We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Tropen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Tropen to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Tropen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is a little way from the centre... but not to worry there is a tram (no. 9) that stops right outside and goes all the way to central station. It is also an easy walk into the city if you are reasonably active.
The staff were all very helpful, the rooms were well presented, tidy and kept very clean.
We did not use the restaurant in the hotel ( breakfast was 18 euros) instead we purchased slices, cakes etc. from a nearby shop/cafe and went to the nearby Oosterpark and had our coffee and breakfast in there whilst watching people do a tai chi class.....it was wonderful!!
There is also a very good restaurant opposite the hotel ( Cafe Museum) which seems to be mostly used by locals, and cooks wonderful food.
There are no shortage of places to eat, to enable you to get a flavour of Amsterdam.
We would come to this hotel again as it was so friendly.
The bike tour we took with Mike's Bikes ( Kerkstraat) was really good, it was three hours of good local history with all the fun of trying out the bikes, which are really easy to ride. It cost 18 euros and was well worth it, and if we were to go again we would definately go back there for our bike hire.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    196
    80
    30
    12
See reviews for
32
158
26
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skeleton-key33
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great location, only 10 mins from central Amsterdam, with a tram stop right outside the hotel. The staff were especially great, so helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfortable, we slept well every evening of our 5 night stay, and we'd definately return.

Fantastic hotel, great value, well located.

10/10

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice hotel, near the zoo and not to far from the central area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannitsa, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

the breakfast is very good and also you can ask for a smokers room very important especially if you are travelling during the winter. their restaurant is really good i loved having dinner there. clean, good view and friendly enviroment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The NH Tropen is a nice clean hotel, the rooms were modern inside even if the building outside is a bit dated.
Staff were friendly , and the enclosed outside area was nice to have a smoke in the morning or of a evening.

There are a few negative however
1. The hotel is a bit of a walk into the centre, about 30mins, meaning you will need to get a tram which cost 2.50euros a go or walk.

2. The lift requires you to use the keycard for your room which can be a bit anoying

3. The breakfast was very expensive at 19.50euros and was just your usual bland buffett

3. There is free wifi in the lobby but you need to get 30min tickets from reception which can be a bit anoying.

I would stay here again if I got a good deal like we did this time but other than that I would look to stay somewhere a bit closer to town in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just back from a weekend break staying at the NH Tropen with 11 friends.
Great location just outside the city. Easy to get to from Centraal Station by Tram 9 or Bus 22. Taxi's cost between 11 & 20 euro depending on time of day etc. As usual, do not forget to check before hand.
All our rooms and beds were a good size. All very clean and tidy. The hotel reception staff were very, very helpful and friendly. They arranged the 2 mini buses back to airport without any fuss. The buses cost 65 euro for 6 people, so saved a lot of time going back into the city. All 12 of us would go back, no problem at all.
Behind the hotel is the park, but more importantly.....across the road directly from the hotel was the local high street with a few good bars selling decent beer from smaller breweries etc. We quite liked the Spar90 bar which served Hertrog Jan beer. Just 10 minutes walk from the hotel is the Brouwerij't IJ brewery pub on Funenkade 7. Turn left out of the hotel towards the canal then turn right. Look for the large windmill and the pub is beneath it. Tours at various times are available, but the pub shuts around 2000hrs most nights, so get there earlier.
If you are in a group and looking for things to do, try booking the beer bike tour of the city. I will say no more, just search the world wide web thingy.
Hope this review helps. Enjoy. Tony

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

NH Tropen is part of the NH-hoteles group. NH runs a lot of hotels in Amsterdam and this is one of the cheapest (for early bookers) because it's just outside the city center and located in a not attractive building. NH is mostly good quality so is this hotel. Rooms are well sized, bed is perfect and a very good breakfast. As it is one of the few high-rise buildings in the area you may ask for a upper floor room at the city-center side. Big save private parking for 20 euro a day. This is cheap compared to the 48 euro a day in city center.
To the downside: The hotel doesn't have airco which can be annoying on a hot summer day in July or August... Bathroom is a bit outdated (but clean) and the breakfast is expensive (15 euro). No free Wifi (Swisscom, didn't take it but I guess it's around 10 euro/24h)

Room Tip: Upper floor at city center side for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Tropen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Tropen

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2c | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Tropen)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Tropen 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Tropen is ideally situated in downtown Amsterdam between the Royal Tropical Institute, where you will find the Tropen museum and theater, and the English-styled Oosterpark public garden, with its sculptures, wild birds and wide open spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Tropen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Tropen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.