So choose this hotel and dont worry about the distance outside the centre, it really isnt a problem.
Tip- Book the Anne Frank Museum on line in advance or be prepared for a massive 2hr plus queue in August but just queue for the Van Gogh, the queue moves quite quickly.
Only thing that was poor was that receptionist told us that she could book a taxi back to the airport at the rate of 48 euros, which ended up being 10 euros more. In fact the taxi driver wanted to charge us 70 plus euros until we complained. Also the taxi came an hr early even though we specifically asked for it at 13.30. Easliy sorted out though but should have correct facts. Plus dont buy water from reception as it costs 3 euros for a small bottle!

Room Tip: 9th floor overlooking the park very good rooms (905 and 906) - we didn't have AC and I was surpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat 2C, Amsterdam 1092 CK, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Tropen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.