We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, spotless and central.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #137 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, spotless and central.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

After 5 visits to the city, at last I found a hotel I would happily stay in again. Very reasonably priced (for Amsterdam standards), it offers central location (just off Dam Square) and high quality accommodation. Our room was spacious, the bathroom was spotless with new equipment. Tea/coffee making stuff is available, beds are very comfortable and bedsheets are of high quality. Wireless internet costs 7 euros a day. The breakfast is good and the selection is satisfactory, but there is no hot food available (e.g. scrambled eggs). Reception staff is helpful and polite. Only bad surprise was the housekeeping: we found our windows in the room left wide open (thank God it had been raining for only 10mins, otherwise the carpet would have been soaked), which is unacceptable for safety reasons as well. The beds were not really made, the bed cover was just thrown on the bed, and the maid had not even straightened the pillows, and nightwear was not folded. As we only stayed for 2 nights, we don't know whether this was an isolated incident or the standard housekeeping procedure, however it kind of ruins the very good impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    218
    98
    16
    9
See reviews for
51
186
44
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

My husband and I spent three fun filled days in Amsterdam. The Tulip Dam Square was the perfect setting. Just a few blocks from dam-square and walking distance to the red-light district. The hotel is nestled on a cozy litlle block with lots of character. A few doors down is a very popular pub and right accross the street from a coffee shop.--also a beatiful old church was the view from our window. Basically everything was right there.
The room was very modern. It looked as if it were recently updated. The bed was very comfortable. The only complaint is that the shower stall (no bathtub) was very small. A large person would have a tough time in there, I think.
Breakfast was included in the rate and consisted of breads, hard boiled eggs, yogurt and juices and coffee. A hearty breakfast can be had at the corner cafe. Make a right out of the hotel and go to the main road-it's right there. I had a DELICIOUS banana pancake-nice omelettes etc too.
I would definitely stay here again, as it was clean, comfortable and in a good location. Try to get a room facing the street. It was a really nice view-although we did here noise from the pub on a Saturday night. But who goes to Amsterdam for peace and quiet, right?

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

So, the hotel is situated perfectly in a very central area of Amsterdam. Super-close to major must-see tourist site and situated right in between the nice high-end area of the city and the notorious coffee shop district.

The hotel: From the outside, it looks very nice and it's surrounded by a few nice outdoor cafes that are great in the summer. Not sure about winter months. Inside, it's what you would expect from a chain hotel of this class (think Comfort Inn but smaller and a little aged). The rooms were small and the hotel is. It's acceptable. Much better breakfast than we expected.

Now, I'm a real hotelie. I have stayed in great places and I know what to expect from a hotel. In this case, I wanted a base and to save money. Manage expectations. If you want a decent place and base, go for it. If you want a hotel experience or a cool boutique hotel, look somewhere else.

Some other good options are a little closer to the park. You really don't need to be in the middle of it all. You can always be near the park and museums. But it's Europe, so manage your quality expectations!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Perfect location if you want to be central and have everything right there.
Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. We had a later flight and they allow you to leave your luggage there after check out, until you leave. Room was on 3rd floor, attic room, has a small veluxe window. Could see the church too and hear it in the morning! Room was nice, clean, with tv, shower room, safe ( no extra charge), perfect for 2 people. Breakfast is good, toast, jams, cereals, yoghurts, cheeses, hams etc and there is a sneaky basket of eggs on top of the juices that everyone misses. Get them while they are hot though. It is about 10 minutes from Central Station straight down Damrak to the square. Down one of the small alleys off the square. Avoid the coffee shop across from the hotel, they charged me 5 euros for a coffee!!!!! Its about 2.20 euros everywhere else. Hotel is near Abraxas and the Spuistraat. Near to attractions which you can walk to. This hotel is right in the centre of everything and you do hear the hussle and bussle of the city so, I would avoid this location if you want something quieter. Pre book your tourist attractions if you can, Amsterdam is busy. Check your prices first too, the main souvenir shop on Damrak sells the same stuff as other smaller ones just around the corners and they can be several euros cheaper eg, t shirts for 16.99euros were 12.99 euros and cheaper in other smaller touristy shops. Enjoy a good look about.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We really struck it lucky with this place.

We just booked a standard double room, but upon our arrival at the hotel, they had 'unfortunately' made a mistake with the booking and had no double rooms left, and had to put us up in the Bootz Suite, which is the best room in the hotel (it even has its own button on the lift)

The room had a huge seperate bedroom with the comfiest bed ever, a spacious bathroom , and a seperate living area with cable TV

Excellent!

Plus, we couldn't have asked for more in terms of location, everything was right on the doorstep.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The friendly, helpful desk staff who welcomed us on arrival gave us a good first impression of the hotel and of Amsterdam in general. Our room was quite big, with a very comfortable bed and a view of the lively little street outside. The hotel had recently been completely redecorated, so everything looked very clean and fresh. The continental breakfast offered plenty of options and the wait staff were very attentive. The area (just off Dam Square) has lots of good restaurants, cafes, bars, coffeshops, etc. nearby. Many tourist attractions are within easy walking distance, and the tram service is excellent, with tram stops close to the hotel. The hotel staff provided safe storage of our luggage the day we were leaving, and when we came back to collect our gear they ordered the taxi for us, and provided cold drinks (free) . One disadvantage of being in a room at the front of the hotel was the late night street noise of people down below, so light sleepers would be well advised to ask for rooms at the back. Our only complaint was the dimness of the lights - no good for anyone who likes to read in bed. But the big new tv with plenty of English speaking channels was some compensation for this.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

I was a bit wary of staying here after looking a some of the reviews but decided to go ahead as the location was so good.On arrival discovered that the hotel renovations were just finishing and it had been redecorated. The bedrooms were clean and quiet with flat screen tvs and very comfortable beds and the bathrooms looked new. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. I was very pleased with the value for money particularly as I had a single room. I would definitely stay here again. The only minus point was the room wasn't cleaned very well during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.