We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not economy 3* hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not economy 3* hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for four nights and the room was on the first floor just above a coffee shop which apparantly was open 24/7 since people were very loud all night, sitting smoking outside.
You dont need a taxi to get there from central station, just walk straight till you see KFC and turn right before it, the hotel is 300 m up two tiny streets:)
The room was very spacious and I liked the hotel shampoo for the first time in my life.
The breakfast was very modest, I'd say but wont leave your stomach empty.
To the right from the hotel next to a big shopping centre is the food supermarket with delicious ready made salads, fruits and vegs.
The hotel is very central and you walk to all sights within 15 min.
A walk to Nemo science centre took us 20 min and it is a real pleasure for kids! You can spend the whole day there!
Anyway, enjoy Amsterdam and ask for less noisy rooms! Adios!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    178
    78
    13
    8
See reviews for
43
155
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We found this hotel to be in the perfect place. It was close enough to everything. The staff were friendly even made us hot chocolate when we entered the hotel several times. The rooms were warm ebough for the cold weather and very clean. The beds were comfortable.

I if come back to Amsterdam i want to stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front would be more noisey. We were in a triple so it was at the top and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is on a small street just off the Dam. If you have a good map and better sense than me, you can walk from the train station pulling your luggage along the main road and getting a little intro to Amsterdam. When you arrive, you will experience some of the best service at any hotel. You will have a comfortable bed, good WiFi, and a great breakfast when you wake up. If Netherlands wins their world cup game, you will hear celebrating, but not enough to keep you up. The local shopping is terrific and trams to just about anywhere are within walking distance. I won't stay anywhere else when I return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Best Western Dam Square Inn on July 12, 2014 for two nights. We flew from Berlin Tegel to Schipol, took the 4 euro train to Central Station and walked south towards the square on crowded Damrak for about 10 minutes. The hotel is kind of hidden away in a narrow pedestrian street (Gravenstraat), and if you enter from the square side (Eggertstraat) the street looks like a foreboding narrow back alley. Overall it probably took about 30-40 minutes from buying train tickets at the airport to hotel check in.

I booked this hotel based off the pleasant experiences we had with the Best Westerns in Rimini and Venice last year. I had considered that the close proximity to Dam Square might mean a lot of noise, especially with the final two World Cup games going on during our stay. But as this was my friend's first visit to Amsterdam I thought the central location would make an ideal home base for him to explore the area, which he did on his own in earnest. Check in was very quick and our room was towards the back, so it was a lot quieter than I anticipated. Views outside the windows were literally of the windows of the neighboring building about two feet away. Unlike our hotel in Berlin the room was air-conditioned and ice was only available from the bar, but at least it was available (no mini ice box). Bathroom was medium sized with a shower but no tub and one shower towel per person and a single hand drying towel. Coffee machine, TV and free multi-device wifi (slow) round out the room amenities. The light continental breakfast bar was very typical: bread items, dry cereals, yogurt, and a selection of sliced meats and cheeses. Enough to start your day. Overall the amenities were more than sufficient to serve as home base, as my friend and I were out so much exploring this great city.

Although the amenities are the adequate budget level that Best Western is known for the Dam Square Inn can command higher room rates due to the location. Right outside the doorway you are exposed to the huge plethora of cafes, restaurants, banks/currency exchange, attractions and multitude of various shops that permeate the immediate area. Within a ten minute walk are Damrak, the Red Light District, Anne Frank House, Central Station and Amsterdam Museum. Numerous tram and bus lines conveniently crisscross thru and around Dam Square and will take you anywhere in town.

If you are a first time visitor to Amsterdam the Best Western Dam Square Inn is ideally located in the center of it all, allowing you to explore the city centrum from Dam Square outward to the surrounding canal streets like the layers of an onion. Amenities are adequate, bordering on spartan, but this is a Best Western after all. Prices for this central home base convenience are on the higher side. But after seeing how my friend was able to freely explore the whole city centrum on his own without any problems I think it was worth it. If I were to revisit Amsterdam with a friend who has never visited the city before, I'd probably stay here again. If I were on my own or with friends who've been here before and know the area, I'd probably try to get more bang for my buck somewhere on the outer layers of the onion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Good location in Amsterdam. The street is pedestrian so cabs can't park in front of the hotel but that makes this a quiet location.
Breakfast was plentiful. Free wifi is available. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. They will do what they can to help you.
The tram is at the end of the street. I felt very safe at this hotel. We booked this hotel based on it's location and I would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was in a great location -- 10 minute walk to the train station and off Dam Square so that it wasn't right in the noisy area of town. The New Church was right across the alley from the hotel, and there were a few cute little restaurants right out the front door. The room was a decent size and quite clean. The breakfast room was bright and modern; the selections were decent if not outstanding. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Firstly I have to say the staff were fantastic. I arrived with a severely sprained foot and in a wheelchair. They did everything they could assist. The room is basic, but we weren't in it much. The location is great and easy to get to. You are 2 metres from your first coffee shop, 3 mins from clothing shops and lots of them, there is a big mall pretty at end if the street across the road and 10min walk to red light district.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.