We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Tropen Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel is a little way from the centre... but not to worry there is a tram (no. 9) that stops right outside and goes all the way to central station. It is also an easy walk into the city if you are reasonably active.
The staff were all very helpful, the rooms were well presented, tidy and kept very clean.
We did not use the restaurant in the hotel ( breakfast was 18 euros) instead we purchased slices, cakes etc. from a nearby shop/cafe and went to the nearby Oosterpark and had our coffee and breakfast in there whilst watching people do a tai chi class.....it was wonderful!!
There is also a very good restaurant opposite the hotel ( Cafe Museum) which seems to be mostly used by locals, and cooks wonderful food.
There are no shortage of places to eat, to enable you to get a flavour of Amsterdam.
We would come to this hotel again as it was so friendly.
The bike tour we took with Mike's Bikes ( Kerkstraat) was really good, it was three hours of good local history with all the fun of trying out the bikes, which are really easy to ride. It cost 18 euros and was well worth it, and if we were to go again we would definately go back there for our bike hire.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    223
    85
    33
    12
See reviews for
36
180
29
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
skeleton-key33
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great location, only 10 mins from central Amsterdam, with a tram stop right outside the hotel. The staff were especially great, so helpful and friendly. The beds were very comfortable, we slept well every evening of our 5 night stay, and we'd definately return.

Fantastic hotel, great value, well located.

10/10

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice hotel, near the zoo and not to far from the central area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannitsa, Greece
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

the breakfast is very good and also you can ask for a smokers room very important especially if you are travelling during the winter. their restaurant is really good i loved having dinner there. clean, good view and friendly enviroment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The NH Tropen is a nice clean hotel, the rooms were modern inside even if the building outside is a bit dated.
Staff were friendly , and the enclosed outside area was nice to have a smoke in the morning or of a evening.

There are a few negative however
1. The hotel is a bit of a walk into the centre, about 30mins, meaning you will need to get a tram which cost 2.50euros a go or walk.

2. The lift requires you to use the keycard for your room which can be a bit anoying

3. The breakfast was very expensive at 19.50euros and was just your usual bland buffett

3. There is free wifi in the lobby but you need to get 30min tickets from reception which can be a bit anoying.

I would stay here again if I got a good deal like we did this time but other than that I would look to stay somewhere a bit closer to town in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just back from a weekend break staying at the NH Tropen with 11 friends.
Great location just outside the city. Easy to get to from Centraal Station by Tram 9 or Bus 22. Taxi's cost between 11 & 20 euro depending on time of day etc. As usual, do not forget to check before hand.
All our rooms and beds were a good size. All very clean and tidy. The hotel reception staff were very, very helpful and friendly. They arranged the 2 mini buses back to airport without any fuss. The buses cost 65 euro for 6 people, so saved a lot of time going back into the city. All 12 of us would go back, no problem at all.
Behind the hotel is the park, but more importantly.....across the road directly from the hotel was the local high street with a few good bars selling decent beer from smaller breweries etc. We quite liked the Spar90 bar which served Hertrog Jan beer. Just 10 minutes walk from the hotel is the Brouwerij't IJ brewery pub on Funenkade 7. Turn left out of the hotel towards the canal then turn right. Look for the large windmill and the pub is beneath it. Tours at various times are available, but the pub shuts around 2000hrs most nights, so get there earlier.
If you are in a group and looking for things to do, try booking the beer bike tour of the city. I will say no more, just search the world wide web thingy.
Hope this review helps. Enjoy. Tony

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

NH Tropen is part of the NH-hoteles group. NH runs a lot of hotels in Amsterdam and this is one of the cheapest (for early bookers) because it's just outside the city center and located in a not attractive building. NH is mostly good quality so is this hotel. Rooms are well sized, bed is perfect and a very good breakfast. As it is one of the few high-rise buildings in the area you may ask for a upper floor room at the city-center side. Big save private parking for 20 euro a day. This is cheap compared to the 48 euro a day in city center.
To the downside: The hotel doesn't have airco which can be annoying on a hot summer day in July or August... Bathroom is a bit outdated (but clean) and the breakfast is expensive (15 euro). No free Wifi (Swisscom, didn't take it but I guess it's around 10 euro/24h)

Room Tip: Upper floor at city center side for nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam Tropen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Tropen Hotel

Address: Linnaeusstraat, 2C | Amsterdam East, 1092 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Amsterdam Tropen)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amsterdam Tropen Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based in the green heart of Amsterdam and just ten minutes from the historic center. Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, formerly known as NH Tropen, is an exceptional hotel near the city center of Amsterdam, right next to the Royal Tropical Institute. Located in the Oosterpark, which connects the hotel to the energetic city center, the tranquility of the park and the Royal Tropical Institute. The Royal Tropical Institute is an international knowledge hub; a gateway for the ideas of tomorrow, where knowledge in the field of sustainable and intercultural cooperation are shared. The Royal Tropical Institute bursts with inspiration and renewal. Visit Amsterdam Tropen Hotel and experience the tranquility in the middle of the swirling city of Amsterdam. We welcome you with open arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Amsterdam Tropen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Tropen Amsterdam
Nh Tropen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Tropen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.