We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and friendly, I just don't know why people moan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Tropen

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Tropen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #154 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean and friendly, I just don't know why people moan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

So I was looking for affordable accommodation for a 2 night stay for me and my friends and ended up booking the tropen through lastminute.com as it was only £70 per person and I thought it was a bargain! I had read reviews on here and was a little worried about what it would be like but I had nothing to worry about.

The hotel is a little bit away from central amsterdam but this was no problem as we all purchased a 48 hour tram ticket for 12 euros and regularly used the number 9 tram which was great as it stopped right outside the hotel! When we got to the hotel checkin was fine and the lady on reception was really nice, the rooms were basic but really clean and we were given clean towels on both days. The location of the hotel was really nice and we all felt it was nicer being away from the hustle an bustle of dam square as we were able to get a good nights sleep.

The hotel was by no means 5 star but for the price we paid it was everything we wanted and if your are just looking for a clean base to stay this is defiantly a good hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    175
    73
    26
    11
See reviews for
31
139
26
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

As standards go this is an acceptable place to stay ideally located far enough out without the hustle bustle of the city centre, close to good tram links 10 mins into Amsterdam, friendly helpful staff, a pleasant environment but the rooms are a tad small, the TV behind the times, the lift quaint. Nevertheless the internet is reasonable, the hot water constant and overall I would use again.

Room Tip: Higher up and preferably facing away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I was at room 803 nice view to Tropen museum.
Good location but far away from downtown.
By tram it takes around 10 minutes to center.
Good breakfast. Friendly personal.
Bathroom is too small. Old tv in the room.




  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Good quality hotel conveniently located on tram lines to downtown (20 minutes from train station). Bar was not expensive, there is an excellent pub just in front of the entrance. Only problem, free Internet is limited to 100MB (and 128kbps), for the price they ask, free Internet should be a must.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this place. No complaints, but nothing great to report either. it is 10 minutes from the centraal station on the tram and the tram station is just in front of the hotel. Decent sized rooms though the interiors are a little dated, especially the bath and toilet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

- Quick and friendly check in. Provided free map which was quite a good one as we'd lost ours in the morning
- Gave us a room on the 10th floor with a great view of the city
- We slept late so put our do not disturb sleep out. On return later on, staff had left a bag of fresh towels and toiletries on the door handle which I appreciated and thought was a lovely touch
- Had a problem with our door card late at night and reception were absolute gems about it
- Although nothing to look at outside, lovely inside
- The room, bed and pillows were all clean and very comfortable, we slept very well
- Shower and hair dryer great
- Great tram and late night bus service but check bus times as they're not as often as trams (save yourself waiting at the bus stop for a while)
- Yes, the tram takes 10-20 minutes to central depending on traffic but just leave earlier!
- There's a McDonald's and KFC just round the corner and a pub serving food across the road
- Lastly, peaceful location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Tropen 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.