We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Tropen Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #147 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Value and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here on a 4 day trip in Amsterdam. We found the front of house staff very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was tidy and cleaned daily. The location is great as their is a tram that takes about 5 mins to get into the city center. The view of the park is very pretty. Overall I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room to high up as the lift is very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    235
    90
    35
    12
See reviews for
37
197
30
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hotel is very good about 7/8 mins on team to town centr (dam square) tram no 9 stops right outside hotel so although little further out u hardly notice trams are so easy! Hotel decor very nice clean, tidy rooms spacious enough twin beds rather then doubles. Beds comfy and warm. Bathroom quite small but very nice inside hot powerful shower!
Staff hotel very friendly and willing to help!! Free coffee and tea to take away for those cold mornings.

Breakfast 15 euro no full English!!!!
Tram ride to Dam square 7.50 for 24hrs very reasonable! Can use many times as u like and jump on any Tram!
Train to airport 4.60 single
Mcds & KFC lit across the road 5min walk.
Oster park right next door Also Trophen museum.

Sex museum 4 euro
Dungeon 15 euro
Canal cruise 13 euro
Bus cruise 8 euro
Ann frank house 12 euro

Red light district in dam square behind big hotel, walk down china town dnc turn left funny expirence.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel was generally OK, the breakfast was reasonable.

Make sure you check your bed, as we found a massive bed bug on the morning we checked out. The guy on the desk didn't seem to understand what I meant when I went down to tell them. He also said there was no manager in at 9 in the morning to come and see me?? When someone did come, they took the beds apart and found loads of them - not a nice way to end you weekend away.

We have got a full refund (which is being processed), but now we are having to check all our clothing to make sure we haven't got any unwelcome house guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for four nights on a business trip. The whole experience was unfortunately spoilt by very, very cold and windy weather, but it's not the hotel's fault. The heating was excellent, my room was quite small, but clean and with a comfortable bed. There’s a coffee/tea maker in the room. The free Wi-Fi was rather slow. My room was overlooking a park and I can imagine how it must be beautiful in nice weather. While having breakfast in the restaurant you can see rabbits running through the park – priceless, get your cameras ready. As others wrote, the hotel has a good location because there is a tram stop just opposite the hotel. Tram no. 9 takes you to the centre of Amsterdam in 10 minutes, and they are frequent. It passes by the hotel, but the noise did not bother me during night, it was just a soft sound reminding me that I was in a big city. Breakfast was very rich and tasteful, there’s a great variety of beverages, but lunch was a surprise in the negative sense: soup and sandwiches.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel really doesn't look that great on the outside, but don't let it fool you, the inside is much better. A short tram journey from the centre of Amsterdam could be seem as a disadvantage, but it means that it's quiet. Trams run frequently and the no.4 tram takes you right in to the centre of Dam Square.

Outside the hotel within 5 minutes walking, there is a small supermarket, a McDonalds and a KFC. A little bit further down the main road and there was a nice little cafe we found by the train line.

The rooms aren't huge, but perfectly ample for a short break. The rooms were clean, warm and had everything you need, including tea and coffee. The reception area is nice and on the desk are free Wi-Fi codes, so if you have a laptop or phone, pick one up and you can surf for free.

The only thing we found that was a little annoying was that the rooms had 2 single beds rather than a double. You couldn't push them together and they were on casters, so moved around a lot too. But the beds were comfortable, although an extra pillow would have been nice too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

i recommend this hotel for its position, it is in the middle of a very beautiful city park, it is not very close to the city center but you can get to the center by taking tram n. 9 and it s just 10 minutes to arrive to Rembrandt Square so it s fine. Hotel is nice, very clean and i was in a very nice room with a wonderful view on the park.
To sum up, I would recommend this hotel for your staying in Amsterdam

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed in NH Tropen for 3 nights just before Christmas with my girlfriend.

Hotel building is not exactly an architectural masterpiece, but is well-positioned (tram line 9 has a stop just in front of it and brings you in central station in 20mins) with a nice surrounding (a park on the left, a shopping street with supermarket, McDonalds, KFC, and other restaurant/pubs in front).

We requested a double room, but we found a twin. No problem, bed were easily movable (too much movable, infact their brake system was not so strong...) so we re-arranged the layout in few seconds.

Room was tidy, not large but also not too little, bathroom was excellent. Unfortunately, WC is in a different -extremely little!- room: good if you want to go to toilet and your partner is taking a shower -who cares, anyway? :D -, but very uncomfortable in terms of smell -ouch!- and space.

Free wifi available.

Breakfast buffet was well-fournished, and me and my girlfriend were not able to eat again before 4/5 p.m!

We caught an online offer, 165€/3 nights with breakfast. Excellent quality/price ratio!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Arena
#75 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,645 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa 400
#62 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,730 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Hotel Central Park
#170 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.