We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tropen is a very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Tropen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Tropen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The Tropen is a very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the NH Tropen for 3 nights. It is in a fantastic location, situated right next to the beautiful and idyllic Oosterpark and various pubs/cafes in the area. The Roots Festival took place while we were staying there and we went on the last day and had a blast.

The no.9 tram takes you straight to the hotel and the journey time is only 8 minutes so do not take any notice of when other reviewers moan about it being right outside the centre of everything, the journey is so straightforward . This is my 6th time to Amsterdam and staying at the Tropen made this trip even more memorable.

We ate out for the duration of our stay so I cannot comment on what the food tasted like in the hotel. I do know they charge €19 for breakfast which is a bit pricey. The bars on the main strip were pretty expensive too, I paid €7.50 for a Corona beer, that was from Teasers bar. If you look around you would most likely find it cheaper. On the last night we found a lovely Indian restaurant called Memories of India. The food was to die for and the service was excellent.

Back to the Tropen, on arrival the receptionist was very pleasant and helpful although I did have to pay €8 City Tax. The room was lovely and as I had requested in advance we got a comfy double bed rather than twin beds and a beautiful view oveooking Oosterpark. The shower was very powerful, I could have stayed underneath it all day!

For anyone wishing to stay here I would definitely say go for it. To me it is in a brilliant location, the supermarket is across the road and there was a hair and beauty shop which specialised in Afro-Carribean products which was a godsend as most of my toiletries were confiscated at the airport!!

We would without a doubt stay at the Tropen again. I love Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    196
    80
    30
    12
See reviews for
32
158
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Aside from the poor lighting in the bathroom, broken light-up mirror and lack of any mirror outside the bathroom vanity - it was fine! Small room but clean, comfortable, nice staff, in-room wifi, tram stop outside hotel, not far from town center by tram (10 minutes), very nice but expensive breakfast buffet. Windows in room 404 faced the main street - nice view and the windows opened up. Strange toilets... (but then I'm American). I rather liked it! (But then I rather liked everything about Amsterdam!)

Room Tip: Make sure the bathroom light-up makeup mirror works, and check if there is a mirror outside the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

So I was looking for affordable accommodation for a 2 night stay for me and my friends and ended up booking the tropen through lastminute.com as it was only £70 per person and I thought it was a bargain! I had read reviews on here and was a little worried about what it would be like but I had nothing to worry about.

The hotel is a little bit away from central amsterdam but this was no problem as we all purchased a 48 hour tram ticket for 12 euros and regularly used the number 9 tram which was great as it stopped right outside the hotel! When we got to the hotel checkin was fine and the lady on reception was really nice, the rooms were basic but really clean and we were given clean towels on both days. The location of the hotel was really nice and we all felt it was nicer being away from the hustle an bustle of dam square as we were able to get a good nights sleep.

The hotel was by no means 5 star but for the price we paid it was everything we wanted and if your are just looking for a clean base to stay this is defiantly a good hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As standards go this is an acceptable place to stay ideally located far enough out without the hustle bustle of the city centre, close to good tram links 10 mins into Amsterdam, friendly helpful staff, a pleasant environment but the rooms are a tad small, the TV behind the times, the lift quaint. Nevertheless the internet is reasonable, the hot water constant and overall I would use again.

Room Tip: Higher up and preferably facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was at room 803 nice view to Tropen museum.
Good location but far away from downtown.
By tram it takes around 10 minutes to center.
Good breakfast. Friendly personal.
Bathroom is too small. Old tv in the room.




  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good quality hotel conveniently located on tram lines to downtown (20 minutes from train station). Bar was not expensive, there is an excellent pub just in front of the entrance. Only problem, free Internet is limited to 100MB (and 128kbps), for the price they ask, free Internet should be a must.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this place. No complaints, but nothing great to report either. it is 10 minutes from the centraal station on the tram and the tram station is just in front of the hotel. Decent sized rooms though the interiors are a little dated, especially the bath and toilet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Tropen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.