We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal home base location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #143 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ideal home base location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

My friend and I stayed at the Best Western Dam Square Inn on July 12, 2014 for two nights. We flew from Berlin Tegel to Schipol, took the 4 euro train to Central Station and walked south towards the square on crowded Damrak for about 10 minutes. The hotel is kind of hidden away in a narrow pedestrian street (Gravenstraat), and if you enter from the square side (Eggertstraat) the street looks like a foreboding narrow back alley. Overall it probably took about 30-40 minutes from buying train tickets at the airport to hotel check in.

I booked this hotel based off the pleasant experiences we had with the Best Westerns in Rimini and Venice last year. I had considered that the close proximity to Dam Square might mean a lot of noise, especially with the final two World Cup games going on during our stay. But as this was my friend's first visit to Amsterdam I thought the central location would make an ideal home base for him to explore the area, which he did on his own in earnest. Check in was very quick and our room was towards the back, so it was a lot quieter than I anticipated. Views outside the windows were literally of the windows of the neighboring building about two feet away. Unlike our hotel in Berlin the room was air-conditioned and ice was only available from the bar, but at least it was available (no mini ice box). Bathroom was medium sized with a shower but no tub and one shower towel per person and a single hand drying towel. Coffee machine, TV and free multi-device wifi (slow) round out the room amenities. The light continental breakfast bar was very typical: bread items, dry cereals, yogurt, and a selection of sliced meats and cheeses. Enough to start your day. Overall the amenities were more than sufficient to serve as home base, as my friend and I were out so much exploring this great city.

Although the amenities are the adequate budget level that Best Western is known for the Dam Square Inn can command higher room rates due to the location. Right outside the doorway you are exposed to the huge plethora of cafes, restaurants, banks/currency exchange, attractions and multitude of various shops that permeate the immediate area. Within a ten minute walk are Damrak, the Red Light District, Anne Frank House, Central Station and Amsterdam Museum. Numerous tram and bus lines conveniently crisscross thru and around Dam Square and will take you anywhere in town.

If you are a first time visitor to Amsterdam the Best Western Dam Square Inn is ideally located in the center of it all, allowing you to explore the city centrum from Dam Square outward to the surrounding canal streets like the layers of an onion. Amenities are adequate, bordering on spartan, but this is a Best Western after all. Prices for this central home base convenience are on the higher side. But after seeing how my friend was able to freely explore the whole city centrum on his own without any problems I think it was worth it. If I were to revisit Amsterdam with a friend who has never visited the city before, I'd probably stay here again. If I were on my own or with friends who've been here before and know the area, I'd probably try to get more bang for my buck somewhere on the outer layers of the onion.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    225
    105
    17
    10
See reviews for
55
196
48
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Good location in Amsterdam. The street is pedestrian so cabs can't park in front of the hotel but that makes this a quiet location.
Breakfast was plentiful. Free wifi is available. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient. They will do what they can to help you.
The tram is at the end of the street. I felt very safe at this hotel. We booked this hotel based on it's location and I would go there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel was in a great location -- 10 minute walk to the train station and off Dam Square so that it wasn't right in the noisy area of town. The New Church was right across the alley from the hotel, and there were a few cute little restaurants right out the front door. The room was a decent size and quite clean. The breakfast room was bright and modern; the selections were decent if not outstanding. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Firstly I have to say the staff were fantastic. I arrived with a severely sprained foot and in a wheelchair. They did everything they could assist. The room is basic, but we weren't in it much. The location is great and easy to get to. You are 2 metres from your first coffee shop, 3 mins from clothing shops and lots of them, there is a big mall pretty at end if the street across the road and 10min walk to red light district.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We chose this hotel for location, location, location and it was a perfect choice! Danielle at the front desk is truly delightful and assisted us in many ways; namely getting us a room quickly after our long day of travel. Thanks you, Danielle! However, the hotel could us some major upgrades like new carpeting and room furnishings. But, it's clean, convenient, and reasonable priced with breakfast included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just spent 5 days in Amsterdam and had a wonderful time. The hotel was in the middle of all the activities just a 10 minute walk from Central Station. The room was clean and tidy, and the right size for the 2 of us with a shower room as well. I was concerned when I saw we were next to the stairs, but thankfully did not hear any noise at all from there or anywhere else in the hotel. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful - no full english but plenty of fruit, cereals, meat and various breads. Coffee or Tea and other juices too. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was 110 - it did face other buildings but we weren't in there long enough to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My parents and I have just returned home from 5 nights here. Lovely hotel, good sized rooms, everything we needed in the room. Friendly helpful staff. Good continental breakfast. Brilliant location. The only very minor criticism was the TV in our bedroom which had a mind of its own - would suddenly switch off itself with practically no warning and no option to reverse it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn

Address: 12-16 Gravenstraat, 1012 NM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dam Square Hotel Amsterdam
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Tulip Dam Square Inn
Golden Tulip Amsterdam
Amsterdam Dam Inn Square Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.